Student Biryani?

What the heck is it?! Is it a Biryani aimed at students?!!??

Am I right in thinking that the actual Biryani is called ‘Student Biryani’? I was looking for places to possibly try whilst in Karachi and my search came up with Student Biryani.

Has anyone tried it? Is it similar to any other Biryanis? What’s so special about it?

My OH says it’s heavily laddened in oil/fats :daaghu2:

If anyone has a recipe for a similar Biryani would you mind posting it?

Thank you.x

its a small restaurant now in lhr..there biryani is good..mostly students go there for lunch its near nca on the mall

Re: Student Biryani?

its all about Gud will nothing special about it.

it is one of the best biryanis I have ever had… just wish it wasn’t soo spicy…

Good video. They can become an international chain if they adopt appropriate management and marketing ways!

Oh my God , you sent me on a journey down the memory lane.

It was a jughi/straw restaurant/dhaba in Karchi's Jut Lines area , at one point of time you could not drive down there , you had to park your car somewhere outside of that area and walk there to enjoy that biryani sitting down on a charpai.
The craving of desi folks for lots of mirch masala made his biryani a success and a sensation.
People who worked in offices around the area would send their office boys to go and buy his biryani and zarda for lunch. Yes his biryani has so much mirch/zing that you needed zarda to top off your stomach with that zarda.

His biryani became such a sensation during 70's and 80's that people will go to his restaurant and buy the whole degh of biryani and serve it off of a Suzuki pickup truck on various street corners around Karachi.

Then because of good luck of this guy that ZAB's administration decided to re-develop the area called Jet Lines and remove the jhuggies/straw homes with a housing project and his restaurant became accessible for drive in dining.

After that I would go with friends and family , in my car and would enjoy drive in dining sitting in our own car.

He named his restaurant , Student Restaurant for what kind of reason , I do not know , next time I visit him , I will ask him.

The legend has it then when in 1975 or around that time ZAB's administration was auctioning the land adjacent to his restaurant his bid was the highest at one crore of rupess which was hell of a lot of money in those days. This land became available after the re-development/re-alignment of Lines area.

The income tax department and the excise department sent notifications to this guy to pay income tax and excise tax for previous years because of this bid of his.

I cannot guarantee the authenticity of this story I just heard it from mouth of the masses.
About his biryani , I loved it and had it for lunch many times during a work week. Yes it is laden with lots of oil and tons of mirch masala but that is what most desi folks like and love to eat.
This biryani is called , Bombay biryani also. It has potatoes and layers of masala in between layers of rice. They do not mix that malsala and rice and when they serve it in a plate you mix it yourself.

I hope this research paper of mine from my memory answers most of your questions.

nice history..

They've opened a lot of sit down resturant style location all over karachi. You don't have to worry about dabba's anymore. They have a branch all over so you also don't have to go to that area Mirch is talking about.

Yes their biryani is good. Karachi does have other good places for biryani.

i find their biryani too spicy. but they do good kheer!!

Student biryani used be soooo awesome when it was a small dhaba,ab tau tauba... it gives me heartburn, though I still HAVE to eat it at least once when I am visiting Karachi :D

Student biryani sounds like some weird experimental concoction that has ketchup and mayo and ramen noodles and baked beans and eggs and burnt rice in it....

If you do not know about something why you have to pitch in your two cents. :mad2:
It is heavenly food , please do not do its besty by comparing it with all the junk you like to concoct into an experimental dish. I am sure Allah mian will make this guy chief chef of that part of Jannat where I will live. Inshallah and he will make that delicious biryani 5 times a day. Ameen.

Student Biryani is yummy even if it is spicy!!!!

when i was in Pakistan i had it almost every week.

I saw their branch in Lahore at garden town too, haven't tried it yet. I had 'Express Biryan'i once not the student biryani. I have heard alot about it.

The junk I like to concoct?! I think every living student tried to concoct something of the sort :hehe:

Khair…i shall try this famous biryani out next time i’m in the motherland…sounds interesting…:hmmm:

I had 'Student Biryani' few years ago while visiting Karachi, it was nothing special. Perhaps it wasn't cooked so well that day....?

I have heard rav reviews about the original recipe. Thanks for the recipe automne77

**Many ppl don’t like student biryani …
but for me … its something closer to Man-o-salwa… :yummy:

I have never tasted the student biryani...though there are some Thehla Biryanis too...the meat is mostly substituted by aloos...Rs 30 was the price per plate... :)

I prefer Asghar Bawarchi though...pretty cool one...even some other people have opened kitchens on his name...lol

Well! Biryani is at its best when it is made from "kalay ka gosht". This is only available in old parts of Karachi.