Taleem or Mahol?

Ever since I was a child, I heard “Taleem insaan ko eh behtar insaan banati hai, Taleem say insaan may nikhaar ata hai, Taleem insaan ko tehzeeb sikhati hai, etc etc etc”

Going by personal experience, I think taleem has little effect on me. I always thought of myself as a cool-minded individual who doesnt heat up easily. Guess I thought wrong! Little incident and I was using hte same lingo as my opponent, particularily – “Chal Chal, nikal yahan say, shabash, shakal gum karo” I was screaming pretty loud and all, making a scene.

As far as who was rite and who was wrong, I’m satisfied with my point of view and am not concerned about it. But what disturbs me is the fact that it’s not my taleem that has kept me from acting like this before-- it was my mahol. In the past I had less taleem than now yet my mahol didnt have any of these disputes. Now, I’ve had access to more knowledge but mahol’s a bit changed and it’s this change that caused me to act teh way I did.

So I dont get it-- why mention taleem in the first place? A person can be a pHD and still heat up to resemble an angry bulldog. Yet an illiterate can display teh best of sanity in a similar condition.

K, maybe I’m confused a bit here-- hope I made some sense.

Actually taleem made you think what you did was wrong. Otherwise you would have been satisfied on your behavior as you are on your point of view. Maybe.

Taleem or Mahol?
I think Tarbiyah (tarbeeyat)....

edit: but your environment and education both play a big part too, but i think right tarbiyah makes a good person..
but theres more to it than just what parents teach or what we learn at school/uni. It's on the individual too,, how they learn and change themselves...

taleem tarbeeyat mahol all are important

Re: Taleem or Mahol?

*Originally posted by X_Communist: *
Ever since I was a child, I heard "Taleem insaan ko eh behtar insaan banati hai, Taleem say insaan may nikhaar ata hai, Taleem insaan ko tehzeeb sikhati hai, etc etc etc"

Going by personal experience, I think taleem has little effect on me. I always thought of myself as a cool-minded individual who doesnt heat up easily. Guess I thought wrong! Little incident and I was using hte same lingo as my opponent, particularily -- "Chal Chal, nikal yahan say, shabash, shakal gum karo" I was screaming pretty loud and all, making a scene.

As far as who was rite and who was wrong, I'm satisfied with my point of view and am not concerned about it. But what disturbs me is the fact that it's not my taleem that has kept me from acting like this before-- it was my mahol. In the past I had less taleem than now yet my mahol didnt have any of these disputes. Now, I've had access to more knowledge but mahol's a bit changed and it's this change that caused me to act teh way I did.

So I dont get it-- why mention taleem in the first place? A person can be a pHD and still heat up to resemble an angry bulldog. Yet an illiterate can display teh best of sanity in a similar condition.

K, maybe I'm confused a bit here-- hope I made some sense.

Taleem and Mahol both have an effect. Dont forget counting in your genes as well.

Beautiful! :k:

its not even taleem or mahol i think…
for example, two brothers brought up in the same house, getting the same mahol and tarbeyat and taleem could turn out to be two totally different persons.. one a very cool minded one, and the other a very short tempered one.. its in the nature too, so ur a born animal X commi, i say next time, use a bailcha as well! :k: these dumb fools! how dare they talk to u like that! :hoonh:

and seriously, not everyones perfect, or is perfect all the time… we all lose it at times, so its got nothing to do with taleem :stuck_out_tongue:
although, one sort of adapts to the environment they live in… maybe previously u didnt really witness many such incidents or disputes, but when they because a normal part of ur life later on, you started getting used to it to the point that one day, u conciously or unconciously, acted the same way…

100 gram imli pe surah e naas parrh kar phoonkiye aur aab e zam zam main 10 gram arq e gulab mix kay kay subhu dopeher or shaam khanay kay baad 2 chaye kay chamach itemaal kijye, inshallah jald afaqa ho ga. :k:

*Originally posted by ahmadjee: *
Actually taleem made you think what you did was wrong. Otherwise you would have been satisfied on your behavior as you are on your point of view. Maybe.

I totally agree!!
On the other hand, I also agree with seedha sadha: its mahoul, taleem AND your genes.

Ahmadjee, I never thought of it that way. It makes sense too. The person with whom I had this argument is not really an illiterate but education was not a priority in life for them therefore going by your judgement, I doubt they think wrong of their action.

Genes and Tarbiyat?? I think neither fits in to the situation I described above. You could, genetically, be a very calm person yet still be aroused by something extremely irritating. As far as tarbiyat is concerned, I never had to face such a situation so I wasnt "taught" how to act in response -- instead it used be: "Baron say batameezi nahi, choton say pyar say baat karo, etc". This again, comes back to teh mahol or environment which faces me now.

Kaka, yeah by mahol, i meant the everyday environment. I"ll try that imli stuff ( u sure it shouldnt be guR?) -- I really don't want to repeat such an episode again.

I guess taleemi mahol is the best recipe. Put the two together, because you are right, I have seen many educated folks fighting it out on the streets like vagabonds, and contrary to what ahmadjee said, many dont even agree, or realize that they did something wrong.

[edited]

Edited on request.