Stay home dads ~

**Mr. Mom Era: Stay-at-home dads doubled over last decade
**](http://www.foxnews.com/us/2012/06/17/mr-mom-era-stay-at-home-dads-doubled-over-last-decade/#ixzz1y3S2zYVl)

Yes this is the title of an article on foxnews.com . Makes me wonder how quickly and seamlessly women and men are switching their roles . Nothing wrong with it as long as men are not pushed for start having babies :smiley:

But anyways , in desi families we still like to play the traditional roles of husband and wife , where husband goes to work and women stays at home and take care of it . Being a man , I feel responsible for financially taking care of my family , but I wonder how the up coming wives of this society feel about going to work everyday and let their spouse stay at home and take care of kids and cook dinners . Will you be ok with this idea of ‘‘Your Man’’ staying at home ?

Re: Stay home dads ~

My man did it for two months when I had to go Pakistan to be with my ailing Papa. He took all his accumulated vacation time to stay home with our boys who were 4yrs old and 2 yrs (twins!) at the time. And when I got back, and asked my 4 yr old (privately!) how he managed, my child responded with “it’s not that hard Mama, Papa says you just have to be organized!” :vivo:

My situation was just temporary I know, but in our house, I don’t think the roles would ever reverse to where I was the sole financial provider and he stayed home fill time. We all love to eat good food too much. And a person can only survive on andaa-kheema with double roti for so long (the only thing my baniya knows how to cook).

I did it for couple of years and I'd do it again if I get a chance. Its and experience not to be missed. Only thing is that I was able to run my business at home

I would not like that as ´´jis ka kam usi ko sajhy´´ thats a proverb,but in case there is some problem or I need his help then not bad either

For all the professional , making good money ladies out there , What if you'll know before marriage that he'll stay home ? will you accept that proposal ?

kaash mujhe koii kamaaoo biwi mil jaaye to maiN aaraam se ghar baiTh ke nivaale toRuuN! :cb:

why are men always martyrs in desi homes? :hmmm: :smiley:

Had a loose offer as such and it was a turn off, so no.

What's wrong with sharing responsibilities? Don't we do that with roommate situations?

I would never do that I think. I cannot put a financial burden on my wife to take care of family. That is too much of stress. I would rather have her go shopping without worrying about how much she can sound than to budget every penny.

Absolutely not. Not because I wouldn’t want to provide for our family, but if he is able to, why can’t both of is bring home the bread?

Desi or not… I, personally, can’t ever imagine being a stay-at-home-mom. Those days are long gone! There are only so many book I can read, or dramas I can watch. It gets boring REALLY fast. I assume the same would go for guys… At least I hope :cb:

That's it? What about the cooking, the scouring, the washing and mending of clothes, the vacuuming of the hearth? :p

:hayaa:

no its too much pressure and hard work .. commuting to and fro also is energy expenditure and then when u work outside u also have to use brain energy .. its easier to stay home .. eight hours straight workign hard 5 days a week .. god no !

I wouldn't mind but he would go insane doing mundane monotonous house chores. He loves his work.

tusi tay gr8 o G:D

Hai! Milen koi aisi kamoa poot begum aur me bhi ghar beth kar kapray banaon.

I know, I know. Tell me something new.

don't know if working from home dads can be categorized as such, but I have seen many people especially in IT techs or IT Managerial levels who work from home full time and the reason is kids.

aur bachon k sir se jooyen nikaaloon :D

These kind of statements make the whole thing a big turn off.