Suitable marriage proposals?

Im new to this thing…anyway I only started this thread because I wanted to ask this question. How and where do I find suitable marraige proposals from? Im asking this because my parents have told me its my age to get married and that I should find someone who’s educated, nice etc etc you know how it is but I can’t find anyone myself, i can’t approach people because thats not like me and im too shy too. Please don’t suggest anything like shaadi.com. I mean like how do people find proposals??? I should mention I’m a british pakistani female aged 24. How do female pakistanis living in england or usa find husbands? please can you share how you found your other half, like did you have a relationship before or found each other through parents and their contacts etc? Im really worried I won’t find anyone decent and that my parents won’t be able to find anyone for me that’s right for me or vice versa. Please give me some advice…thanks.

Re: Suitable marriage proposals?

there is a shy-guy on this forum who has recently posted a thread about his shyness and quiet nature…may be two of you may want to contact each other! :slight_smile:

here is the link to that thread: :slight_smile:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-and-relationships/609694-is-being-quiet-and-shy-a-humiliating-trait.html

If you would have posted your phone number in the post, you would have already received a few potential phone calls.

I joke I joke! It’s funny because you posted in Pakistan “Affairs” area of the forum. :hehe::o

Moved to appropriate sub-forum.

what sub forum would that be

This one.

You're welcome.

Do your parents not know anyone? Ask friends or family about any potentials? Or tell your parents to ask their friends and family and it will spread from there that your looking to get married and hopefully you should have potential suitors? As for finding someone right for you, then everyone has this fear, but make sure you get to know the person really well before hand. As my mum always says 'you only really get to know a person after marriage' so don't get really caught up on this issue. Good luck anyways! :)

Become more social. Go to various Islamic and desi events. Go to adware with your parents. Let people know you are looking. Travel. And mostly, pray!

Dawats not adware sorry!

I don't understand what's wrong with the parents these days. I mean did they just wake up and found out they have a 24 year old daughter. This planning from parents needs to start early and they should be scouting candidates way before the actual time for marriage comes. Your parents are to blame for this. How shameful to tell the daughter to go find someone "educated". So they want you to go out there a get a man? Wow

you really don't need to be judgmental over here. every family has different circumstances and these days finding someone decent enough for daughters is really a tough task.
it is possible that OP's parents might have looked out for potential proposals themselves but couldn't find any so have asked her to look out for herself as well.
they have asked her to look for someone to get married( a religious sunnah) so why is this considered as Shameful??

As for you OP, the best way is to spread the word in your social circle that you are looking forward to get married and any potentials would be appreciated. Your friends, neighbours,relatives,family friends, your colleagues, members of islamic centers( if you go there) etc can all be made aware of this that you would like to get married and they can refer potential guys/guts families to you.

you can also seek help from marriage bureaus( the reliable, authentic ones.
And pray.

Good luck

And pray.

Good luck

Not judging, just saying. Yes it is not easy to find a good rishta out there, which is more of reason to start scouting for potential candidates from early on and keep an eye on them for your daughter. Also, if it's difficult for the parents to find someone, why should it be easier for a respectful Pakistani girl to find herself rishta? Which one easier, the parents finding someone with mother's access to people's homes, or a respectful Pakistani girl looking for a man on her own? Anyways sis May allah give you the best husband for your dunya and Akhira.

Thank you, I'm just scared I won't be able to find someone who is decent and respectful and whos like me. I have been praying and reading duas etc and i know that allah SWT has a plan for everyone and i have faith in HIM..... My family has a lot of bad examples of marriages with the wrong people and it turning out bad and i don't want to end up with a bad life partner, or myself not be right for them. My parents have been looking for quite a bit of time etc but apparently, my aunty has been spreading bad things about me and my immediate family so people that my parents know think bad of me and my family but we are not like this at all, and all this affects getting potential rishtas in the future for me and my siblings and like I said it's not like me to go approach guys myself so I can't find one myself. I don't know what to do.

Does this work where you live? Like you can file a court case against a person who is harassing you or tell the police?