I had never been to extreme dry cold wheather. Within last one week I felt twice that I had an electric shock but I was not pretty sure. But today when I touched around the door of a hotel room and got a powerful shock then I understood that it was the shock of static electricity. Am I right that the dry cold whether enhances and contributes to static electricity more profoundly?
Re: Static Electricity
I don’t know about that, but I’ve been suffering from that for a long time now. Whenever I’ve walked some time and I touch the knob of a door a shock occurs. What’s funny is that when ur electrically charged, you should touch someone else: that person will feel a shock as well!
:shocking:
argh true true! my friend has this jacket (or maybe its my coat?!) and everytime i bump into her or my hand touches her jacket i get a shock and then my stupid hair stand up (my hair is really long so imagine how they look when they stand straight up in the air due to static) uffff!
Yea there cud be a correlation...happens to me too in colder weather, sometimes.
I used to drive a 1987 Toyota Corolla LE (luxury edition :p ). I would get an electric shock from its door everyday. You get shocks from most older cars because theyre not properly grounded. Most newer cars have fixed this problem and i very rarely get zapped now.
Often times you will see a little metallic strip behind the body of the car hanging down to touch the ground. That strip is used to discharge the body of the car which becomes negatively charged after a long trip.
Same happens with airplanes. Because they fly in such extreme conditions, a lot of the positively charged particles from the airplane's body get blown away off the body. After the flight, air planes have to be grounded and all negative charge is to be neutralized before they are refueled. If theyre not properly grounded, a spark can very likely cause a fire in the fuel line.
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
If that (the other) shocked person dies, let’s say (though it will be the rarest case), how court will react?
Often times you will see a little metallic strip behind the body of the car hanging down to touch the ground. That strip is used to discharge the body of the car which becomes negatively charged after a long trip.
Same happens with airplanes. Because they fly in such extreme conditions, a lot of the positively charged particles from the airplane's body get blown away off the body. After the flight, air planes have to be grounded and all negative charge is to be neutralized before they are refueled. If theyre not properly grounded, a spark can very likely cause a fire in the fuel line.
Sincerely, Captain Lota
Extremely informative. Thanks a lot
I am not a legal expert but with my little knowledge of common law I feel that the injured party can sue the manufacturer, designer and seller under the Tort Law and the court will consider it as an unsafe design and might grant suitable compensation to the affected party. But the victim's relative must prove that the death occured due to static electricity.
Well, I hope I don’t carry 220 V with me. I think any electric charge is so small that it won’t cause any harm at all
I too have this problem. So before touching anything metalic i touch the wall, to discharge my self. So basicaly I earth my self. this way i get rid of electricity.
Vinesh bhai you are too electrifying!
and shocking!
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
^ dont take the word " electricity" literally lotta bhai..:).
Electricity is electricity, be it 1 nanowatt or 1 gigawatt.
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
Actually, the potential difference (voltage) associated with static electricity is way higher than your typical 220 volts. Walking across a carpet, you could pick up voltages as high as 10,000 volts.
^ Still its not fatal because the amperage is in the order of milli something while the current from an electrical outlet can get around 1 Amp or higher, which is enough to kill someone.
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
that is because V = IR. R in the case of static electricity is much higher than the R in a wire. Yes, you are right. 1-2 amps are considered fatal.
Wow, finally I have found an Electrical Engineer in this forum. Kya Mujhse Dosti Karogi?