Tablah

Hi

I’m a big “Tablah” fan…this instrument was best used by Nusrat Fateh Ali marhoom in his Qawalies. Now that i have exhausted all Nusrat’s song, I was wondering if anyone could introduce me to some other musician/singer who uses tablah as effectively in his/her compositions.

Thanks
BoSS

Salaams,

You bet Tablah!! - uskay binaa sur sur nahee sirf aik noise hai because it sur and "taal" that make the picture complete!

How about the Saabri Brothers and the good looking Ustaad khan and his family - the first names are eluding me now, without caffeine hoon naa!!

BoSS. . .

Wow! I love the tabla. . . amazing instrument. And I've had the good fortune of interviewing Ustad Zakir Hussain . . the ultimate!

There are CD's out there of his work. . pick one up. . .and check it out. You are sure to enjoy it.

Also. . there is a group called the Toronto Tabla Ensemble. They hold recitals and shows quite regularly. Look them up. I was invited to a very private "jam" session where two tabla nawaaz and one sitar player were just getting together to have some fun at a mutual friend's place and I can't tell you what the experience was like!

Briefly. . .there were only about ten ppl in the small one bedroom apartment in the arts district by the lake. . .as each guest entered they were given a small candle to place in front of themself. . this was to be their only illumination . .to see with and to be seen with. . . uff! What an intoxicating atmosphere. . . and then the music. . .ahhhh the music.

Frankly, I have never experienced anything like it. The musicians had total freedom and the way they challenged each other to the "sawaal", "jawaab" was absolutely amazing.

You know. . .after Eid. . maybe we could plan something . . . very exclusive. . very small. . .

hmmmm.. . now I've got myself thinking. . .as if I don't have enough to do as it is. ..

Of course Zakir hussain has the no.1 spot in tabla........simply magic!

and i have heard that adnan sami also teamed up with him in a few of his compositions....

anyways tablah has effectively been used in many old indian classical songs ....mainly sung by rafi /manaday and others.

MR.

Thanks Rubiya jee...aap kehti hai to $5 ka risk lay laita hoon....any good albums that u know off.

Oye MahaRajay, tum subah subah net pay...beta koi parhai bhi kur lo wurna tumharay sur may tablah buja dooN ga!

Muzna I'm jealous! sounds like a great evening...yeah i'll check out the toronto tabla ensemble...

BoSS

Oh BoSS paiaann,
bachey kee jaan ley gaa keya? Aaj kall chitiyaan tow guzaarney dow, bechaarey kaa haal behaal ho gayaa hai in first semester.

NEWays, the Tablah Ensemble? Hmmmm......

We had a night like what Muzna described, lekin bhai feir Lahore tey Lahore hai, and we had two of teh best artists perform in front of us. It was a privelege to see them.
Ya Zakir Hussain audios might just be what I also need.