Stars and Charity

Just saw Shezad Roy being interviewed on ARY Digital - he’s in Sharjah and was watching the final. Again there was a lot of talk of something or other he’s doing for charity - I only caught the end of the interview so I’m not sure what he’s doing exactly.

Anyway, Abrar also mentions his charity work a lot in interviews, and this seems to be something of a trend these days. Do you reckon it’s genuine or is something of a publicity stunt?

I think its genuine.. I think everyone feels for the situation in Pakistan and now they have the influence to do something about it..
Allah inn saab ki madath karay.. and dont forget to buy thier music to support them.

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Anyway, Abrar also mentions his charity work a lot in interviews, and this seems to be something of a trend these days. Do you reckon it's genuine or is something of a publicity stunt?

I believe we have no right to question or doubt the goodwill of anyone behind the fund raising.

We might be right to doubt in some circumstance with conclusive evidence but god forbid if we are wrong and the motives of the other person are genuine and pure then that's one hell of a sin in our account being written by the angel on the left shoulder (yeah buddy, keep on writting J/K.)

I don't think I would buy music because of the charity angle. What if it was crap like Lucky Ali?

Why not just donate directly to a charity instead?

these are sincere people with sincere objectives and aims for the unfortunates. his NGO is mainly for working kids those who sell newspapers and flowers on the streets. they provide them with education between the hours of 3-6 and also give them incentives for performing good in the classes. currently they have 6 schools , 2 each in karachi, lahore and pindi. many other NGOs are helping him and are providing much needed funds to keep on doing the nice work :-)

PS : you people don't do anything on your own but are verrrry fast in questioning the aims of others. shame on all of you.

:rotfl: very good point…

THey get more popularity than charity. Late Princess Diana was no doubt the undisputed drama queen in the business of charities! Woh the overwhelming publicity she recieved was crazy.

*Originally posted by EntityParadigm: *
these are sincere people with sincere objectives and aims for the unfortunates. his NGO is mainly for working kids those who sell newspapers and flowers on the streets. they provide them with education between the hours of 3-6 and also give them incentives for performing good in the classes. currently they have 6 schools , 2 each in karachi, lahore and pindi. many other NGOs are helping him and are providing much needed funds to keep on doing the nice work :-)

PS : you people don't do anything on your own but are verrrry fast in questioning the aims of others. shame on all of you.

agar koyi acha kaam karna hey to khamoshi say karna chayey..

I listened to the tail end of that interview too, he mentioned somefin bout children getting paid for giving up work and getting into education, the charity pays them 20 rupees a day

Jawad Ahmed projectalso involving education, as for Abrar he's involved in a hospital project .......I think it's all genuine. I hope others follow.... Even if it is a publicity stunt atleast someone poor will benefit from it.

how could anyone ever doubt Abrar?

On another note, Shehzad Roy's charity's methods were news for me. But hey if they work - it's all good.

Guys and gals, it’s not about doubting anyone’s intentions. I’m just asking for your opinions. And yes, i agree if something good’s coming out of it then that’s great.

Cracking win btw :k:

I dont understand why can't we appreciate a good thing ? Everyone criticized when Imran Khan was making the cancer hospital now we know how great work he did .
Now if singers like Abrar or Shehzad Roy has started doing some thing we must support their cause and not be negative about it cuz har eik ne apna hisab dena hai . Hum ko chaiye ke achi neeyat se contribute karen.

I think one reason they mention it in their interviews may also be to publicize that charity, so people can donate directly to those charities. Its publicity for causes dear to their hearts.

*Originally posted by sherrybaba: *

agar koyi acha kaam karna hey to khamoshi say karna chayey..

aur apke khuwabon mein wahi utray ge iss baray mein ke roy ne aik naik kaam shuru kia hai, tum bhi sath do :-)

daad daine paray ge apke demagh ki, ager hai to :-)

lolz ... we better help all causes practically.