suggestion to cafe mods...

…about greeting threads.

ok to be straight and simple, I will say that to allow ppl to open threads like birthdays and other greetings in advance is not fair. Like todays example, I opened thread for hafsa’s bday on 2nd november the right date, and it got merged in a thread opened on 25th october, i.e. a week in advance of the bday.
So next time I might open thread for my friends 10 days in advance and maybe someone else will start opening 15 days in advance. so do u think it sounds right?

cheers

Re: suggestion to cafe mods...

I understand. But at the same time, it doesn't make any sense to have 2 or 3 birthday threads for the same person. It's the though that counts. Who cares who opened the thread and has the first reply, as long as you have your lovely message somewhere in the thread, I am sure your friend will get the idea. This is the best thing in our eyes to do: To merge threads that is. If you have any better solution in mind, please share and we'll consider it :)

I think when you merge threads, the posts reorder themselves by date of post anyway, right?

^^ Thats the point she was making PCG that threads get merged and the posts get reordered by date of post so if someone opens a b'day post for someone 15 days ahead of the birthday and you open it it on the right date after merging your thread would be lost somehwere in the middle while that someone who opened it 15 days ago will have his/her thread on the top.

Oh, and we merge threads when someone brings the old one up. We don't go search for the old thread and then merge it. Itna faltoo time nahi hai hamarey paas. In other words, if someone opened a thread 15 days ago to "reserve" the spot, and you come in and open the thread on the big day, and then someone decides to bring back that 15 days old thread back up to remind, then we merge. But if no one brings the old thread back up, then the current one stays.

Don't just point fingers, help solve the problem. Other suggestions would be appreciated.

Erm, whatever. I'm sure the birthday person can look thru the entire merged thread and see everyone's replies. Doesn't reduce the value of one or the other posts.

Re: suggestion to cafe mods…

Sohail bhai, I thought if u will figure out what I was suggesting. :bummer:

anyway Eid Mubarak :hug:

I think the threads opened in advance should be locked. Simple solution. If someone want to open a thread for some occasion they should wait till the right time. :hula:

Eid mubarak to you too :hug:

Yaar I understand your problem and believe me, I am with you. But the only problem is that I (or any cafe moderator) don’t know when the actual birthday is. For example if you open a birthday thread for someone today (and the birthday is at the end of November) and people start wishing, how do I know that the birthday is not today or tomorrow and it’s at the end of the month? I will know this only when at the end of the month, either the person replies in the thread or a new thread is opened saying the birthday is tomorrow (or today). You see what I am saying? A lot of times people open 3 birthday threads at different times and celebrate false birthdays just to fool people.

Making sure when the right birthday is too much work in my opinion, and quiet frankly, it’s not a moderator’s job. Our job is to make sure the forum is flowing smoothly and no chaos takes place. To expect us to police birthday threads and keep an eye on when the thread is opened and when the actual birthday is is asking us a little too much. We have better things to do :stuck_out_tongue:

Sohail bhai ever heard something like "when there is a will, there is a way" ?

so the problem u mentoined have a simple solution. Make it part of policy that whenever a greeting thread is opened, the date should be mentioned in the thread, so if there is a thread opened without mentioning the date that should be locked. I myself never open threads in advance cuz I think thats killing the fun of it, but in current situation I thinkif u wait for the date u wont ever open thread for anyone cuz always threads are opened in advance.

Nice suggestions. Let me see what my co-mods think about it. If they agree, we'll make it a rule. But personally, I think it's asking too much and making a simple thing really complicated. But lets see what they think :)

I think its very hurtful for people who have NEVER had a birthday thread opened for them to read that other people appear to have hundreds

For the record: Shikra merged that thread, not me. It’s all his fault. :halo:

If a thread is opened much earlier than the birthday (a week or more) then, it should be locked. If the thread is opened only a few days in advance, then it should stay. The thread that is opened first is the one that remains, while the ones that are opened afterwards get merged into that one.

Why do you have to justify your actions as mods to the little people....
Remember you guys as moderato's need not answer to any of these slimy and incredibly whiney people because

A. they dont understand
B. they are not worth it

You got to your positions of Modshiperation with sheer hard work, you dedicate time and energy and huge amounts of stress to the "cause"
and you have been fuly trained in the company ethos and regulationary rules
and therefore you are quite justified in deleted, joining and multiplacationing threads, posts and wotnots.

leave the mods alone

^ Next Candidate for Mod.

company ethos??

I wont agree to that cuz in real life did u ever wish someone birthday before THE day? And even if u want to give some relaxation then u it should be just one or two day. Again you are mod so you can give a month relaxation but still then it must be announced so that everyone is clear in mind about it, then ppl like me wont need to wait for the exact date of the occasion.

Differece of Opinion sohail bhai. I think I am making complicated thing real simple.

Before the right time = not allowed = lock
after right time, if opened more than one = merged.

Plus

Everyone one need to right the date of occasion.

but if you want it more simple then let ppl do what they want, that will be very simple, no need to merge or lock threads at all.

As u said mods are there to make sure the smooth running of a forum and I think what I am suggesting is gonna help in that. Then again I cant claim to be right all the time. So its just a suggestion.