switzerland tour - 2007 - after wedding

as we fly from toronto, first step was milan’s 2 hrs stay, after reaching there, were notified that our connection from milan to zurich is cancelled, and next one is after 8 hrs, making it a 10hrs delay, it was sunday, DAY!

so thats how we decided rather than fuming inside airport, lets come out, and get lost.. we came out awrite.. couldnt get lost.. why? N-O-T-H-I-N-G to do on a sunday in milan..

no i aint joking.. we asked around in our tooti phooti italian ( danial-wannabe hand-waving and broken inglysh) and one poor soul said get city map, go to cadurna.. (i missed danial rite there and then:D) and from there, u can go to all milan..

so here we are, first stop in exploring milan, mrs faizy kinda tired from back to back shadi, big nashta ceremony, walima, walima nashta ceremony and a noisy kids-crying-flight.

btw, after we reached cadurna, turned out these italian folks are WHACKED! i cant explain WHY i would say that, but just looking at them, watching them doing stuff, all us, canadians, (khumar/smilestar/danial/etc) would DEFINITELY shake their heads (in wobble motion) and say “dude they’re whacked!”. khair, this is a corner of one of the busiest traffic-jam section of milan:

and locals swore its PACKED all the time.. (i believe them cuz entire city seemed to be in curfew-mode) NOTHING like.. … newyork, chicago, toronto type.. ok fine.. toronto is bad example for weekends.. but still, its not DEAD like this..

anyway, after some maghaz mari with locals, we found ONE spot to be seen that will take majority of our flight-waiting-time and we head over there.. it was nearby anyway.. some castle that we selected from process of elimination (art galleries, buildings, museums, and such) here is how we approached it:

seemed a bit like some lahori masjid.. but what the heck.. with mind-stage i explained earlier, this did JUST fine :phati:

inside castle, mrs.faizy posing.

2-3 months before wedding, i think i stopped having my camera on me, and i dunno why, for some reason i always thought after wedding i would be stopping with this camera/pics fever. believe it or not, at one time i wasnt gonna take my camera kit with me on the swiss tour.. turned out that mrs.faizy loves camera/pics (dont worry, breath easy, we wouldnt gang up on gupshup and flood this place, based on MY history). so it turned out perfect, we made a deal that i will snap pictures, and she will pose.

this one didnt came out right, i was going to mock danial (and he knows what im pointing at) ..

inspiration was taken from the statue in the background that didnt come out right.. in back of my head, russel peters’ voice was playing, saying: “food is over there, and ju watch your mouth”

some artwork/scary people stoned in the walls we found, me likes:

i’ll say among the very few pics of us together, this is the first one.. entry to the inside of the living area of the castle

in old days, this might have served as KHANDAQ: beautiful view though

seeing this corner, i realized it looks like a section of saddar, karachi:

btw, this was after u come outta castle, towards the cadurna station.

that BUSY roundabout where the traffic jams in weekdays..

Re: switzerland tour - 2007 - after wedding

anyway, now we’re finally in switzerland, arrived in our hotel, dead tired, hotel at remote location, so well rested and slept, met our tour guide and ppl, and started the tour.. this is going towards Lucern(Luzern), the most important/historical thing to be seen is this dying lion’s monument..

seen from an angle, its actually part pig.. history has it that artist who was making it, after near completion was denied payment, and he silently built the lion in a form of pig (if seen from the frontal view) and THIS thing got discovered some time later when historical studies were being done on it or something.. (pata nahi, sari cheezain mixed ho rahi hain)

this is .. ummmmm.. wooden bridge.. kisi dil jalay/jali nay put on fire to this bridge.. (currently enrolled in mental institution or something, not doing very good) . . . european ppl recommended to see this sight in night time.. unfortunately we couldnt, tour was passing here during day .. they say light-show looks amaaaaazing during night..

randomly lots of scenery was captured.. (among one week we had 700pics almost)

started going to the cable-lift to the summit of Mount Titlis it was like 3 lifts journey, goes upto like 9000 ft..

ending of the first one:

starting of the second one i think:

clouds came almost close and then we got lost in them :slight_smile:

beautiful breathtaking views.. we were just getting excited that what will we find on the top

some more clouds:

its fun when they’re around u, among u, and entire lift becomes all cloudy and foggy :k:

this one was a rotating cable-car, so journey’s part #2. this one was nice because every once in a while, view would change, was much faster so every tower-change, the car would do a roller coster dropping move and we would scream :smiley:

^^ postcard-style shot isnt it? :wink:

so yeah, reached the top of mt.titlis and obviously there were ice caves which i heard SO much about.. and was lucky enough to see them.. beaaaaaaaaautiful caves, unfortunately none of the w/o flash pics came out the way i wanted them to and the beauty just couldnt get captured.. here are a few memories:

ca..ca..ca..collldddddddd… still couldnt help the tom cruise move from MI2.. bwahahaahahah

have lots of these scenic postcard style pics:

somewhere between interlaken and berne, back of alps and by the scurve of river ‘aare’

one common thing in ALL switzerland is the love for flowers.. EVERY house had flowers in windows, every street corner had flowers, its like a law or something.. oh and they even recycle, like this old boot:

national geographic-style scenery.. wooden house, decorated with flowers, really COMMON scene though in swiss living style..

river aare, as a dare to take the pic though .. steps were hand-made and very dangerous.. oh well..

starting towards geneva, some scene between mountains where we had to stay in hotel, this is right by our hotel.. (not every day u look outside ur place of living, and see clouds by a mountain top and a valley where u are)

[added after 8-9 days] sorry folks for the delay.. finally today i sat on computer again and re-resumed this travel blog..its actually mount zermatt where we stayed at the base camp.. (actual mountain was like pata nahi kitnay thousands feet) this was just base/camp/town/city kinda scene..

this is from the middle of the street.. couldnt believe my eyes on the clarity of the air, and nice weather (yes, even being from canada) in the background, u can see the “ST.GEORGES” that was our hotel.. joint with another hotel after the garden with a skywalk.. beautiful calm nice place to be .. coming to think of it, it was like all hotels were planned perfect by the tour operaters

and thats the one where you check-in, and dine, kinda antique-design, mrs faizy was having a blast just enjoying the weather and scenery

we finally started our journey again on the road.. this is one of the rivers turning into a fall, there was an electric generating plant around here somewhere too..

ahhhh.. the 13th centuary princess’ castle.. we were having a fight that which room in princess charming (me) should stay in and which room should be my sheesha room … and obviously the princess had different views… errrrr

yeah :phati:

so i made an angry face (heheehhe) no this is by a bear-habitat, artificially made and maintained nicely.. we took a lil break here, found some post cards, stamps and posted them back to our parents in brampton.. were kinda wanted them to see what FUN times we’re having :smiley:

btw, these bears were SO lazy, that ppl threw fishes at them, and they would just lie down there, and if fish landed out of their arms reach, they wouldnt grab it.. tsk tsk tsk tsk.. reminded me of my mornings after work having a sheesha.. (they were prolly tunn:D)

repeatedly during the trip, we came across the phrase by mrs faizy’s acquaintence “there is NO camera in the world that could capture the beauty of that place”… and sad to say, my camera, and experience with imaging, couldnt capture the moment, fully.

this is somewhere near geneva, before the city starts.. water was actually.. green, not pale yellow+blue combo thats showing here

we stopped in some market, had a walking tour, was a nice historical place, saw the house einstein stayed, worked on the E=MC2 theory (and ruined our lives) mrs faizy wanted a pose actually, being gangsta, making a shooting scene, kinda chickened out cuz swiss people were being very.. emotional describing the einstein’s house..

scratching head*

this is the famous TEN COMMANDMENTS, some old couples were getting lil weird, and well, just being weird around this one.. freaked me out a lil too.. oh well.. its only a statue of … errr.. mouses?

tell u what.. person can go anywhere and be anything, but u cant take the sheesha outta faizy.. heheheheh that was a big one too.. VERY hee nice te changa sheesha.. top was actually taller than me .. (how cool is that?)

thats a church we went in, had some historical importance, due to inside bad lighting, there were pics taken but not very clear, (yeah thats how bad it was) anyway, was a nice place..

guess what? swiss people are big fans of gardens on above ground levels .. and MANHH they can do a good job at it.. WAHHH!

ab to sirf wah WAH karnay ka dil karta hay .. (jab aatish jawaan tha:P)

this is where we were heading.. some VERY small town, made and maintained around ORIGINAL ‘swiss chalet’ scene was a bit .. from disney movies..

oh and this is some office kinda building..

:wink: see faizy going at it .. heheeeheh this is that disney’lookin town .. couldnt resist from the sight of such big dual-flavoured cone..

" u can lead a horse to water, but u cant make it drink" i say bull crap to that.. heehheeheh.. near swiss chalet, they had this horse-parking, from lil practice and LOTS of begging.. out came this pic …

evening in geneva welcomed us with THIS view.. WAH JI WAH! for an open area, and mountains surrounding from 3 directions, it was very windy.. kindaaaaaa cold for being comfy, but oh well, managed..this is by lake geneva,

[2 weeks later] phewww… thats a lot of being-busy and lack of will power to sit and write.. today is december5th, and im HOPING i will get this done … u might see a drop in # of words… cuz now i just wanna get this done.. already lost GOOD train of thoughts :frowning:

this is morning in geneva, starting to go towards which i thought was prolly the best experience of the whole trip.. zermat area/matterhorn express train. this is mostly geneva areas

the tour guide took us to her university, which is actually on top of some mountain .. rumour has it that mr einstein visited that place often .. (to develop 3=mc2 theory) khair, allah jaanay, this is ‘4wise men’ (idea is that OWNED BY FAIZY)

ye bhee keh saktay hain ke gaoon ki PANCHAIYYAT :smiley:

acha ji so the university atmosphere got to me, and decided to pose for the camera as if i am very much into it.. u can see the lady’s stunned look .. cuz until now we being the youngest couple in the tour were climbing this , running on that, taking this impossible pic, taking that impossible shot, she prolly thinks im tired :smiley:

believe it or not .. jawdrop i thought my reputation preceeds me.. (rue=street/road)

some church we visited, i was amazed by the windpipes.. decided to take memory back…

thats from outside of the church

was thinking of samad for some (odd) reason here, C/m8 here without even moving heheeheh.. its from a flower garden lil down the outskirts of geneva.. mohray were awfully light actually, made of plastic.. (i would prefer stone but playing with that much weight is a female dog)

old well, closed now, but a good sight for greenery

lake geneva, heading towards french border

mrs faizy resting on rocks..

errr… dunno how this one sneaked into gupshup version.. i guess mrs faizy wanted the camera for some reason ..

heading now towards mount zermatt.. very hee nice scenery te hotels and food :k:

NOWWWWWWWWWWWW! the best for the looks and beauty, view from hotel alex at the base camp, all u see around u are climbing fanatics and tv ppl.. this was by far the best portion of the trip..

few shots of the suite they gave us

hand painted, ceiling artwork in the suite..

next morning, by sunrise in the basecamp, thats the mountain top where professional climbers were headed.. there is also a glacier express that passes through.. but we were sort of running out of time to catch our connecting train for zurich.. so we didnt go…

another view from outside our hotel from the center of the town..

journey back, represent canada yo!

desktop wallpapers in mind, part1 and 2:

finally on plane, heading back to milan, saw another plane on top of us, thats a rare sight, and somehow camera managed to take a pic even behind from that thick glass window of our plane..

so this is all for the pics.. i have a small video collection too, lets see if i can do that on the coming weekend..

all together we had about 600 some pics.. i only selected the scenic type ones..

Nice :k:. Waise it’s the first I’ve seen you when there is Ganga present and ur not taking advantage of it :roman

Hint: Remember the video?

great pics ,lovely jorhi.

beautiful :jano:

The thing with Europe is that Sunday is strictly a holiday with everything closed, no business at all. On this side of the pond we have stores open even on christmas day for a few hours :smiley: and bechara sunday is like any other day of the week with stores closing just a little earlier. I like Europe for that.

I wish I had found the time to go to the holiday in Switzerland and Austria that I paid for last year for this year.

I would have visited Lake Lucerne, St Moritz, Tyrol, Innsbruck, Bavaria and Oberammergau :(

:smiley: so had fun… kool

:fatee:u have pretty wife mashallah

wow coool pictures i hope u had a lovely time....

awwwww yaaaay faizy and his pics are back :hula:

hehe awesome pics :smiley: lots of em. :cb:

seriously them italians are that bad eh?

-

^ Dash lag raha hai? :halo:

looked like a fun trip, pics r gorgeous!

lovely pics

thank u for sharing!

very nice n beautiful

mrs faizy is pretty

nice pix . congratz
hope you had a great time :)

nice pix Faizy, thanx for sharing.

I read one of your comments, so you guys are still in Switzerland?

faizyyyy :hug:

aapki begum kaheen dekhi dekhi lagti hain .. per kahan? yaad nahi aa raha :konfused:

Beautiful pictures faizy :k: Both of you are looking absolutely great and seems like you guys enjoyed a lot! Hope you didn’t have any cancellation problems coming back :smiley:

Mrs. and you look so happy and I am very happy to see that :smiley: Bhabi ko salam kahna, hope she remembers me.

nice pics faizy…the hotel suite is amazing :hayaa:
looks like you guys had an awesome time!