Sri Lankan tour hits its first wave (Mohammad Irshad standing in a very good chance)

Pacer Irshad may be called to camp for Sri Lanka tour

By our correspondent

KARACHI: The national selection committee met in Lahore on Monday to deliberate upon the selection of probables for next month’s tour of Sri Lanka where Pakistan play two Tests and three One-day Internationals (ODIs).

Chief selector Wasim Bari said, after the long meeting, that it had been held basically to deliberate upon the choice of probables and that it was decided to announce them after a few days since the Twenty20 Cup was also underway in Karachi.

But he did indicate that young pacer Mohammad Irshad, in the absence of the injured Shoaib Akhtar and suspended Shabbir Ahmed, stood a very good chance of making the training camp as he had been bowling well in domestic cricket and in the side matches he played against England and India.

Bari also confirmed that all-rounder Shahid Afridi had recovered from his ribcage injury but didn’t elaborate on whether he would play for his regional team, Karachi in the Twenty20 Cup when he was fit.

A PCB source said the selectors had finalised a shortlist of players for the training camp which begins immediately after the Twenty20 ends on March 4. “There are some new faces in the probables’ list but this list can be changed later on,” the source said. The selectors are also said to have consulted Inzamam-ul-Haq during the meeting as coach Bob Woolmer is out of the country on vacations.

The source pointed out that generally most of the players who appeared against England and India selected themselves for the camp with a question mark remaining over the fitness of pacer Umar Gul.

He said others like Salman Butt, Imran Farhat, Mohammad Yousuf, Younis Khan, Inzamam, Faisal Iqbal, Kamran Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Sami, Rana Naved, Mohammad Asif, Danish Kaneria and Gul were obvious choices. “It’ll be interesting to see what the selectors have decided for veteran off-spinner Arshad Khan and whether they retain him for Sri Lanka given the conditions there or opt for one or two youngsters like Mansoor Amjad and Tahir Khan,” the source said.

The selection of the touring squad for Sri Lanka could be the final assignment for Bari and his men as the Ad-hoc Committee, which meets again on March 28, has come close to appointing a new paid selection committee.

Jang

** First-Class Career Bowling (2002/03-2005/06)**

**Balls    Mdns    Runs    Wkts    BB    Ave    5wI    10wM    SRate    Econ**
5294     135     3306    106    6-78   31.18    3    0      49.94     3.74

**One-Day Career Bowling (2002/03-2005/06)

**Balls    Mdns    Runs    Wkts    BB    Ave    4wI    5wI    SRate    Econ**
1319      3     1231      37    4-29    33.27   2    0      35.64     5.59

Is Mohammad Irshad what we have been looking for? Is he the possible candidate to stand toe-to-toe besides the express Shoaib Akhtar in the near future?

On another note, Sami/Kaneria/Arshad…should these three be back in the team, or is the duo of Asif/Rana(?)/Razzaq and Afridi/Malik enough to dominate the fast and spin bowling departments, respectively, for now?

Onto the batting department, my personal feeling right now is to have Faisal Iqbal be inducted into the squad, as he would make for a fairly strong selection, given his brilliant recent performances (as compared to the likes of Imran Farhat).

Re: Sri Lankan tour hits its first wave (Mohammad Irshad standing in a very good chance)

I saw a little bit of Irshad and he didnt look very impressive. But shoaib said a few years ago i remember that he bowls quick and is a good bowler! Lets c!

Re: Sri Lankan tour hits its first wave (Mohammad Irshad standing in a very good chance)

Well the talent hunt that use to catch the eyes of current players in the past, for e.g. Javed spotted Wasim in the nets, Imran Khan spotted Gentle Giant. days are gone.

if he is choosen the only exception to his case is that he has a good height and some speed. he may be not fast as Akther but I think under woolmer it has to be L&L with decent speed rather than some one blows you away with speed, his speed is in the area of 135/6

Re: Sri Lankan tour hits its first wave (Mohammad Irshad standing in a very good chan

oh yea IMO this should be the 16 (touring party) yep I know you guys will say its too early but this seems to me a good 16, As for S. Yousef he is a very good fielder and a promising batsman, and I wont mind giving him a chance.

1) Salman Butt
2) Shahid Yousef
3) Shoaib Malik
4) Mohammad Yousef
5) Inzimam ul Haq *
6) Younis Khan
7) Abdul Razzaq
8) Kamran Akmal %
9) Rana Naveed
10)M. Sami
11)M. Asif
12)Shahid Afridi
13)Danish Kaneria
14) Faisal Iqbal
15) M. Irshad
16) Tahir Khan.

Reserve: I. Farhat, Asim Kamal, Mansoor Amjad

Re: Sri Lankan tour hits its first wave (Mohammad Irshad standing in a very good chan

Seems like a pretty good combination of players. Any other domestic talents, besides Shahid Yousuf, who are knocking on the doors of selectors? Shahid Nazir, for one?

^^ I dont think so, when you say domestic talent Yes he is knocking for a while but he has been in the team and never get a chance. so I cannot say he will be selected. and if you notice the selection policy you just need 4 fast bowlers thats it
one spot will be taken by M. Asif, the 3rd spot automatically goes to A. Razzaq and the 2nd spot tussle will go on b/w M. Irshad/ Rana/ Sami.

I choose Tahir Khan coz he and M. amjad are more like under study from u-19 to A teams and domestic circuit, but after noticing the comments in 20/20 that most of the off-spinners have bad :smack2: actions makes me wonder how good Tahir Khan will be.

I think our bowling department should look like this:

Spinners:
Mohammed Sami, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Kaneria

Pacers:
Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Rana Naved, Umar Gul (he had a bad hip, but one score card showed him playing ABN AMRO Twenty20), Mohammad Asif and Irshad.

Yes, Sami should give up pace bowling, he should try spinning for a change to see if he can be effective. Shahid Afridi can take up as pace bowling as pitch demands, he bowled like pacer in 2nd Test 2nd inning against India.

:hehe: ouch :smiley:

how old is this guy Irshad?

PD bhai ,Chacha Arshad say tu mix nahin kar rhay hain:D

Well this guy is 22, check out his profile
http://www.pcboard.com.pk/Archive/Players/45/45700/45700.html

Pyarey Gup shup bhaiyyo,
Salam u Alaikum.
I think it's not a bad idea to introduce Mohammad Irshad knowing the fact that Sami isn't balling his heart out. I don't know how old M. Irshad is but giving him a chance along with Asif, Rana and A Razzaq and Gul combination won't be bad at all. I am not sure if we need to employ a spinner in ODIs in SL. To me, the spinner should be reserved for the tests in SL.

I think it be great if Afridi makes a comeback and Butt can learn to refrain from his "edging" practice during the showdown on the ground. I think Sami should be given rest till the Eng showdown so he can learn back his tricks.

I think we should employ Rana and Asif as the opening balling pair and then use Abdur Razzaq, M. Irshad and Gul combined. But that leaves to no variety so it's going to be only 4 fast(medium) bowlers along with Afridi and Malik and that's the best option Pak can take in my view.

I am not sure that why we keep putting in Farhat when we use him only for one or two games. This is really bad practice. If we take Imran Farhat on the SL tour, we should use him in all the ODIs and tests as the opener and not the water guy. It's really demeaning that we use him sometimes as supersub and sometimes when we are in trouble. Why not give him the full series and see what he got for us. Don't you guys agree???
Captain 1, it's funny that you suggest Sami to try spin rather than fast. I like the idea.. (LOLzzz)
Aright, gotta go,
Umer

Walikum Assalam. :slight_smile:

Umer Bhai, I think you are mixing yourself with the pacer Umar Gul. The latter is unfit for the time being. On the other hand, me thinks you are in perfectly good shape. :smiley:

Regarding your post, my personal preference would be to play Faisal Iqbal, as I proposed earlier. Even though Imran Farhat has a tendency to play aggressively when he gets going in his complete form full-circle, Faisal Iqbal is a much better prospect in comparison (at least in hindsight), especially after experiencing his batting techniques in the Twenty/20 Cup and his recent century against India.

Thank you khan Sahib…

well the guy is only 22 and his first class cricket record is not that bad…32 matches and 106 wickets…

Media Release - 1 March 2006
Conditioning Camp
On the recommendation of the National Selection Committee, PCB has announced the names of players selected for the conditioning camp to be held at Lahore from 8 March, 2006 in preparation for the Pakistan Tour of Sri Lanka 2006. The names of players selected for the camp are as follows:

1. Inzamam-ul-Haq
  2. Younis Khan
  3. Salman Butt
  4. Imran Farhat
  5. Mohammad Yousaf
  6. Shoaib Malik
  7. Faisal Iqbal
  8. Abdul Razzaq
  9. Shahid Afridi
  10. Kamran Akmal
  11. Danish Kaneria
  12. Mohammad Asif
  13. Umar Gul
  14. Naved-ul-Hasan
  15. Mohammad Sami
  16. Iftikhar Anjum
  17. Bazid Khan
  18. Rafatullah Mohmand
  19. Mohammad Irshad
  20. Abdur Rahman
  21. Tahir Khan
  22. Sarfraz Ahmad
  23. Arshad Khan
  24. Asim Kamal

The final squads for the Tests and ODIs in Sri Lanka will be decided on 10 March, 2006.
The following three members of the Under-19 Team which won the Under-19 World Cup in Sri Lanka are being invited to join the training camp:

1. Anwer Ali
  2. Akhtar Ayub
  3. Jamshed Ahmed

Shoaib Akhtar is not available for this tour because of his knee injury.
PCb Media Department

(Article: Copyright © 2006 Pakistan Cricket Board)

http://www.pcb.com.pk/Pakistan/Articles/4/4010.html

now thats an encouraging news for the U-19 Squad, and I think # 22 Sarfaraz Ahmed was the W-K Captain of U-19 right?

good to see Bazid called back but will he get a chance (consistent one).
I think Rafatullah Mohmand will make the cut. and no Shahid Yousef :o

According to cricinfo Sarfaraz Ahmed is a fast bowler :smack2:

Not surprising, considering they hired Mushtaq Ahmed, of all people, as a pace-department consultant.

:stuck_out_tongue:

Bhatija Sami in the camp? Taaya Arshad? :mad:

:frusty2:

nah Dhobi bhai, they hired Mushtaq Ahmed as bowling consultant, considering the bowling spinners were (Malik and Afridi in ODI’s) and Dani n test well I think you got it right :D, didnt you see Afridi bowling quite often at 120/k’s ki speed per :smiley:

well Irshad is good dont compare him with Sami yaar, though if you look at economy column well once again you are right :smack2:

Taking every possible opportunity, I’d say. :smiley:

We don’t have [COLOR=darkgreen]dozens of Akhtars, who are not being availed of, lying around in our backyard, you know. No cricketing sense either. :smiley:

I have watch few overs every day of 20/20.

I saw Irshad and Anwar Ali bowling yesterday. Irshad perhaps still needs lot of hard work. Anwar Ali impressed me the way he bowled yorkers.