SUV Show down

Re: SUV Show down

just with the armada, otherwise the infiniti badge is pretty good for reliability..way way above bmw and mercedes of the world.

Faisal, how about considering these as well:

Toyota Rav4 w/ 3rd Row, or better yet, bigger and just as nice, the Toyota Highlander w/ 3rd row? I agree the Acura MDX is also nice, but going to wait and see what the RDX looks like, though it's scheduled for next year. Considering that the first couple of years there will be bugs that Acura will have to work out, I would suggest waiting a year or two on those, even after they come out. My friend owns a 2004 Murano, and she's quite happy with hers. Good luck.

syani, personally I find Highlander to be the most boring SUV exterior design possible. Rav4 is comparable to Honda's CRV and ever since one of my close friends ended up in a roll-over in a Rav4, I am quite put out by their roll-over safety. I am sure they have improved since then, but I'd rather not put my family in one of those. In any case, I think 4Runner has the best personality and exterior design out of the three mid-size Toyota SUV (compared to Rav4 and Highlander).

Acura RDX is a sport'ute so its unlikely to have 7 seater (third row), which is one of my primary requirements.

Fraudia, true. Nissan is not completely off my list. Pathfinder is definitely a contender. It has good pedigree, though a boxy unappetizing shape.

In any case, I have decided to hold off getting the new SUV until the end of summer, since my family will be gone to Pak for 2.5 months anyway, so no point in buying a new car and just keeping it in the garage for months.

My kinda topic…

Aap ki jaga hota tau it would have definitely been a normal range or this…

http://www.wimp.com/range/

But since ur like my friend who recently bought a new Pajero, I would opt for Infiniti, coz it really has thrown the Lexus segment behind. I always dissed Lexus, coz its nothing but a Toyota…relabelled. Please dont give me the crap that it has luxury…blah, blah, blah. Only 2 companies…Merc & BMW, set standards of luxury in saloon & 4WDs.

Ever since BMW has taken over Range, the new range has really got better. My friend bought the new range when it came out, & he loved it the 1 year he had this car. He then sold it, invested in the stock market & bought the new Supercharged edition, & I loved the ride, comfort, luxury, performance, although it still drags when I race it with my 3.5 SE-R.

Infiniti has redifined the Jap car segment, they gave people, design, luxury, performance, reliability, & best of all, value for money. I agree there are departments where it should improve, but remember, this was a near bankrupt company which has boomed & produces products better than the crowd.

My preference in the luxury segment would be the Range or Cayenne, but since ur opting for 7seater, wait till the new Land cruiser comes out this November, my friend is also waiting for it, coz it will have 3 different engines. I adore the cruiser coz it really is the King of the Desert. But since ur in US, I doubt if u would be doing any off roading.

Like pir saab mentioned, be desi, buy Honda.

Main tay Honda hi laysaan

^Oye non-desi Brown sahab! Your post is not valid in Faisal's case. He needs a seven seater and he is not looking for luxury (true of fake whatever) SUV. He said first thing is 7 seater and then there is a budget for it. Take ur merc and rage to the mountains.

maal1k

while I own an infiniti sportrs sedan and am very happy with it, err rather ecstatic with it, anf have pals who have the FX45 and are very happy with their cars, the cars and fx seat 5. the 7 seater is teh QX which has had a host of problems, mostly electrical systems. The same problems are seen in the Armada. I love the shape and the amount fo room u get in those but the reliability is the lowest among all infiniti models and among the luxur or near luxury SUVs. Infiniti/Nissan need to fix this car because it should not be in the same lineup as the M, G and FX which are fantastic cars.

smooth singh - I know what he was looking at...

Fraudia saab - The FX 35 is a HUGE success here in UAE & trust me, it is doing well, I even have sights on it for the next year inshAllah. FX 45 is imported by the agents but yes there are parallel imports, but not many.

Like I said, this was a near bankrupt company, back on its track. It will take a few models more before it produces better models than anyone else. The best aspect about UAE's market is that it has a massive 4WD following, & FX 35 has totally ruffled Lexus 4WDs...!

There is a suit in the courts by Infiniti against Audi for using their Q flaghship, but I dont know what is the result. Nissan Altima has won awards, Maxima will be introduced in Dubai 2007, Ive seen one parallel import, & the Infiniti segment has really done well, & y shouldnt it. They give a lot more than what customers are asking. Oh & if I do get to buy the FX 35, I'll tune it for a special race held in the desert...the point is to scale a dune as high as a 12 storey building in the shortest time possible. U shud see the cars that come here to perform this feat. The FX 35 is one of them, & guess what, it excels better than the stupid Lexus...:)

Oh and there is no Volvo X90...:D

Fraudia saab, got the time to post pics of ur sexy babette...?

Mal1k, I will post sometime soon

mal1k bhai, I am a big fan of the FX series, they are phenomenal automobiles. I am just underwhelmed by the relaibilitty issues of the QX, which Infiniti is supposed to be working on fixing for the next gen

Fraudia bhai, I dont know what to call this, but my neighbor, just picked up a brand NEW Infiniti G35, & the first thing that struck me was Mr. Fraudia...HONESTLY...incidentally he is an immigration officer in the same airport I work in...:) I just dont know what to call this, but the sale of this car in Gulf states speak a magnitude for themselves. It is an absolutely beautiful & gorgeous car. I've ALWAYS been a Nissan fan, the only Jap brand I like, coz they innovate & not imitate. Im a fanatic of the FX series too. I still dont know why they didnt release the R390 GT, which is supposed to be a truly exotic beast, to compete with the likes of Pagani Zonda, Porsche Carrera GT, Lambo & all the other hot cakes. The Skyline is the most nimble monster & as one Australian put it...Beast from the East.

This will just motivate me to post pics of my brand new 3.5 SE-R I picked up from the showroom last August. Its SILVER...pics of my sexy babette coming soon...

Ml1k did he get the rwd or the g35x awd?

Anyhoo Faisal u started the thread but it was very useful for myself. We looked at many SUVs armada, pathfinder, seqouia, 4runner, the ugly subaru thingie, and finally decided that MDX was the SUV of choice. It was the overall comfort we hasd with it that made the decision.

MDX is a very safe choice. Its an excellent crossover utility. Riding comfort of a car, spaciousness of a van and power of a truck.

^ and more than that, thats what begum had her heart set on. mein nay toh barri koshish ki for her to look at some other 7 seaters but while she evaluated those she liked mdx from the very start. But she is happy, its a good vehicle and it will meet our coming needs.