taking time off

don’t get me wrong, i dont’ want to take years off from my education, i just want ONE SEMESTER to myself. I definitely want to graduate , get my degree in something, whatever…but…i dunno..i like what I’m studying, i dont want to go into another field but I just dont’ feel passionate about it…about anything acutally.

:::::sigh::::: i have so many years to go before Im even near graduation :frowning:

sara, you really seem to enjoy going to pakistan. Are you thinking of settling there.

*Originally posted by Atlanta: *
sara, you really seem to enjoy going to pakistan. Are you thinking of settling there.

I just posted in ur other thread heheh

okay well right now, the plan is that after I graduate college , we'll settle there til my parents can find a good husband for me...after that, it's up to me and him where we'll live...i'm not exactly thrilled at the idea of marrying someone from there...but..we'lll see :)

But as of now, I think my wanting to go to pak has to do wiht running away from my troubles. I mean theres' definitely the love i have for my family and culture, but i've stuff here that I just want to run away from which isn't a good idea i know :(

Re: taking time off

Sara you are burnt out already? Comeon, you are a young girl. You just finished high school and you are burnt out. Let me give you some advice from experience from friends around me. First of all, once you take time off it will be very hard to start again. But even when you take time off right now it will still be in the back of your head that you have to finish college. You wont have real vaction and time off untill you finish college and everything. I would say that its very hard to start studying again if you stay away from it. At this age you should not be burnt out.
Just letting you know about me. I came to US in December of 96 and started college in january of 97. Since then i have not even taken a summer off yet. During my undergrad I went to school full time and had two jobs. I would barely come tome to sleep and then go back to school the next morning. Even i didnt get burnt out. I think you just feel like this as you are making your self think like this. I would suggest that you get this idea of burning out, out of your head and continue studying. If you are really burnt out during college then you can take a summer semester off.
Good luck.

*Originally posted by Sara516: *

I just want to run away from which isn't a good idea i know :(

Sara running away from your troubles will not solve anything. everyone has troubles. And if you try to solve them Allah wil help you with it. Achay waqt main to subhi acha kartay hain, maza to tub hai jub mushkil waqt main insaan kamyaab hoo.

Just take timeoff and have fun and come back with a focused mind. I have done it, It isn't a problem. Sometimes we get bored ... same routine and this happens quite a lot because educational system is set-up is such a way that it goes non-stop.

Ya know its funny, im xcited to get bak to school, to work, and to a real life.. I c this as a time to “recharge” myself, to know what i’m doing and what I want to do. Priorities have changed nowand im gonna enjoy every freakin minute I have to do whatever the heck I want, of no responsibilities :yahoo: :balley:

seriously sara. i feel like slapping you right now. you are BURNT out? and why? i think both of us know how many classes you were taking this semester. Plus i dont think your part-time job is very demanding. It would make sense if you said you were burnt out because you were taking 16 credits and working 25-35 hours a week. honey u need to get your lazy butt up and get serious. if u want to make a niche for yourself and survive the cutt-throat competitive world. slapslap :snooty:

:smack: :bailan:

:smack: Check the date on the first post !

if you are going to take time off, then do something interesting with that time. if you're in pakistan, there is plenty to do - visit the earthquake site and volunteer, start a community project, do an internship, etc etc.

taking time off and sitting at home and shopping, typical sit-at-home girls style is not substantial...that is what you have weekends for.

stop bumming around.

I dont remember being too stressed out last semester (fall2005) anyway.. It took a bit getting used to balancing job and work, but it’s all gud.. :balley:

A deep study into Pakistani politics (spending time with family)
Researching fashion trends and economic policies (shopping and asking dad for raise in allowance)
Developing and practicing new techniques in the fine arts (drawing and painting)

Constructive enough? :balley:

I Dont think people are realising this is an older thread and Sara has just revived it.

Sara, are you still feeling burnt out?

Mmm NOPE :balley:

:CareBear:ooops!:tamatarr:

Sara, its ok, we all feel burnt out several times in our life. :hug: Enjoy pak and time with your parents!

...well for me taking time off was the most logical thing to do after i graduated in 2000, i worked for 4 years during the IT boom, made **** load of money which eventually lead to other interests, ie. business ventures, travel, etc. etc.

i returned to education in the summer of 2004 and inshallah next term will be my final year... so yeah taking a break from the norm allows you to reflect and all.

So.. ure rich huh? :blush:

Oh and yeah im doing the college thing for myself now, not for my parents.. :whistling: