Sweet and sour chicken

Authentic recipe please!

Re: Sweat and sour chicken

mujhe to paseenay wali chicken nahi banaani aati :cb:

Sorry!!! Sweet!

Sweat and sour chicken

We reAlly need a Chinese food sticky…good Pakistani style recipes are hard to find…

I have my own recipe, unfortunately, I don’t know of any authentic recipe.

puraane zamaanoN meN dehaatoN meN aurteN bechaariyaaN is qadar kaam kiyaa kartii thiiN k unke har ek pakwaan meN “paseene kaa taRkaa” naa-daanista taur par lag hii jaayaa kartaa thaa…bechaare shawaahir baRe gaaRhe “paseene kaa pakwaan” khaayaa karte the. :cb:

aisii daastaan-e-baawarchii Khaana kabhii na gosh-guzaar huii hogii…hai na? :cb:

Yes your own please

This is a recipe from “snik” on GS. This is snik’s picture, not mine. I have not tried it out yet, but it looks great. Hope you don’t mind me sharing this snik!

Sweet and Sour Chicken

sweet and sour
FOR THE SAUCE.
chicken stock.
tomato ketchup.
sugar 1 1/2 tsp
salt,
pepper
vinegar
ajino motto 1/2 tsp
soy sauce

just make the stock, stirring it. add ketchup about 1/2 cup.
add rest of the spices.
let it cook
i never measure anything just keep adding things according to my taste and what i thought was still missing. first i thought it needed more ketchup for color and taste i added more sauce.
then i thought it needed more khatapun i added vinegar.
let it cook. add cornflour to it. it depends what type of consistency you want.
.if you still cant see a good red color , add the red chilli powder which we use to give that reddish color to our desi food.
food color is a good option also but i used the red chilli pwd.

My recipe is slightly different from the one above.

FOR THE SAUCE.
almost 2 cups chicken stock/or knor chicken cube.
almost 1/2 cup tomato puree/ or tomato sauce or 1/4 cup tomato paste
almost 1/4 cup sugar
salt,
pepper
vinegar
lemon juice
soy sauce
1/2 tsp ginger and garlic paste
2tbs oil
1/4 tsp of red pepper or less

Sliced carrots and green bell pepper.

1. In a pot, add oil, add ginger garlic paste and saute it for few mins.
  2. Then add tomato puree and stir.
  3. Add carrots and bell pepper.
  4. Then add chicken stock. If you don’t have chicken stock, you can add knor chicken cube and water. If you don’t have knor chicken cube, just make the sauce with water.(I would go with at least 2 cups of water. This will be for almost 1.5-2 pounds of chicken. )

After adding stock, add all the seasoning except sugar. Once the sauce comes to a boil, add sugar and let it cook for few more minutes. Finally add the chicken.

I hardly measure the ingredients, mostly eyeball them and then taste and fix the flavoring. Key is always start with less as you can add more according to your taste.

I only add corn flour if I see the feel to make the sauce more thick.

Now there are two ways, I cook the chicken.

1. This is I think the most popular way.

Make a flour mixture with season. Add medium sized chicken cut into cubes and cover to the flour mixture. Cover the chicken well the flour mixture and fry it in oil till golden brown. Then add to the sauce.

1. This is another method for those who want to avoid the frying part of the chicken. I mostly use this as we are trying to cut on the frying part.

Coat the chicken in flour mixture. Drop the chicken in the sauce and let it cook in the sauce. Once the chicken is tender, add carrots and bell pepper, cook for few minutes, then add the sugar. Cook for few more minutes. and your sweet and sour chicken is ready.

My chicken comes out very soft as I don’t let it over cook. I do make sure I have prepared everything beforehand.

If you feel your sauce is too thin, add some water/cornflour mixture to thicken it.

aap hamesha aisi urdu kyun bolte hein jis pe se dhool jharni paray? :hayaa: