So (finally!) I’m starting tabla classes from Thursday.
I was wondering if guru-swami-madhanee-jee would care to give me some tips? ![]()
Tip No 1:
Use the fingers of both hands to lightly tap out a rhythm on the drum skin.
Madhanee, I have no clue as yet! I just know it's in the dutch Conservatory here in Rotterdam
I have a good friend who has been taking classes for over a year now, I actually got him started but somehow never 'had the time' myself :o ... uptill now!
Xtreme, ur no guru-jee
I am not listening to u.
Yeah Shinz, I’d agree with what madhanee says basically, the dheraj and the tukras are very important, the Taalas only slightly less so.
Hand positioning is everything and NEVER try and be a smarty pants with the guru :nono:
*Originally posted by Madhanee: *
You will do well. First year is very tough. You just have to be consistent with your Riyaz (every day, for an hour).
** An hour!! every day? Yikes, I don't know if I have that kinda time but I will sure try it!**
NEVER NEVER NEVER try to speed-up. If you develop bad habits in the beginning, it will be very hard to unlearn them. Always go slow. Dheraj (slowness) is very important.
Right, so that's going to be a problem for me. I know I would wanna speed up. Will keep it in mind, thanks
Good luck.
When you ready to experience some complex Tukras of various Gharans, I will be more than happy to share my repertoire. Give yourself at least 1 year to get comfortable.
** Thank you, I appreciate it :) **
and songs.. you learn mathematics better if you know how and where it would be applied in our daily lives.. music is the same.. know what song uses parts or the whole of your lesson.. ask your teacher to recommend a song that has the 'Taals' you've learnt put to actual use.. then it's all a matter of listening to more and more songs and just discovering how what you've learnt applies in the real world..
Good luck.. it's all about practice... oh and btw if you don't have 'rhythm' in you.. better not waste your time.. u can't 'acquire' it.
^I have rhythm, that's why I am so interested in learning to play tabla :)
Thanks you PA, u play urself?
well i'm the atayee.. mirasis hated us.. I play the keyboards.. but tabla or harmonium.. it's all music to my ears.. and i'd rather learn to be able to play popular music.. classical is a little too heavy for me.. if i ever learn tabla (i will someday when i can haul a jorRi back to the USA) it'd be to be able to play popular indian songs..
Swami Madhanee ji, do you only play tabla? How about flute?
Guys guys guyssss, please don’t derail from the topic. Thanks!
I’ve always been interested in every ‘drumable’ instument.
The traditional dholak ofcourse and right now a friend of mine is teaching me to play the ‘da’rbouka’ [thumb=D]darbouka.JPG[/thumb]
. I was thinking maybe I should try to learn one at the time or it might get too complicated.
Hmmmm, tabla- da’rbouka- tabla- da’rbouka?! Help please ![]()
Ahmadjee uncle, kya baat hai?
Tabla gives u headache?
Swami ji, no, I do drum only but the way you described fingers and hand work I thought you're apdept at flute too.
I failed to learn the original beat of the dholak, ( I have an own one, bit weird but hearable)
has this got something to do that I am left handed? or is it possible to play the same thing when u are?
But Madhanee, do you think it's a good idea to 'learn' both at practically the same time? Or will it get too confusing?
madhanee or someone else, can u answer my Question.
does it make a difference if u are left handed and want to to learn tabla ( or dholak) ?
ok, so there should be no problem I guess.
thanks.