I usually buy salmon from costco or then this meat wholesaler who cater to a lot of restaurants in our area. Problem is that it smells real strong, the fish oil capsule sort of smell which not only stinks up the whole house but also makes the fish quite inedible. What am I doing wrong or not doing?
Re: Stinky Salmon
it's off, fish shouldn't smell bad.. i get salmon from costco and it doesn't stink at all!!
I don't like salmon or let me say I have started to dislike salmon for the very same reason. So my parents started to bring the white meat fish ( the color of the raw fish is whitish so I just call it white meat fish).... i guess it is either talpia(spell?) or mahi mahi....
anyhow my mom used to wash salmon with vinegar, flour, and salt (i guess) to get rid of the smell.
shaan masalay.....try using lahori fish masala or other fish masalay......it'll kill all sorf of smell.......i tried it last time.....and it worked
hell our desi masalay are so strong tha it can wake up a dead man.....why wouldnt it kill a tiny fish smell.......
as lusi said use flour salt etc,
but salmon shouldn't smell bad, fresh one that is :D
i some times end up getting salmon that smells bad.....
lots of lemon juice helps.
i think someone told me once that when cooking fish you should light up a candle in the house since it will help get rid of the bad smell.
ive also ended up getting salmon (and halibut) that stank while being cooked and it also turned out that it tasted bad as well. maybe because it isnt fresh.
If its fresh it shudnt smell like that.
We always get it from sams club. I usually rub basen on it and then leave it in lemon juice, salt and black peper. It does not stink. Basen is suppose to take away the smell.
Hmmm, I dunno how costco could be selling bad salmon, eve nthe wholesale place, they supply to a LOT of restaurants (i once saw their vendor list) and I doubt they could serve bad fish.
Using desi masalas with salmon is a no no. getting rid of the smell in the house is a problem too but worse is having to eat it. Mum was told to use garlic to get rid of the smell but i haven't noticed a major difference. maybe we'll try the vinegar and flour plus salt. or maybe i'll change the sort of salmon i buy, maybe the packaged fillets this time.
thanks guys.
add lemon juice and salt to the fish leave forhour and then wash it. adding garlic willhelp too.
For getting rid of smell in Salmom use:
***Tarragon… it is an herb … dried leaf or fresh along with cumin and laal mirch. ***
***baked is best…
***Smoked is even better..
***All Other Fishees Stink:( . ***
***Not Salmom…:halo: ***
Don't be cheap and spend a little extra at Whole Foods and buy fresh water salmon. Paisa bhi nahee kharachna aur boo bhee nahee soonghnee.
Anytime fish smells "fishy" it's a sign that it's old. Not necessarily rotten or inedible, but that it wasn't caught that day.
Don't be cheap and spend a little extra at Whole Foods and buy fresh water salmon. Paisa bhi nahee kharachna aur boo bhee nahee soonghnee.
Femme, perhaps ur salmon has been attacked by a certain "fungi"