Re: Sri Lanka VS Pakistan 26th March @ Colombo
Pak 38-3 trail by 147 runs.
38/3 gud start ![]()
Yes they have been impatient, but you can hardly blame them. Farhat and Butt have got a fair run but neither of them appear to be learning from their mistakes, at the Test level or the ODI’s. An odd century and 50 run stand here or there is not good enough at this level.
Having said that, either you work with what you have got (Butt and Farhat) or you grow some balls and try out some new players. What the worst that will happen, we will be 10-3 again? But for that we need the selectors to do their job.
If we hadn’t found Mohammad Asif and Gul wasn’t fit, would we start turning to Afridi to bowl seam up and open the bowling for us? Malik is not the answer.
59-3
121/3
Good, settling down......
At close of play Pakistan were 124/4
Farhat does it again. I'd rather see a hard fought 30 odd rather than a carefree 60odd and then throwing his wicket away just before close of play. He was lucky on a few occassions during his innings where he spooned the ball in no man's land. His dismissal was a replay of his Karachi dismissal.
Iqbal did the same but he can get some slack since it's only his second game after his comeback.
I think we all know that this is a bowling wicket
ittttta saara paani kahan gaya Stadium ka?
aur game bhee ho gaya 2nd day ka ![]()
Anyways, good bowling by Pakistan and continuing on batting performance from where they had left, atleast Farhat showed “some” temprament enough to equal the highest score from the opponent team. I hope Inzi can play a longer inning with Razzaq and Akmal reaching somewhare around 300.
Match kee highlights Khan Ji? :) I hope we get to see the highlights. Thanks in advance
Please view the Cricket Library thread in regards to any highlights for on-going series and/or contributions by various members. ![]()
Thanks Dhobi bhai… aap nay GS mai Phd kee hai kia?
PhD kee nahi hay, phd ho gaya hay bechara :D
It is not a bowling wicket, has flattened out considerably since the morning session. All of Pakistan's dismissals were self inflicted.
Another tidbit from Cricinfo on Inzi's captaincy:
The afternoon wore on, the pitch eased up, as did Pakistan and Inzamam, allowing the game to gently begin a drift away from Pakistan. Instead of bringing in Asif after lunch as the situation demanded, he persisted with a tired Gul and a flat Razzaq. Time and runs ticked by and the more the game waited for Asif, the more it seemed only he would take a wicket. Sure enough, when he came back, over two hours after his last spell, he struck off his fifth ball back, inducing Maharoof into cross-batted rashness. The decision from Inzamam was two hours too late though the wicket sparked the collapse of the tail, with Danish Kaneria cheekily picking up three wickets, including that of Dilshan for a heroic 69. 185 was more than Sri Lanka could have hoped for, but eventually looked a lot less than they would have aimed for.
Another tidbit from Cricinfo on Inzi's captaincy:
The afternoon wore on, the pitch eased up, as did Pakistan and Inzamam, allowing the game to gently begin a drift away from Pakistan. Instead of bringing in Asif after lunch as the situation demanded, he persisted with a tired Gul and a flat Razzaq. Time and runs ticked by and the more the game waited for Asif, the more it seemed only he would take a wicket. Sure enough, when he came back, over two hours after his last spell, he struck off his fifth ball back, inducing Maharoof into cross-batted rashness. The decision from Inzamam was two hours too late though the wicket sparked the collapse of the tail, with Danish Kaneria cheekily picking up three wickets, including that of Dilshan for a heroic 69. 185 was more than Sri Lanka could have hoped for, but eventually looked a lot less than they would have aimed for.
I think all of us except Inzi see what needs to be done - at 32 for 5... who would have thought that the tail can prolong the proceedings by a 150 runs!!!
It would be very hard to believe that with that of a mindset, we will most likely enter the World Cup and at particular junctions when the attacking mind of a team's captain will matter the most out of any decisions combined, the opportunity will likely to be overlooked and passed on to the opposition on a silver platter.
Of course, a thin wire of hopes and dreams could be fastened as a seatbelt, but nonetheless, the dynamics of Pakistan cricket has to change, and it starts at the captain Inzamam (Team captain, and not the batsman).
yar i believe it will change after WC2007 only (when he retires ) :(
The thing is when our openers get out of form, they are not stuck to. Butt scored well against England curbing himself, he didnt take that to another level but team management hastily recalled Shoaib Malik who surprisingly was persisted with despite his failures and he stilll got a chance. To me the ideal combination for our test openers are Butt-Farhat or Butt-Hameed.
Farhat once again pressed the self-destruction button but he scored runs and that needs to be appreciated. I dont know how long is he going to be persisted with this time around but If i were to pick a bone with Bob, its his impatience with openers. (No taufeeq umar please thankyouverymuch)
I HEARD ON GEO THAT RANA NAVED WIFE IS DEAD?
IS THIS TRUE?