Stem Cell Research: wots the hooplah about?

wots the issue, will somone explain with all this pro/anit stem cell research thingamajiggy…after having seen ppl with parkinsons it took me ..exactly…000001 of a second to make my mind up…research is needed to help those who suffer from this monstrous disease…so wot is all the fuss about???

• lau jee ker lau gal *

Hello, First you seem to be very passionate about the topis, second are you familiar with some thing called "ethics & morality" which is the biggest barrier to start stem cell research.

Salim bewafa nahi tha

Where were you ,as if i know where you are now!

Are you in Islamabad ,or you just came from Islama bad ,or iam hallucinating ?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pagal.gif

We missed you .Summer is almost gone.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rotato.gif

Rahe baat stem cell ke .Govt of usa decries it b/c of possible use of it to clone human ,which some European ppl. are intending to do anywayze.

theere are medical benefit ,but you know some bad villain

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

like mogambo ,always slip in with ‘Good cause, like medical cure’ & then exploit it for greater profit commercially.
Just think of Pharmaceuticals lsd,Oxycotin,even XTC are drugs made for “alleviating suffering” but you see it being used at large profit for ABUSE !

AS muslims we can support medical use but condemn cloning ,surrogate mother ,designer baby ,sperm banks & cloning etc, because god created human to be human & not lead themselves in unknown path lest we may all be doomed with no point of return.

WKAS Welcome back

barque(bijli) yoon akadti hai apne karname pe ke
jaise phir naya hum aashiyaan bana nahi sakte

Originally posted by isloo_ki_anarkali:
**wots the issue, will somone explain with all this pro/anit stem cell research thingamajiggy...after having seen ppl with parkinsons it took me ..exactly...000001 of a second to make my mind up...research is needed to help those who suffer from this monstrous disease....so wot is all the fuss about??????

Stem cells are the cells present in the fetus that are capable of taking the form of any specialized cell.

The only problem is that you need aborted fetuses to get stem cells.

I will try to present the ethical dillema of society in regards to stem cell research.

Some back ground:

1. In modern society, Human Life meaning a human being is considered very precious and needs to be taken care of in every possible manner. So taking care of pain and suffering, diseases etc is considered good.

2. By the same logic since human life is so important, it is given some fundamental rights. e.g. right of survival, not be enslaved etc. So murder, manslaughter, physical violence are all consider crimes against the state. Because, its the state's responsibility to protect each individual.

Key Issues:

1. With the above basic tenets of society, stem cell research raises a basic question.

" When does a human being acquire the rights of survival and gets the protection of the state?"

1. Some believe and insist that as soon as a sperm and egg of humans meet(fertilization takes place) its a potential human being. So it must be protected with the full power of the state. So abortion is murder.

2. Others believe that after a ferilized egg is implanted in the womb, and three months later it becomes a human being. So abortion is Ok.

Now we can deal with the question of Stem cell research.

Immediately after fertilization, there is a single human cell, which starts dividing and growing. These cells in the beginning can become hearts, lungs , skin , bones etc , all the different kinds of cells in the human body. As the cells grow in number they start takeing the shape of different parts of the body. This process is called differentiation.

Briefly a stem cell can grow into any kind of cell. Where as a differentiated cell can only be one kind. e.g. a heart cell cannot become a lung cell and vice versa. So to repair a heart, we need a heart cell and to repair a lung we need a lung cell. So using stem cells we can potentially cure any disease.

Now the ethical dilemma ...

If human life begins at conception, then killing the fertilized egg and taking the stem cells amounts to murder. Society does not allow any one to kill a human being to harvest the organs for other peoples benefit. (Recently Human rights groups raised a lot of noise, because the Chinese are allegedly taking the organs of criminals that they execute)

One of the basic principles of modern society is "The end should never justify the means" So just because the end result is good , doesn't give us a license to kill or use methods that are prohibited by themselves.

So its up to you. How you feel about this matter. I have left religion out all together.

To put President Bushs latest decision in perpective:

He has said that the US government will only support research with the stem cells that have been already been harvested from embryos and are currently growing in labs. No new destruction of embryos will be allowed. This only means that the government will not fund research with stems cells created after 9th August 2001.

Whether the violators will be prosecuted as criminals is yet to be determined, because there are no laws to that effect. The Supreme Court so far has supportd abortion up to three months. So it seems that stem cell research will take place privately.

The question of "Life begins at conception" is still being debated.

[This message has been edited by Tanhaa (edited August 12, 2001).]

About the issue on stem cells, i dontthink i could leave religion out and still have a clear opinion on it, so I have to indulge in religion, I know God prohibits all this abortion shutuff...and I agree, nobody messes in Gods business.......but wot about the fetuses that are lying around in fertility clinics, almost inevitably destined down the toilet? what about them? if you ask me, its like recycling, using discarded material to make something useful, OFCOURSE ABORTING FETUSES FOR STEM CELL RESEARCH IS A BIG NONO, yet using the already discarded ones,, wots wrong with that?
And I agree...commercial exploitation is like a synonym for business conducted in amreeka..i mean some sleaze buckets even sell God..you re right Azadu, business ethics are a big problem when such sensitive products are involved, but as one long amreeki residen tdesi once told me, these ppl would sell there mother and not think twics, yeh tau phir dawai hai......

thanx AM--been busy dude...am still in boston, my best half still in isloo..bet you re still confused....

• lau jee ker lau gal *

"better half is still in Islo " that means Salim Bewafa Nahi Tha

If you are in Boston then ,kise na kisse Grand Round meine mulaqat hohe jayege .

Agar ek resident se baat hue to dosre se bhi hojayege .

Its a small world Islo/Kahan Islo meine Neighbour the HUM..Phir ek jagah Boston meine takra gaye

I am against cloning ,Abortion ,etc ,but support stem cell research from ovum,fertilized for invitero fertilization.I know many ppl. with Parkinsonism,juvenile Diabetes,Spinal cord injury who are incurable otherwise.

I agree vigilence against unscrupulous businessmen is essentiall ,just as adulterer of medicine & food,black marketeer profiting fromhuman misery & unscrupulos doctors performing abortions,writing narcotics unnecessarily,& bilking health care system with fraud .

barque(bijli) yoon akadti hai apne karname pe ke
jaise phir naya hum aashiyaan bana nahi sakte