Suffocation.......across the spectrum

Good article portraying nuisances, conspiracies and insecurities that are now inherently part of our social DNA…driven by too much of religion doze given to this nation across the spectrum. whenever i go to pakistan, I get suffocated by one-dimensional thought process i.e. blaming west/USA/jews/indians for everything, refuse to take any blame for our utter incompetence almost in every field, and keep bringing religion into every discussion and issue and thus shutting down any opportunity to discuss freely…

i have been to over 45 countries (for my job mostly) and i have yet to find any country where people hate jews as much we do in Pakistan…as if jews have a different creator… if they are so bad blame the creator first who is producing such toxic material…

jews are closely followed by hindus and USA in terms of hate..pls note, Pakistanis do not hate Indians, they hate hindus. always surprised that sikhs are always adored by Pakistanis…Christians and Buddhists are ok as well but hindus…

The moot question here is why does this large body of opinion in Pakistan — 33 pc — tacitly accept violence and militancy without strongly reacting to it? To me who abhors violence and war, even having no opinion on the matter is amoral. But many people have learnt from personal experience to take the route of least resistance and unquestioning conformism in a system where there is no institutionalised protection for someone who sticks his neck out.

***Another key factor is the widespread use of religion to silence people and numb critical thinking. *Students have learnt that if they want to negotiate their way through school successfully they should accept unthinkingly the knowledge that is handed down to them.

**In fact, the social environment is so deeply saturated with religiosity that it is difficult for many people to escape its impact and think in a secular manner. **The pulpit, the school curricula, socio-cultural practices, work routine and even language are so closely integrated with religion that it leaves little space for rational thinking. The Taliban expediently use Islam and jihad as a shield to justify their nefarious activities

We are a nation divided against ourselves. We do not want to take risks if we can find an escape route for ourselves. and so we do not stand up for the rights of others. We fit into the pattern described by Martin Niemoller about the German intellectuals in Nazi Germany. The intellectuals did not speak out against the excesses committed against various groups in the country — the communists, the socialists, the trade unionists and the Jews. “Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me

Our own insecurity - Newspaper - DAWN.COM

The amount of self loathing I see amongst Pakistanis is astonshing. What utterly miserable bunch of people, honestly.

Re: Suffocation.......across the spectrum

Our brave army is fighting these animals but even our army cheif has said it multiple times that we can finish all these terrorists physically but there will be a longer war at the social side where we need to change peoples' attitude.....

The survey quoted in this article indicates that over 40% of Pakistanis did not feel particularly negative about TTP and 8% explicitly declared themselves to be sympathetic to the Taliban. We can always call these surveys bogus but that wont change the reality...

question is what are we doing to convert that 40% into moderate citizens and why are we so religiously insecure?...I have no hope from this govt as it is intellectually bankrupt and not brave enough to take any brave steps as such to root out extremism

one comment in this article is well drafted at least attempting to reflect introspectively and let me quote it:

*"Our insecurity is also partially due to the narrative of how religion is understood, and spread in Pakistan. When fear becomes synonymous with faith and those wishing not to fall out of line, blindly follow whatever comes from the pulpit, without question, this nation ends up where it is, described well in the above article.

In many countries the pulpit is under control, not in this country, clerics say and deliver what they think, to a great extent. The world is now well aware, where the seeds of intolerance, insecurity, emanate from. It is time to take serious cognizance of this questionable form of indoctrination, save this nation by opening the minds of people ,thru knowledge, thru discovering truth.

The fear of the unknown, the fear of life after this life, is a source of insecurity and this is not the fault of religion it is the way we interpret and narrate faith, how we narrate life"*

Btw, it's ironic that people who moan and cry the loudest about how Pakistanis are so negatively streyotyped in the West, don't hold anything back when it comes to their turn to heavy handily stereotype their own countrymen in most crude, absolutely bigoted and fraudulent manner. Honestly, such people deserves to get the taste of their own medicine by outsiders. Good. They deserve every bit of it.

Re: Suffocation…across the spectrum

https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xfp1/t1.0-9/10405327_816837595002758_5643401176199829792_n.jpg

Problem with us is that we have glorified ourselves to sky as if we really are "chosen people of Allah" which then is used in a way to hide all the crimes/mistakes we commit on daily basis and pass all the blame to outside factors (whether they exist or not is a different issue).

your 38,000 th post was a good one!

finally.....

when you have no education, or each city/province has different standards of schooling, etc, it is obviously going to create a rift.

those going to regular schools vs those in govt schools vs those in madrassas. How many different classes are being created. There's no way they will ever accept each other . They will try whole lives to show the other one down.

unemployment, extreme inflation, fake milk, products, fake medicines, fake peers and baba's and all, and the mentality of extreme hatred and jealousy, leg-pulling. Add on top the corruption, blackmailing, violence, kidnapping. Add loadshedding so business can't run so you add more unemployment to the scene. Films/Dramas show extreme richness, western countries shown with luxurious life.

Only thing people have is their religion, but people don't even bother learning/researching anything. Ek se suna, aur agay hazaar loagon tak wo sunni-sunai baat pohnch gai, jahil awam, scared to question a scholar or WHY something is the way it is, in what context, etc.

the army has its own interests, if we didn't have india as enemy (this mentality) they won;t need so many weapons, how will US sell them and how will the pakistanis buy it at higher cost and then recieve kickbacks, foreign tours and trips for families, etc.

When the qaum is just busy in their own, the collective feeling is lost. There is no nationalism left, except on few days.
You think the army had the best interests at heart when they launched operation ?? NO - they do it when China pumped billlions for this, that;s how
they start operation - pakistan has a rental army, pay up and get them to do whatever . Send those jawans to get killed in remote mountainous deserts while they think they're cleaning up uzbek and other trash.

Last time i went to pakistan i had almost every educated person ask me how they could get the eff out of pakistan, to show them any way, they were willing to do anything to get the hell out. When anchors on tv shows such as hasb e haal start echoing same sentiments you know the writing on the wall.....

Well if people stop trying to get out, instead stay put, use their brains, and actually work hard, maybe they will see things will change.

Has anyone noticed that people are lazy out there? Work starts at 10 or 11 am. Bazaars open late, and because of the lack of safety, they don't stay open late. On safer times, they do stay open late and suck up the electricity even more.

Early to bed, early to rise, makes a man....?

Early bird gets the ....?

And then work ethic is zero. I go there to get my clothes done, and zero sense of professionalism. Tell a person, you'll get the work done by this time, it will NOT get done by that deadline. Quality of work is going down hill. Vast majority of people aren't even running anything properly.

And the education differential needs to end too. Some kids go to madrassah others go to english medium schools, and others end up with zero future when they go to government urdu medium schools. What do you think is going to happen?? All because set sahab's kids cannot POSSIBLY sit next to the maid's kids in school.

Honestly how many of you people would tolerate it if your kid sat next to some poor child in school? Do you know that my cousin who is disabled (not even poor, he just had a birth defect) --> turned away from school after school, with parents actually telling my cousins parents that it would not be fit for their kids to sit with my little cousin in school.

You don't need a messed up economy or bad leadership to be a population with one too many jerks.

the qaum has no ethics. It's a word they do not know.

look at them when they visit foreign embassies, or offices in western countries. They follow lane discipline, have good attitude, etc.

as soon they land in pak, or board a PIA flight, their attitude changes. You can see their true colors come out in full force. And these are the ones that migrated abroad.

in pak when you have a mentality of, "paisay de ke sab kuch hojata hai" type, what do u expect? Bribery starts at the airport and is so entrenched in everything.

look at teachers, they hardly teach in the schools/colleges but want every student to come to their tuition centre after school. The more expensive the school, the more reputable it is. Hardly any teachers actually teach much other than formality in the govt institutions.

when you have ****ty education known as ratta system, and u base that to choose who gets into medical and engineering or the leftover arts, this is the qaum you end up with. Then u got the jahil molvi's with their vested interests using Islam to do whatever they want, they can use blasphemy to kill or target anyone. Acid attacks on women, while the perpetrators roam free thumping their chests, bomb blasts all over, no safety......going to the sabzi mandi is dangerous.

bas islam ki thaikaydari sambhali hui hai and to just leave everything on Allah to solve all issues, well, that ain't going anywhere.

seriously, who the ****k would want to go/stay there ??

That means the "qaum" has "ethics" but the system made available to them has flaws/problems which then forces them to change their behavior.

Yet students from Pakistani education system go abroad and still do well, how? If the education system is "sh!tty" then how come they don't run into problems abroad? Think again, the problem lies somewhere else ... lekin aap ka nazla kaheen aur gir raha hay ;)

Re: Suffocation…across the spectrum