In honour of Friday the 13th, please mention superstitions you believe in or have heard about.
I shall say bismillah and begin ![]()
It’s bad luck to walk under a ladder.
In honour of Friday the 13th, please mention superstitions you believe in or have heard about.
I shall say bismillah and begin ![]()
It’s bad luck to walk under a ladder.
Re: Superstitions
Black cats.
Which is dumb cos I got a really cute black cat and she's so gentle
Its bad luck to talk to pretty girls ![]()
Is that why you don’t talk to the larkiyan on GS
Err, wait a minute, you DO talk to us ![]()
LOL. Dont over think it! No positive connotations to be found.
I don’t believe anyone, but here are some I heard.
(1) Mothers asking their daughters: Don’t sit under a tree in evening (especially with open hair). Jinnat Ashiq hojate hain. ![]()
(2) Don’t sweep (jhadoo) your home after maghrib considering it as bad fall (abh shagun)
No logic
(3) Don’t call anyone behind at the time of his /her leaving home. (That makes sense.. Khas kam jahan Pak)
The most ridiculous one that I have seen in practice is when 7 (or some odd number) women come to bless the new dulhan during some ceremony and any widowed or divorced woman is not allowed, only married ones. My own mother (by her own choice, because she is a widow) did not bless my younger sister on sister's wedding, (during that ceremony).
I later congratulated my mom for her wise choice of not blessing her own daughter.
dont use scissors at home. There is bound to be a quarrel at home if you do that. ![]()
Reminds me this scene from Drama Aanch
OMG i have so many! I don't believe in any of them though! My dear mum told me these! where she got them from i have no idea!
Dont rattle your keys - your parents will argue
Dont stretch after you've eaten or all your food will go into a dog's stomach??
Dont sniff your food otherwise you'll turn into a monkey
don't leave your shoes upside down or rest your hand on your head as it's 'manoos'
don't sit on your pillow otherwise you'll get a headache
I remember some!
If your right hand is itchy - money will come, if your left hand itches money will go.
If your shoes end up one on top of the other, you will be travelling.
A crow sar khaaying on the wall of home = Guests coming
Hichki (hiccup) in Sindh and Cheenk (Sneezing) in some parts of Punjab= Someone missing you
Left eye twitching (ba'een aankh pharakna) = Something bad is going to happen
the one i have heard over and over again is do not walk/step over a child.. warna height choti reh jaye gi ![]()
Broken mirrors..
If you talk to them, its perhaps bad luck of the pretty girls
j/k ![]()
That you shouldn't let a baby see him/herself in a mirror.
I dont believe on any but worst one that I have heard is
We cant buy steel tawa with our own money, rizk kam ho jata hai
, can you please gift it to us ![]()
If you talk to them, its perhaps bad luck of the pretty girls
j/k :D
No no, sab pretty girls ko Seb main apna bhai nazar aata hai. He is very popular amongst pretty girls.
Chaloo Mashallah yee tu bare hee achi baat hai hamara Sab Inshallah "International Mammoo" baney ga :)
Oooh, this reminds of a North American one.
Never gift a loved one a knife - it cuts your love. If you ever want to gift a knife (which is dangerous anyhow), ask the recipient to give you a penny so that it’s not a gift anymore.