Steve Waugh's Arrogance

The incident is shocking – but hardly surprising.

It is common knowledge that Australian cricketers are not exactly known for their reticence – on the contrary, they have quick, cutting tongues and a certain contempt for the opposition.

By way of extenuation, the best you could say is that this business of shooting from the lip is not confined to the Aussies – if that is any consolation.

But even by the standards of what has become acceptable from a cricketer, Steve Waugh’s performance today, at the end of his team’s eight wicket win over South Africa at the Sydney Cricket Ground was a stunner.

At the post-match press conference, journalists were quizzing Protean skipper Shaun Pollock about the fate of Steve Elworthy, who had been felled by a vicious bouncer from Glenn McGrath during the South African innings.

“He has gone to hospital and had the first scan (a CaT scan to determine internal head injuries) and it’s come back clear…” Pollock responded.

At which Waugh, seated alongside, turned with a smile to Australian Cricket Board media manager Brian Murgatroyd and in a stage whisper, said, “I bet you they didn’t find a brain either.”

Firstly, to speak when your opposing captain is answering questions smacks of a certain lack of respect – unlooked for, and unwelcome, in Steve Waugh who makes such a fuss about the traditions of the game.

But what is worse is the comment itself. A fellow cricketer takes the kind of blow on the head that can cripple, even kill – to come up with such a facetious remark when that player’s well-being is being discussed argues insensitivity of the highest order, coupled with arrogance.

Equally arrogant was his behaviour when it came to his own turn to answer questions: “You can write what you want, mate,” the Australian captain reportedly said, before walking off

AK

well i have different views about this issue
yes australians are arrogant. and they deserve to be arrogant.
arrogance comes with sucess and australians got no one to match them in some years
so australians deserve to be arrogant iam it really amazes me to find arrogance among some of the indian cricketers who appart from sachin tendulkar are overrated cricketers esp saurav ganguli
most of them are "na shakal ke "na akal ke"

Kabir,

bahut taklif di hai lagta hai Indians ne..
ama yaar abhi Steve ki baat ho rahi hai..keep ur discussion there.
and there is no doubt that he is very arrogant and specially he looks down very badly at teams of subcontinent.

Jiyo Aur Jeene Do!!!

Originally posted by kabir:
yes australians are arrogant. and they deserve to be arrogant.

Kabir, that is the most bullish attitude one can have. Just because you are better than everyone doesn't give you the right to kick/abusr/make fun of them.

arrogance comes with sucess and australians got no one to match them in some years

Probably that's what comes to you and steve waugh, it doesn't come to everyone, If you have ever heard Vishwanathan Anand, you will know that arrogance doesn't comes with success.
and awwwe so much for their the success, even Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe win at home. Didn't we see those Kangaroos playing in India and Sri Lanka ?

it really amazes me to find arrogance among some of the indian cricketers who appart from sachin tendulkar are overrated cricketers esp saurav ganguli

You will never know, the Joy of beating the 'SO Called' World Champions. Probably Ganguly and Team took some clue from them. It really amuses me to see how much you hate India and Indians.

most of them are "na shakal ke "na akal ke"

Na Shakal Ke ? Hahahaha - Dont tell me you are attracted to some of the Australian Players just because they are 'Acchi Shakal Ke'
Na Akal Ke ? Ganguly and heas team enough akal in beating the world champions and dont need any certificate from you.

AK

[This message has been edited by Asif_k (edited January 22, 2002).]

The Game Gives An Advice:

*That was taken from rediff.com. Atleast credit the source when you copy and paste,*shmuck*.People,That Is All.*

The People's Van is going to get you,little *shmucks,It is going to get you.*

Liked it GAME...ha ha ha

Jiyo Aur Jeene Do!!!