Super Achievers

salams

I just came across someone who graduated from one of the top schools [many consider it the top school] in the US with the maximum GPA and a BS and MS in engineering in 4 yrs :eek:

was in that school on a full scholarship too

Dangggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg :mash:

The person had more than aced A levels and O levels back in Pakistan as well…

is excellent in extra curriculars too, was in top leadership positions and sports and stuff throughout school…

the person is prolly just 21/22…is a modest and nice, balanced, decent person…

i’m just super impressed :mudhosh: :mudhosh: amazed beyond belief :mudhosh: :mudhosh:

:mash:

do you know of cases like these too?

do you know of cases like these too?<<<

yes i know one such person, hehe :k:

cool, kon, and what did he/she do?

reading these stories is kinda inspiring...shayad inhi ko parh k meri apni soti hui motivation bhee jag jayay :D

Re: Super Achievers

Marry him :smiley:

^ LOL what if the person she is talking about is female :p

yeah I know someone who graduated from Harvard, an outstanding student not only in studies but always up in extracurricular acticvities, and very high principled, but guess what that person has hell a lot of attitude and no manners. I was really impresed when I heard about him but it was very bad experience meeting him at MSA event in uni.
oh well, apart from his villainous reputation, he is an extraordinary person to talk about.

hmcq bhai…one track mind :smack: koi haal naheen :stuck_out_tongue:

GtG…thats a disappointment :-/
this person tho seems to be modest and down to earth…

*Originally posted by ~NiQ@Bi~: *
cool, kon, and what did he/she do?

us ka pura resume likh doon kia? :D

He was the best student in Holland with his FSc/A-level results (despite being a Paki).
Decided to do medicine and got his first year's degree (this is a diploma in Holland u get 1 year before ur bachelors; u didn't have to do bachelors before ur masters here) with honours topping the 250-odd students. Then passed his MSc in medicine with honours as well.
On top of that did a second (post-graduate) MSc along with his normal medical curriculum.
furthermore, only recently he returned from Harvard having received straight A's for the exams there.
his extra-curricular activities are quite good, i.e. only recently he was asked to present his research at a scientific congres.

and this all at the age of 22 :D

^^ hehe wah wah ji :mash: Allah nazr-e-bad-se bachayay :flower1: aur mazeed taraki de :slight_smile:

waisay kon haen ye azeem shux? :wink: ab ye bhee bata hi deyn :smiley: :smiley:

Originally posted by Gemini the Great: *
yeah I know someone who graduated from *Harvard
, an outstanding student not only in studies but always up in extracurricular acticvities, and very high principled, but guess what that person has hell a lot of attitude and no manners.

The reason for that is in your own statement.

hahaha… hey then you no longer need to refer to the person as someone else:D

I know a family, dad - a recognized doc, mum a nurse. Three sons. First two were the best students throughout their stay in college med school. Both came to the US got residency right away and are now accomplished experts in thier fields of specilizations in medicine.

I will note 3 super achievers whom I know..

I know of a person who was a spoilt brat..and then his family lost all their money..so he went to a third rate high school in Pakistan and had a commerce focus, he worked in the evenings at some accounting firm, then he moved to UK, started working at some accounting firm while getting ready for his accountancy exams. supported his family..paid for his sisters marriage, put his other siblings through school, passed his exams in teh first attempt, and now with all his siblings all settled and doing okay in their own lives, he has finally started to enjoy the fruits of his labour.

Not only is he a super achiever in my books, he is among my heroes, a good friend and like an elder brother.

I know of another such guy, who came to US and partied..dropped out of UCLA and went to some community college, and then similar responsibilities caved on him due to unforseen circumstances.
His typical schedule became..leave for work at 7 a.m. work fulltime in the day (and no it was not some cushy corporate job but a job doing a lot of door to door stuff), went to school, came home, had dinner with his mother, went to his second job as a security job, came back home at 1 a.m. sleep. on the wekeends it became leave for work at 6 a.m. cone back at 1 a.m. working as a security guard..his younger siblings went through college then he moved back from his community college to the university..graduated and is doing well.

There are many such achievers, who had not only the responsibility of their studies but their entire families

one person I know lived in the lap of luxury until his family lost everything, and he supported himself and his siblings, literally studied under street lamps because his little house was too crowded with his family plus others who needed a place..went to an engineering school in pakistan, graduated with very high marks, went to the top program for his field in the UK all while supporting his siblings. He came to be known as an expert in his field and went on to become the CEO of a top engineering firm..This person is my dad. the event that caused his family to lose eveytrhing was the partition..and the siblings he put through school, along with another brother who is a pharmacist..became a well established physician, a chartered acountant known as an expert in his field, a phD running a govt agency and a teacher. This person is my hero, my dad..without his hard work, my siblings and my cousins will not be where we are. His hard work and sacrifice helped his children, siblings and their kids be in a position they would have been had they not lost so much during partition.

Some people don't get to be branded by big time institutional names but are heroes in my book after what they've been through and what they've achieved.

^Ditto :k:

Can’t believe I am defending Harvard students :smack: But not everyone who goes to Harvard is stuck up.

hmm…hmcq bhai kya matlab :konfused:

**thanks for sharing your stories and views everyone :slight_smile: Inspiring stories :k: And Coconut, I agree with you :slight_smile: **

Yep, I know two super achievers. Both in my family, Mash'Allah. I turned out to be the underachiever, so I was not influenced by them. smile

Well,getting good grades and topping your unis is one way of looking at achievement.
But I tend to relate with Pir Sahib's perspective of achievement.My dad too has achieved a lot in his life and continues to considering the background he came from.My dad was just another village boy and at the age of 10 left and came to multan for studies and then from there on went to Karachi for Univeristy.Came to Dubai worked hard and specialised in Forex dealings working for a bank and supporting his parents and siblings at the same time.Time went on,and now he is a CEO as well of a multinational financial institution here in dubai earning a six-figure pay cheque.:)

Munni aww :hug: I am sure that’s not true you’re just being modest :slight_smile: As Coconut was saying, achievement is not just about accomplishments that are recorded on paper :slight_smile:

Cooldude, wow :mash: uncle ji is truly great :k: :slight_smile:

I look for a different kind of success, so I dun feel bad that I did not hit the high mark in this particular arena. smile

Tanku though. hugz

*Originally posted by Munni: *

I look for a different kind of success, so I dun feel bad that I did not hit the high mark in this particular arena. smile

Tanku though. hugz

For me, very good in education does not really count too much, you may have been raised in a well to do family with nurturing environment, shielded from all problems, etc. And offcourse there are exceptions.

I know of a gentlemen who was raised in a 'ghoompre' in slumps in Karachi, where getting two square meals a day was a big deal. He was never too good with school stuff either but to his credit he did got his bachelors while working 3 jobs. Now he just build a home for his mother that is worth close to a million dollars.

I believe that success is directly related to what you have to overcome. Over achiever are those defy all odds and never give up.

Peace