Summer BBQs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Re: Summer BBQs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

oh TLK, i have both gas and charcoal, i was so dumb that i didn't know that i don't need to use charcoal on the gas grill...lol until i discovered from someone.lol.

isn't charcoal grill give more flavor than gas? thanks for the tip :)

Charcoal grill does give more flavor but using charcoal grill is not that easy. You cant maintain the temperature and fire.

You're just like Mr CO,he loves his gas barbeque,but I much prefer the old charcoal one.You can just move the grills up and down to adjust the heat.

Re: Summer BBQs!!!

I’m new to BBQ’ing but I have some tips:

1-Proper marination is a must if you want your tikkay kababs to be juicy and nicely flavored…24 hours for chicken tikkas, bihari kababs and about 1 hour for seekh kababs

2-For more moisture especially in grilled seekh kababs you should get keema which has some fat in it but make sure it’s grinded well with the meat.

3-More ginger/garlic and green herbs like green chillies, cilantro, mint etc the more flavor!

4-Grilled veggies taste great with all types of BBQ’s as well as well potato salad, coleslaw, cold pasta salad…:k:

Has to be charcoal BBQ for us, can't beat the taste imo.

We usually have

Corn on the cob
Spicy prawns on skewers
Sheekh kebabs
Tandoori chicken
Spicy fish
Baked potatoes
bread buns
tortillas
pitta bread
salads
pasta salad
potato salad
sauces

..and loads of fizzy drinks/juice.

Dessert is always fresh cream cake and also ice cream which has to be in a cone :D

I'm looking forward to pictures in this thread...

Bihari kabab
Malai chicken
Grilled aubergines and feta cheese
Grilled haloumi
Grilled/roasted peppers
BBQ liver

haan yeh bhi sahi hai, aur gas grill is easy to clean , anyway my hubby does the cooking and cleaning :p

Myhubbys famous bbq chicken is awesome. Take a whole chicken and split it down the back. Wash thoroughly andthen flatten it out, skin side up. DONT remove the skin! Poke the entire chicken all over witha fork. Place in a large bowl and soak thoroughly with a spicy Italian vinaigrette (we use "Robusto Italiano"). Marinade 12 to24 hours in refrigerator. Place the chicken flat on the bbq, sprinkle with as many dry spices as you like (curry powder or creole spice mix are wonderful). Cover the chicken with a heavy weight, we use a cast-iron bbq tray. Glaze occasionally with leftover marinade to prevent drying. Grill for about 30 minutes each side. Cut into serving-sized pieces. The skin typically blackens so it can be removed before serving.

Cant wait for summer BBQs :yummy: :yummy: :yummy:

Here is a shish taouk recipe I want to try this year

http://www.recipezaar.com/recipe/Shish-Taouk-Lebanese-Chicken-Skewers-66035

chicken (seasoned and dipped in bbq sauce)
pasta
potato salad
coleslaw
corn
garlic bread
grilled potatoes
salad
seekh kebabs

Re: Summer BBQs!!!

:music:But i don’t need a shining star
And i don’t wanna be rescued
No neither frog nor charming prince
Nor my summers barbequed:music:

Anyone grill anything other than the traditional chicken, beef or hotdogs?

shark or tilapia...yum!! salmon is great too but I'm the only one who thinks so

My husband is very good at grilling with charcoal.

latest pic of our grill.

My husband grilled pomfret (sp?) on it last week, it was yummy.

koi kaam khud bhee kar liya karian

awesome , looks really great Saadia :k:

How exciting-bbq season is here!

Can I just ask, I've never bbq'd fish as I'm worried it will just stick and make a mess. Can fillets of fish be put on the bbq?

Also, for those of you who bbq hotdogs etc, so you parboil them beforehand? Don't they explode on the BBQ?!

^ I would think Princess you would need to put the fish on foil or something else...not sure if throwing it straight on the grill would work well as it might fall apart.

How do you guys marinate your steaks? How long for and how thick? I want to make them but dont want them so thin they come out rubbery...that seems to be common among desi BBQs. They do steak but it always comes out rubbery and hard.

I marinate chicken fillet in Humus and BBQ. Turns out great. My dad is a fan of lamb chops.