...Stupid Requirements...

I have always hated the governmental procedures, especially Pakistani embassy in US procedures/attitudes. I had to talk to those idiots (pardon me if anyone’s relatives work in the embassy) when I had to get a visa for Pakistan, when I had to get the Pakistan Origin Cards, and most recently, when I am about to get my wife’s passport and NICOP renewed.

Houston embassy has been the most cooperative so far. I’ve been dealing with the Chief via e-mail and he responds the next day :k: Although they are open only for 3 hours each day :konfused: It’s been 2 days since I’ve e-mailed and called the L.A. embassy - no response. Out of all of their requirements, here are some of their STUPID AND RIDICULOUS requirements, some of which I understand but still!!!

• Fill out the application in BLACK (not blue, red, green etc.) ink and in CAPS
  • Fields must be filled BOTH Urdu and English (The card doesn’t have Urdu on it, so what’s the point?)
  • Photocopy of NIC (they need a copy of the old one to give you a new card but they need the ORIGINAL card to renew your passport). Doesn’t make sense to me - Shouldn’t that be vice versa?
  • Father and mother’s name as well as their ID card numbers (You know, we are over 21, we are adults now, let’s not get mommy and daddy involved!)
  • 2 stamped self-addressed envelopes - one to return a receipt back to us and the other for them to mail the card. Ok fine. In addition, they have a $7 “Home delievery charge” - Now, what the HECK do you need that “home delievery fee” for when we are giving you the freaking envelopes that are self addressed and stamped. All the work is done for you lazy s, what is that additional charge for?

My e-mail question was about that charge and nobody has replied yet. These are just the ID requirements. I’ll leave the passport requirements for another day. Oh, and getting a new card may take up to 6 months :rolleyes:

Who else is unhappy with these government workers and has had the unfortunate experience of dealing with them?

Re: ...Stupid Requirements...

Government, no matter where it is, is inefficient!

In it's quest to serve the masses, it goes out to oversimplify things which in turn makes the procedure more complicated for the individual user. It's Government, it sucks.

The funny thing is that those who want to do things illegally, they are still able to get whatever they want, it's the average people who get buried under stupid requirements. On top of these baseless rules, the customer service is just not there. They act like they are volunteering and doing us a favor. If you don't like the job, leave and I am sure many people are standing in line to get that job.

Re: …Stupid Requirements…

maira tu sub kuch hi expire ho chuka hay
ID card, Passport, NICOP still has the old address from Saudi Arabia

I am getting nightmares about the situation when I have to visit pakistan
and have to go through all those hassles :hayaa:

I didn't have any problems when I had to get my 5-year visa for Pakistan. However, I have applied for the ID card and even got the reciept in mail like couple of months ago, still waiting for the card to arrive. I think I should get it in few years!

these smart S’oles are just jokers when it comes to applying logic
I remember last year my wife had to get her passport renewed, she needed a NICOP for that, and her national ID card for the NICOP :smack:
They wouldn’t accept the OLD ID card that she had, and insisted on the new compooterized shakhti card - abay Ghooonchooo ab naya card kidhar say laon ? She had to mail everything to Pakistan, her old card and everything, where the new card was processed (While she is in Canada :smack: ) and it was mailed to her, she used that to get a NICOP - and then finally the phassphooss was renewed :hayaa:

James Chachoo You should keep it up to date - you never know when you may need it in urgency.

HHL If you are talking about NICOP/POC, they said it usually takes about 6 months as they send those to Pakistan and the cards are made there. Even then, SIX MONTHS?!?!?! I think that's a bit too long. I mean come on, how much does it cost to mail those to Pakistan on a monthly bases? It can cut the waiting time more than half.

Now that you say this, let me add my simple wish:

Mission: Renew her passport and change her last name at the same time. Common sense would tell you that they would need:

1. The old passport
  2. Proof of residence in the US (they are asking for a notarized copy of driver’s license - which is fine)
    *]A copy of the marriage certificate for name change
    Well, my guess was wrong. They said first we need to apply for her NICOP (which expires in 2010 by the way) and have her name changed there (which will take 6 months and the passport expires next month) and THEN you can apply for the passport. OH BHAI MEREY :frusty: why are you forcing us to get a new NICOP? If we ever need to use it, that’s our problem! Just give us what we are asking for. When we need to have the NICOP renewed (as if we’ll ever use it because she’ll need the updated passport to visit Pakistan), we’ll get it done then.

I sko keht hain., " Ab aya ont pahar ky nichy"
Your Ruls=…**Stupid ** **requirements:D **

Ok genius, what would your logic tell you what you need to have your passport renewed and have your name changed? :rolleyes:

**I received their reply. It’s funny. They pretty much said "ok bhai, rona band karo, self addressed envelopes na bhejo lekin hamey uski jagah $7 bhej do :omg:

try applying for any country's passport

I have a US passport and I've had it since 2000. I filled out the application (no ink restriction), went to their office, they took the pics (paid for them myself), I gave it to them and paid the fees, within 14 days, my passport was expressed mailed to my home address.

Let me add, my brothers just had theirs renewed because their was issued for 5 years and it expired, they went to the post office, filled out the application, sent a check with it and a return envelope, theirs arrived within 14 days.

How long does it take to get a new passport in Pakistan ?

I really don't know. I was about 13 when I got my Pakistani passport to come to the US. All I remember is that we had to go to Multan on a VERY HOT day, stand in the long line at the passport office, talk to idiot clerks and bribe them, and go back after some time (a few days - possibly about a month after) to pick up the passports.

Ju woh keh rahy hain karti, They do have their rules and regulations. Mujh sy kah tha FED EX ky zariy mat bhyjna na FED EX ka lifafa US postal services ky zariy { Jan ky main FEDEX ky zariy bhyj chuki thi:D

i don't remember how long, since my dad was the one who dealt with the whole procedure...but like take these many pics, this way, and fill application that way, it has to be submitted here...not fun.

canadian passport application isn't fun either.

So many problems... time for some **solution **ideas:

What is the reason for such a tedious+difficult procedure? What is *causing *these issues? And WHAT is the procedure involved in making, renewing a passport that it takes 2, 3, 6 weeks to complete?

The culture + bureaucracy. The same culture that runs passport offices back in Pakistan is responsible for degradation of embassies here in US. There is favoritism, there are bribes, there are back doors - for those who know someone inside.

** What is the solution for this?**
Change management+employees... non-Pakistanis should be serving in the embassies. No matter what you are selling, if its passports, IT services or online education, if DESIS find out that you run the show, the first thing they ask for is are you going to give us any discount. Get rid of the back door, bargaining, "mujhey **free **aur **jaldi **mil jaye na kabhi" culture.

When RENEWING *your passport, there should be no forms to fill, other than for tax/fee purposes. Only things required to renew should be: **1.* Expired Copy of the passport, 2. Money/Fee, 3. Valid Address and 4. Proof for that valid address, such as your driver license or utility bill.

Exactly! Mines arrived within like 2-3 weeks also.

American Visy ky bary main tu aysa nahi sochty:D Ju woh kehty hain chup chap bhyj dyty hain.Magar yar aik bat hy woh chapyr bhi martyu hain tu bary piyar sy. Jab phone karto ya e-mail kabhi nahi kehty web site pr ja kr dykh lo her cheez wahan hy magar sab tafseel sy btain gy. PK Ambassy:omg: Go to our website. Bhai wahan ja kr hi ain hain ap ky pass:D

I'm still waiting for 1 of our CNIC's; It's been 17 months since the application!!! Mushkil sai jhagra kar kai family members kai NICOP card(s) finally were dispatched and now ik hor rhaphar.