stupid clothes

My MIL to be had been insisting that I choose my own jora for the walima, she literally said “beta, jo bhi tum ko pasand hai, hum woh hi tumharay liye banay gay”
So I chose a jora, I tried to keep the price quite low so I’m getting it made in pak, the kadai etc. So my mum showed it to my MIL -to be when she went to pak this time. I called her the other day and I was talking to her, and she said that the cost will be around this much blah blah and that of course they will make it, they aren’t worried about the price. Basically she kept going on and on about the price. To me it doesn’t seem very dear, it only comes up to about £360-370. I’m feeling a little upset about it, I don’t want her to worry about the price issue,I also know she won’t want me to pay for my own walima suit.
And I know I’m being a brat, but I really like that suit and i don’t want to change it.
How can I possibly offer to pay for the suit without making her feel bad about it?

Re: stupid clothes

Maybe u can talk to the designer n ask her to adjust with yr mother in law and that u wl pay her the extra money.

what is their price range, have the designer reduce the kaam, it will lower the price.

i can see how what zareen said would work but if your hubby's dear mother finds out that you paid for half of the walima outfit without telling her about it, do you think she'll be sensitive to that and would feel insulted or angry that you paid for it even when she said that she would pay for it in full.

desi elders tend to be very sensitive individuals. izzat and how they are seen is very important to them.

couldn't you get a friend or family member that is incredible at bargaining to get the designer to lower the price. some of those desi aunties are just so good at that.

or you could get a tailor to make a copy of the same exact walima outfit at a much much lower price. you can hardly tell the difference.

Your MIL is cheap. Why offer if you're not going to cough up the cash? Especially considering that's a measly price for a jora compared what some girls spend here.

^ Sums it up.

I'm proud of you for considering your mother in law's "worry" and trying to help and good for you for choosing what you like.

This is no help to your problem, but I just wanted to give you a shaa-baash for not being a bride-zilla and bashing on your mother-in-law!

It’s already a copy that I’m getting made (the original has about a million swarovski crystals in it :wub: ), plus I’ve already thought of getting it done with a bit lighter kaam and a few changes here and there according to my taste, so it’ll look fairly different and it’ll probably go down to about £300. Yeah, I’ll talk to my aunt about it, since she’s sorting out the whole thing with my MIL… but she has one big mouth!
Thanks for your advice guys :slight_smile: