Why do adults take away kids toys? I dont’ mean as a punishment or something, but they take their kids gifts away, to give away to someone else…
I’ve seen it happening myself, the kid gets money or gifts on Eid and the parents take it away, to give to other kids later on.
Or let’s say, a family comes to your house…you tell ur kids to share their toys and stuff, and the kids that are over want to take those toys home. And the parents aren’t even stopping them from doing so…do you let them take it or politely say no?
I’ve heard some ppl say it’s good to do that it teaches teh kids lessons, but I dont knwo what lessons it teaches? It just sounds mean and nasty to me.
Did this ever happen to anyone when they were kids? did you resent it or think u were a better person for it?
i don't let my kids take anyone else's toy but if they themselves want to give their toys to other kids (which is hardly the case...lol) I'd let them. my middle one loves making drawings for our guests and he hands them over when they're just about to leave.
I have a story to relate.. I am going to share even if it's not exactly what you have asked for!!!
I have lots of disney magnets on my fridge so someone came to visit us with their 3 year old who wanted to play with them.. I let her play with the magnets and when it was time to go home, I wanted my magnets back but the bachi didn't want to give them back to me and her mommy didn't say anything to her.. I was sooo heart broken so I tried asking her couple of times politely but the bachi refused.. and her mommy was just laughing saying oh she likes disney just as much as you do (and i am thinking um okay, go get her own magnets) but at the end I told her if she gave it back to me, I will give her candy!
She handed it back to me and I had no candy for her.. I felt horrible but i got my magnets back!!
I really wish her mommy would have told her its not okay to take stuff from otehr people's house!!!
I will not let anyone touch my kids toys and inshaAllah my children will not want to bring anything from someone's hosue eitehr.. it has to be taught!!!
Hareem...aww that is sweet...see I think its totally different if someone is willing to be generous and share like in your case
I have a story to relate.. I am going to share even if it's not exactly what you have asked for!!!
I have lots of disney magnets on my fridge so someone came to visit us with their 3 year old who wanted to play with them.. I let her play with the magnets and when it was time to go home, I wanted my magnets back but the bachi didn't want to give them back to me and her mommy didn't say anything to her.. I was sooo heart broken so I tried asking her couple of times politely but the bachi refused.. and her mommy was just laughing saying oh she likes disney just as much as you do (and i am thinking um okay, go get her own magnets) but at the end I told her if she gave it back to me, I will give her candy!
She handed it back to me and I had no candy for her.. I felt horrible but i got my magnets back!!
I really wish her mommy would have told her its not okay to take stuff from otehr people's house!!!
I will not let anyone touch my kids toys and inshaAllah my children will not want to bring anything from someone's hosue eitehr.. it has to be taught!!!
Do parents just not have any sharam at all? Ok the little kid asks for something, they dont' know any better but why don't the parents stop them? Weirdos.
Why do adults take away kids toys? I dont' mean as a punishment or something, but they take their kids gifts away, to give away to someone else...
I've seen it happening myself, the kid gets money or gifts on Eid and the parents take it away, to give to other kids later on.
Or let's say, a family comes to your house...you tell ur kids to share their toys and stuff, and the kids that are over want to take those toys home. And the parents aren't even stopping them from doing so...do you let them take it or politely say no?
I've heard some ppl say it's good to do that it teaches teh kids lessons, but I dont knwo what lessons it teaches? It just sounds mean and nasty to me.
Did this ever happen to anyone when they were kids? did you resent it or think u were a better person for it?
When I was a kid my parents never took away my toys from me just to give it someone else. Toys were mine and my parents very well respected that and same was the case with money. Whatever money I got was saved and not a single rupee was ever taken from it. The thing I believe I learned from it was it is not ok to take away someone else's stuff or to take away someone else's money and you have to respect other people's right of ownership.
I agree with what Gemini said quote **I will not let anyone touch my kids toys and inshaAllah my children will not want to bring anything from someone's hosue eitehr.. it has to be taught!!!
**unquote
@ gemini & diamond. lekin jab koi mehmaan aae bachon ke saath. so u wont let the kid play with ur kids toys? aise to nahin ho sakta!
i remember when i was 14 or so. ek aunty, jin ko hum bohot deer se jaante hain, came to my room and said, ke unki beti (3yrs) saw, ke meri almari mein kuch cheezen hain. and she wants to play with them. maine almari khol kar dikhai aur aunty ko bola, ke ye cheezen sajaane wali hain. khelne ke liye nahin. but she ignored it, and gave it to her daughter. ka kar sakte hain?
my son HAS to share his toys with his friends. he has no sibligs, so he has to learn, to share with other people. otherwise he wil be too selfish, thats the lesson...
it's ok for children to play together with their toys offcourse ghar main bachay aye gay to khelain gay bhi but that does not mean that they take home with them the toys they had played with. I will not stop my daughter from playing with other kids but I will stop her to own someone else's stuff . like u said "but kisi ke ghar se kuch le kar aana, it a no go!"
^ exactly what she said... probably I shoudln't have said "i won't let anyone touch my kids toys" i meant touch to take them away.. they can share and play together but no one is taking them home :-)
way back when it might have been viewed as a sign of extended hospitality to let children have what they want but the norms today dictate that parents make sure that they ask before playing with other toys.
In GTG case, I would have ask her if my child can play with her magents or even just the child not to touch other people's things.
GTG - I understand but if not a magnet a china doll that your dad gave you. Step by step childen have to understand the concept of what is theirs to play with and what isn't.
Another thing that children have to be taught is to keep their hand to themselves. I don't have an issue at people's house anymore but in the mall where my girls want to touch everything they like. ohh pretty jewelry. ohh pretty box. We are going through that now.
I am experiencing the mall issue with my daughter now a days but thankfully it is just one “No” I have to say and she puts the thing back and gradually she will understand. They are children not adults and they will behave & act like children and being a parent it’s our job to tell them what is right and what is wrong.
Kids are Kids they dont take rational decisions while opening gift toys. (just like women cant make rational decision with cloths and jewelry and men with tech-toys)
If we think that some toy is not useful for kids or sense that they will not play with it much (knowing their interests), we offer them cash in exchange for that toy (at fair market value :) ) and we keep it for any future gift that we may have to give. Final decision to either accept or reject the offer still resides with them.
Kids are Kids they dont take rational decisions while opening gift toys. (just like women cant make rational decision with cloths and jewelry and men with tech-toys)
If we think that some toy is not useful for kids or sense that they will not play with it much (knowing their interests), we offer them cash in exchange for that toy (at fair market value :) ) and we keep it for any future gift that we may have to give. Final decision to either accept or reject the offer still resides with them.
haha that's the first I'm hearing about that! :p
I always give gift cards as gifts....
i dont allow my children to bring back toys from someones home even if they r willling to give it to my kids. and i dont want anyone to take away my kids toys, but i do incourage/ask my kids to let other children play with their toys. they need to learn sharing.
one family with a 2 yr old boy visited us , her son brought his toy car with him. my 2 ys old is just crazy about cars , for the whole time they were at my home , my son keep asking boy to let him play with his car. i tried my best to distract my son but he just wanted to play with his car. and his mother did not even once asked his son to share that toy. her son then gave his car to his mother and she hided it under her dupatta. if i was in same situation i think i would have convinced my son to share it.
anyway i just felt little bad for my poor baby.
I would never let my child take other kid's toys home with them. It's a bad habit , I would encourage my child to be generous and share everything though.
This is a cool thread. I personally have not had this as much of an issue. Yes my kid goes to other peoples' houses and plays with their kids' toys and yes sometimes she wants to take things home (she is 2, can you blame her?) but we always step in and let her know that she can play with their toys IF they want to let you but you can under no circumstances just take things home.
Same goes for other kids when they come to our house. Thankfully all the parents that come to our house are very courteous and make sure that their kids don't try to take any home. I guess we don't really have any desi friends so have not seen this behavior yet where the parents just let the kid try to take things home.
ok so I have this american family visiting my office to drop off some paper work and she has two kids with her... first of all, they took my mickey mouse pen from my pen holder, then the other started crying and took my windmill pen and started to blow it in his sisters face who now wants to play with it.. I am not paying any attention but I am hoping they dont take my pens with them!!!
I dun like children who just take away things without even asking and then start playing with them and mommy isnt saying anything to them.. just filling out the application and pretending like they dont even exist!!!
and you would think desis had it bad... arghhhhhhhh!!!
and kids are 6 and 3 years old.. they hsould know!!!
Not 100% in relation to the OP but kind of relevant i think, my hubby's cousin has a little girl, not quite 2, and she goes around touching EVERYTHING! Doesnt matter who it belongs to, and neither her mum or dad say anything to her. At one point she had a box of matches. Just absurd.