Sri Lanka players refuse to sign World Cup contracts

Glad to see Indian Players are not alone. NW Chachi once again Read and Weep.

=======================================
Sri Lanka players refuse to sign World Cup contracts
Charlie Austin - 16 January 2003

Sri Lanka’s cricketers have rejected a performance-related pay package for the forthcoming World Cup and refused to sign their player contracts.

The Sri Lankan cricket board has therefore failed to the meet the January 14 ICC deadline for signing the players’ terms agreement.

A statement released by the Sri Lanka Cricketers Association (SLCA) said: “The SLCA confirms that the controversial players’ terms agreement has not been signed by the Sri Lanka players.”

The SLCA are demanding that the Sri Lankan cricket board pay the players 20% of the monies that they receive from the ICC World Cup. At present they have been offered a 5% revenue share.

“The players of Australia and New Zealand are being paid 25%,” said the SLCA. “The South Africans are almost there with 30% of the total money received from their board. In view of the above, the 20% that the Sri Lankan players are requesting seems reasonable enough.”

“The players are of the view that their rights have been stolen away by this Player Terms Agreement. The BCCSL, without consulting the players concerned, have signed the agreement until the 2007 World Cup. Therefore, the players have a right to claim these payments.”

The release, however, hints that the players would stop short of boycotting the tournament: “The players are clearly committed to participate in the World Cup even without such payments.”

Earlier in the week, the BCCSL offered the players a performance-based pay incentives package, including an USD 100,000 bonus for lifting the trophy, as well as doubling their standard match fee of USD 700 per game.

http://www-usa.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/JAN/123045_SL_16JAN2003.html

This is a much different situation. The Srilankan players are not low to abandon their country for money, they have something called class.

Re: Sri Lanka players refuse to sign World Cup contracts

Asif uncle yee bhee tu parh leen they are not bhokey and lalchee like Indian players bal k they are ready to play worldcup even without such payments for their country unlike Indians. :wink: :slight_smile:

and 2ndly they are more concerned about the recieving money from Sri Lankan board but they are not doing dramey bazi like Indians :hehe:

Yeah, That honour is reserved for Paki players - Who abandoned their country to join a CIRCUS called ‘PACKER CIRCUS’ . India was the only test Playing country whose players didn’t take part in that Circus FOR MONEY.

Recently We have seen Saqlain Mushtaq, Razzaq, Akhtar et all playing for counties (when paki team was hammered by most of the teams) for some bucks. THAT’s CLASS - INDEED. :hehe:

Re: Re: Sri Lanka players refuse to sign World Cup contracts

NW wali Tai - tsk tsk - First you say they are not bhookey and Lalchi and then they are more concerned about getting money from Lankan Board. You need to decide (fast) which one was your view. If they are not bhookey and Lalchi why are they concerned about getting money from the BCCSL ? :hehe:

Indian players are fighting for a cause and not for money - They didn’t ask board to pay more unlike the LANKANS who want 20% and thus have not signed the CONTRACTS. So If I use your logic It’s the Lankan Players who are Lalchi and Bhookey for money.

Indian players didn’t ask for more money from the BOARD and just want the IMAGE CLAUSE removed from the Contract which was signed without their consent. Even the Lankan’s agreed with that and using it as an opportunity to get more money. Perhaps you didn’t read this one :-

**“The players are of the view that their rights have been stolen away by this Player Terms Agreement. The BCCSL, without consulting the players concerned, have signed the agreement until the 2007 World Cup. Therefore, the players have a right to claim these payments.” **

PS :- If you didn’t know Indian players have already signed the contract and they didn’t ask Indian board to pay more money.

Re: Re: Re: Sri Lanka players refuse to sign World Cup contracts

:hehe: @ cause
sure money sure is a cause :slight_smile:

You are not looking at the bright side of they Lankans. They are also fighting for a cause but are STILL READY to play FOR THEIR COUNTRY even if they dont get money :slight_smile:

They sure are acting like kids who own a bat and threaten to leave the ground with his bat if he dont go at one-down :slight_smile:

Basically I am not against the Indian players “cause” but your own board screwed them not ICC. Indian players should protest with their own board. No one can stop them from protesting but at the same time dont threaten to bycott the cup that is being organized by ICC.

But i guess its in blood to bycott things for “causes” like another bycott for lost cause :slight_smile:

May be they were not asked by Packer to play you know he was looking for “class” players ! :wink:

I guess we were talking and comparing SL and IND players wo hee puranee aadat :slight_smile:

O Asif uncle 2 wrongs dont make a right yee naseehat aap apney palley bandh leen.

Doing a mistake is wrong but trying to justyfy that is even more wrong

Instead of defending Indian players you started saying things about other players that just like accepting “yes we are wrong but they are also wrong” :slight_smile:

Re: Re: Re: Re: Sri Lanka players refuse to sign World Cup contracts

*Originally posted by Nakhrey Wali: *

You are not looking at the bright side of they Lankans. They are also fighting for a cause but are STILL READY to play FOR THEIR COUNTRY even if they dont get money

Perhaps you have not been watching the news lately :-

Lankan's haven't even signed the contract even after the Deadline and still asking for more money. So far they have not signed the CONTRACT because they want more money.

On the Other Hand - Indian Players have already signed the contract - without even asking for more money. For Indian players money was never the reason for not signing the CONTRACT.

But I think the above logic is too complicated for you to understand -
Okay here is a simple logic for you :-

Team A doesn't sign a contract and wants more money because their board sold their endorsment rights without consulting them.

Team B doesn't sign a contract and wants the removal of image clause from the contract which their board signed without their consent.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Sri Lanka players refuse to sign World Cup contracts

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
But I think the above logic is too complicated for you to understand -
Okay here is a simple logic for you :-

Team A doesn't sign a contract and wants more money because their board sold their endorsment rights without consulting them.

Team B doesn't sign a contract and wants the removal of image clause from the contract which their board signed without their consent.

Oh come on!!!! dont try to be oversmart and try and pull wool over the eyes of other people. The issue is simply money on both sides. Yes the Indian players havent asked for more money from their board, but their fight is purely to protect their sponsorship money. Right or wrong, the issue is money on both side.

The reason they have signed the contracts is that if they dont play in the biggest tournament of cricket and boycott some others as well their sponsors are not going to be very happy and would eventually dump them, so they signed the contracts to protect their livelyhood. It is not a fight for a cause or they are not standing up for any principle. For them there is only one guiding principle in this whole saga and that is GREED.

Tells us a lot about your knowledge of Cricket - and If I count your opinion Sunil Gavaskar was definately not a class player but Mazid Khan was definately :hehe:

Kyon - Aukat dikhai de gai apni - Bahut purani baat hai - ‘Jinke ghar Sheeshe ke ho unhe…’ :hehe:

Hello Which two wrongs you are talking about ?? Indian players have done the right thing by signing the Contract (with the deleted Clause). Who is BCCI to sell their endorsment rights. Aur apni Naseehat apne paas rakho aur thodi apne hamwatan Umair ko bhi de dena so that he doesn’t start his BS about his Class again.

I have been defending Indian Players all along and they are not wrong in their stand nor are the Lankans. I think they should be decently compensated. I was just trying to show the flaw in your logic of bhookey and Lalchi.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Sri Lanka players refuse to sign World Cup contracts

*Originally posted by chosen1: *

Oh come on!!!! dont try to be oversmart and try and pull wool over the eyes of other people. The issue is simply money on both sides. Yes the Indian players havent asked for more money from their board, but their fight is purely to protect their sponsorship money. Right or wrong, the issue is money on both side.

There goes the Ignorant - Did you know that only two Indian players (out of 14 selected for WC) have conflicting contracts ?? Rest of them do not have to worry about these but they have taken a moral stand and are not in favor of signing the contract.

The reason they have signed the contracts is that if they dont play in the biggest tournament of cricket and boycott some others as well their sponsors are not going to be very happy and would eventually dump them, so they signed the contracts to protect their livelyhood.

Their sponsors have not signed them for eternity and they can be dumped for several reasons such as performance (e.g. Laxman) and endorsment is not the livelyhood of a Cricketer. There were no endorsments for people like Gavaskar (or plyayers before him) they have managed to live a decent life so far.

It is not a fight for a cause or they are not standing up for any principle. For them there is only one guiding principle in this whole saga and that is GREED.

No it's not - but unfortunately you wont understand this.

I have been defending Indian Players all along and they are not wrong in their stand nor are the Lankans. I think they should be decently compensated. I was just trying to show the flaw in your logic of bhookey and Lalchi.

My logic is v simple Asif uncle. ICC didnt asked Indian board to sign the contract on gun point. Now its BCCI's mistake and they SHOULD clean the mess. Indian players should sign the ICC contacts fully or just dont sign it.

True that BCCI did wrong but then why should ICC suffer ? Players should make a deal with their board (BCCI should be at the receiving end not ICC) instead of pressuring ICC by threatning bycott.

But i guess this logic is too hard for you to understand. Let me give you simple example.

Lets say my mom commit some one that we will come to their function without telling me. Now if i have any objection in going i'll fight or whatever with my mom in house but will sure go to the function just to honor the commitment my mom did.

Where
Third person = ICC
Mom = India (or BCCI)
Me = Indian players

simple heen na ? :)

*Originally posted by Nakhrey Wali: *

My logic is v simple Asif uncle. ICC didnt asked Indian board to sign the contract on gun point. Now its BCCI's mistake and they SHOULD clean the mess. Indian players should sign the ICC contacts fully or just dont sign it.

True that BCCI did wrong but then why should ICC suffer ? Players should make a deal with their board (BCCI should be at the receiving end not ICC) instead of pressuring ICC by threatning bycott.

But i guess this logic is too hard for you to understand. Let me give you simple example.

Lets say my mom commit some one that we will come to their function without telling me. Now if i have any objection in going i'll fight or whatever with my mom in house but will sure go to the function just to honor the commitment my mom did.

Where
Third person = ICC
Mom = India (or BCCI)
Me = Indian players

simple heen na ? :)

No other way could be you wont go to function and tell your mom why dont you wana go? and let mom handle the Host.

OR

Agar Host ko apni Izzat ka khyal hai to HE/SHE will not ask me for commitment. ;)

*Originally posted by andha_qanoon: *

No other way could be you wont go to function and tell your mom why dont you wana go? and let mom handle the Host.

exectly - DONT GO TO THE FUNCTION :)

but i wont call HOST saying "oh i'll come to the function if you have this dish in dinner mayree mom tu aisey hee sub ko commit ker daitee heen mujh say pochey bhair" (Indians signing contact without signing 2 terms)

and above all this Host has already ORDERD the dinner and they cant change the menu (ICC deal with other WC sponsers). So should i go or let my mom eat her words ? :)

*Originally posted by andha_qanoon: *
Agar Host ko apni Izzat ka khyal hai to HE/SHE will not ask me for commitment. ;)

Forget about host NO ONE will trust me and my mom after this :)

:bukbuk2:

Re: Sri Lanka players refuse to sign World Cup contracts

Glad to see Indian Players are not alone. NW Chachi once again Read and Weep.

First of all Asif_dada, it is against Gupshup policy to mention the name of a member in a thread, where he/she has not even taken part in the discussion... I learnt it the hard way...

Here they all come to AUQAT.

*ICC sponsors agree to renegotiate terms

KOLKATA: Under pressure from various quarters, two of ICC’s global partners, Pepsi and LG, have agreed to renegotiate their terms with the Global Cricket Corporation (GCC) to ensure that the best Indian team plays in the World Cup in southern Africa next month.

Both multinational companies with huge stakes in the sub-continent, have agreed to "compromise" on a number of their privileges after a series of discussions with representatives of GCC (marketing agents of ICC) in the Capital over the last couple of days, even though the controversy looks far from over.

According to sources, LG are keen on protecting its ambush marketing rights for the 30 days prior to the event while it is willing to compromise on the image rights. The cola giants insist that arrangement be the other way round.

"Discussions between them and World Sport Nimbus, the Indian arm of GCC, are almost in the final stages with both sponsors now agreeable to a settlement in lieu of a reduction in the guarantee money they were supposed to pay for both the World Cup and last year’s Champions Trophy. The third major Indian sponsor, Hero Honda, are not part of the negotiations as they do not enjoy the rights of a global partner," well-placed sources told the TNN on Thursday.

However, fresh negotiations between the sponsors and GCC is unlikely to end the row as the ICC is certain to ask the BCCI for indemnity of a substantial sum should it be forced to accept a cut from the promised $550 million.

With the board members of the ICC Development International (IDI) Limited in no mood to accept any reduction, it will be almost an action replay of the Champions Trophy imbroglio when the Indian board refused to pay any compensation.

Under the circumstances, the row is almost sure to be lodged with the Court of Arbitration of Sport (CAS) in Lausanne, where eminent lawyers Kapil Sibal and U.N. Banerjee will be arguing the BCCI’s (read the Indian players) case. BCCI seems to be on a firm footing as players’ pre-existing contracts are under siege.

Meanwhile, the sponsors are rather upset at the BCCI president Jagmohan Dalmiya’s comments of them being anti-national. The general manager (marketing) of LG, Ganesh Mahalingam said: "Patriotism is not the monopoly of anybody. Much as the BCCI chief, we also want the best Indian team goes to South Africa and pull out on all stops to ensure that."

chaloo shuker hay koi tu surat nazer ayee but aab yee CocaCola and LG meen conflict :smack:

I guess everyone will be happy now. BCCI should pay the difference in 550 million and the new amount to ICC … ICC will be happy..Indian players will be happy and BCCI well they created the mess they have to pay the price to clean it up !

Re: Re: Sri Lanka players refuse to sign World Cup contracts

Yeah sure they are not lalchi and not threatening to pull out :hehe: I guess that’s why Sri Lankan board is thiniking about feilding a B team. If Indian board does that it’s dramabazi but if Lankans do that they are good. :hehe:

Pay dispute may force Sri Lanka to pull out: World Cup

COLOMBO, Jan 19: Sri Lanka on Sunday issued a thinly veiled threat to totally pull out of the World Cup tournament or field a B team as Sanath Jayasuriya’s men refused to compromise on a pay demand.

The Board of Control for Cricket in Sri Lanka (BCCSL) said its offer of performance-based payments at the World Cup starting next month had been turned down by the national squad.

The BCCSL was itself in a crisis with the International Cricket Council (ICC) which had set a Jan 17 deadline for Sri Lankan players to sign contracts to play at the tournament.

“In the event that the squad members fail to do so the BCCSL will be reluctantly compelled to avail itself of all remedies available to it,” the board said in a two-page statement.

A top cricket board source said the options included fielding a different squad or completely pulling out as Jayasuriya’s men were making totally unacceptable demands.

The players were insisting on a 20 percent share of the BCCSL’s guaranteed fee of US$6.4 million from the World Cup, but the authorities were only willing to offer 10 percent plus an incentive payment.

The incentive was a $100,000-bonus to the entire team if they won the World Cup, taking place in Africa from Feb 9 to March 23, plus the doubling of match fees from $700 to $1,400.

An additional $20,000 was also being offered if the team entered the final.

The BCCSL said it had paid 70 percent of its total revenue last year to its players and argued that the new pay demand would leave the board without adequate cash for promoting the game in rural areas of the island.

BCCSL chief executive Anura Thennakoon said he did not see a way out of the match fee crisis, but said the players must have the matter resolved “in a day or two.”

“For the moment it is a stalemate,” Thennakoon said. “We will also talk to the ICC on what further action we can take in this regard. We will be looking at several options.”

The ICC last week warned the BCCSL of the trouble they could face should they fail to settle their pay dispute with their own players.

“We have been in regular contact with the BCCSL and expect to receive the signed player terms on Friday,” ICC chief executive Malcolm Speed had said a day before the deadline.

“Failure to return the contracts will have very serious consequences for the BCCSL,” added Speed who did not specify what measures could be taken.-AFP

http://www.dawn.com/2003/01/20/spt1.htm