**KANDAHAR: The Taliban have expressed delight over the reopening of Nato supply route to Afghanistan which was blocked after a US airstrike on a Pakistani check post which killed 24 soldiers, Associated Press (AP) reported on Tuesday.
**According to the report, Taliban insurgents have illegally received millions of dollars from security firms in Afghanistan for not attacking the trucks carrying supplies to the forces fighting in the war-torn country.
“Stopping these supplies caused us real trouble,” a Taliban commander who leads about 60 insurgents in eastern Ghazni province said.
“Earnings dropped down pretty badly. Therefore the rebellion was not as strong as we had planned.”
Another Taliban commander said: “We are able to make money in bundles, therefore the Nato supply is very important for us.”
Pakistan reopened the Nato supply routes after US secretary of state Hilary Clinton offered an apology for the cross border attacks.
Pakistan and the US also signed a new agreement today replacing the existing Memorandum of Understanding in place since 2004. The new deal is part of an overall review Pakistan had sought in its ties with the US.
As per this deal, Pakistan will not allow transportation of arms and ammunition, as demanded by the parliament in its foreign policy recommendations.
massla hamari taraf hay, border kay paar lagta hay jashn manaya ja raha hay...kiunkay the taleban there earn millions in return for "protection" of Nato supplies...
Yaar door-andeshi kay naam ki bhi koi cheez hoti hay ya nahee'n ????
It's not personal against u ..... i agree with u that ultimatly suffering are simple Pakistani (eg. the Truck driver who get killed in such attacks)
But then who invited them into our backyard ..... there in lies the whole solution of the problem ..... as long as those responsible (in Pakistan atleast) for this mess are free to do what and how they please there won't be any solution to this mess
We will keep up our rant (and rightly so) ..... so will the poor whose loved one get injured or even killed due this mess in one way or other but those who created this will enjoy their daily dose of Power
On side note .... how many kids of the higher ranked military commanders & politicians Study/live (work, if one can call it so) in Pakistan ????
^ who invited them in our backyard? US initially in 1979, and Zia's wrong decision in siding with them back then. After the end of the Afghan war it became our problem, but then again its never easy to fight a proxy war in your own country and with porous borders that exist between Pakistan and Afghanistan. Can any one tell me what is the end of this war? If the Americans have won the war why do they want to negotiate with the taleban now?
What is the achievement of the NATO/ISAF troops in Afghanistan even after spending trillions of dollars, losing over 3000 soldiers, and killing over a million Afghans. The scape goat for American failures in Afghanistan is Pakistan, because its difficult to tell the people back home what they have achieved so far.
Well what the american do or don't do in Afghanistan should be not our concern ..... ofcourse have an eye on matters but what Zia did with setting up those camp for socalled mujahedins in Pakistan, now we r reaping its fruit
Who allowed/helped the US and others to set up all this ..... who allowed this mess to happen in the first place ???? ..... kar lo aur hamdardian .....
It's higher ranked military commanders (mainly) & politicians who r resposible for this mess ..... for their own petty benefits
There is only one solution to all this ..... PPL in Power (be it military or politics) who r loyal to the cause of PPL who have been deprived the very basic necessity to live a life in dignity
Thousands of PPL died in the last Decade + Thousands of Soldiers died ..... did anything changed for better for common PPL ????
Just compare what a common man had to do to feed his Family some 1 or 2 decades ago with today
No the Yahood-o-hanood or Amreeka is the biggest enemy of the PPL of Pakistan but those who tell them the former ..... and i guess u know whom i mean
^ well I do consider US to be a big cause of our woes, and then those who followed their diktats blindly first in the shape of Zia and later Musharraf. Any war in Afghanistan would have had a blowout, Pakistan was bound to have been affected. See around the region (whole middle east and northern Africa). During the past 10 years has the extremism reduced or increased? Is there pakistan's role in that too?
When our socalled leaders or PPL in Power invited uncle Sam and company to use the country as the launch pad then why wonder when the situation is as dire as now ..... u know what happens with the launch pad once the rocket is fired out
Still there is a way out of this but for this (as i wrote in another thread) the Military has to gets it house in order and clean itself from inside out ..... GHQ Attack, Mehran Base Attack just to name a few ..... there is something seriuosly foul in this ..... The Military's sole aim should be the protection of Pakistan and Pakistanis ..... not the bigoted interests of a few hundred
our politician are the flag in the wind ..... so my rant is mainly about Military as u see ..... not the whole unit as such but those few selected one who order our jawans into a mess they helped creating and now keep it alive just to achieve some petty goals ..... corruption in the Military should be investigated
No question about ur statement in regard to extremism ..... i agree with that ..... but how come we don't see Bombs going off Daily in BD, or Iran or Indonesia ..... these countries have a huge Muslim Population and Religious extremisim exist there also BUT there is also some sort of writ of State in place