Is it basically understood that when you go to someone’s house for the first time, you always bring some type of present (cake, pie, etc etc)? I’ve always been taught that “kisi ke ghar khali haath nahi jana”…I was curious because some of my friends say that they’ve never heard of that before…
Re: Taking gifts to someone's house
Yup that's what I've grown up with. Either a bakery kinda thing or a house warming kinda gift.
Depends. Celebratory occasions require gifts. In the event of a first time visit, I think it's polite to take a gift for the host that has taken the time to cook for you. When a familiarity already exists between people and they visit each other often enough, then there's more laxity in not taking a gift each and every time there's a simple, non-celebratory invitation.....and for this type of get-together I think (or would like to think) that the host's purpose for inviting is to enjoy the company of friends and not to get collect gifts, lol.
yeah definitely, it shouldn't be about lalaach. I was just curious because I didn't know if it was really as big of a deal as my parents made it out to be or what. Going to someone's house for the first time without some type of gift was a HUGE no-no in my family.
My mom has friends that she's now known for years and they see each other often enough at events, so they don't bring gifts to every single non-celebratory invitation. But fir a first time visit, I think it's nice to take a gift.
For the very first time, yeah its a HUGE thing to take something....I just can't imagine not doing that. Although a few times its happened bc of circumstance...but I try to make it up the next time.
I've always been taught that "kisi ke ghar khali haath nahi jana"...
This is what I was taught by my mother and my MIL believes this too.
Same here that's what I grew up seeing too, and try to follow it.
^It's not just a desi thing. Westerners do the same thing and take a hostess gift when visiting someone.
its international culture even, I have many friends from different nationalities & they all do same, same in my home country
Re: Taking gifts to someone’s house
Agree with everyone’s views here: first time going to someone’s house - take a gift. If it’s a celebration of some sort - take a gift. If it’s a regular meeting - no need for gift.
Question: Do you take a gift if you’re being invited to dawat as a newlywed? I don’t know if it’s a tradition for most people, but if anyone gets married in our family, we invite the new couple for a dawat. When I got married we got invited by khalas, phophos, dadi, sister, (not SIL for some reason…
), cousins who were already married, you get the idea. I wasn’t sure whether or not to bring a gift to each person’s house, so I ended up baking things and bringing small packets of baked treats to each person’s house. My mum told me it’s not necessary when you’re going for dawat after shaadi - and ironically we got gifts ourselves at the dawats too. So, what’s the norm?
^since it was my first going to my inlaws side of the family for the first time during the wedding dawats...we always took flowers and a cake to their house. But even when I went to my own family dawats to my phuphos and chachus house for the wedding-after-dawat I took flowers and cakes. Since it was my first time going with my husband.
I always take something to someone's house going for the first time.
in this case no, as gathering based for the new couple,& the reason is different, I didn’t see around me also.
but if u take a gift its ur choicem it will be nice
yeah definitely, it shouldn't be about lalaach. I was just curious because I didn't know if it was really as big of a deal as my parents made it out to be or what. Going to someone's house for the first time without some type of gift was a HUGE no-no in my family.
I believe if someone took the time to invite you formally, or it is first time, but require gifts. Usually a bakery item, juice, flowers.
I don’t think you are to take stuff if you are the VIP. Or the guest of honor. This gift stuff doesn’t apply.
Alwaeys taek naice caek, den dey will sarve too you to hehe
OOooooo I was a VIP? That sounds special
those were the days! ![]()
U were!
If its first time or an occasion then a gift. Otherwise I would just take a Cake/ flowers or chocolates. But I would never go Khaali haath if someone has made the effort to do dawat. It was same for after shaadi dawats.
It's different if u r just visiting or popping in to c someone, then I don't bother as that is just a casual situation.
Add Content