I kinda like the split personality thing…
I think it has its advantages and disadvantages
Can we call it a disorder?
Or an add on advantage?
I kinda like the split personality thing…
I think it has its advantages and disadvantages
Can we call it a disorder?
Or an add on advantage?
Re: Split Personality
It is an advantage.
You can go and get food from same dinner table..twice or more.
You can borrow money from someone twice or more.
etc. etc. :)
Good topic by the way.
lolz its lame and disadvantage......lA relatively rare dissociative disorder in which the usual integrity of the personality breaks down and two or more independent personalities emerge".
its not lame BM
and its not necessary that every person who is claimed to be suffering from this disorder ACTUALLY do suffer from it ![]()
I have seen Oscar winning performances from common ppl when it comes to as diwana said “upna mutlab”
It has its adv and disadv, both. But one should fear from this disorder. God made us in the best order, shape, built, possible. So having disorder, is not a normal thing. I have seen and read many examples of Split personality, even heard of a minister who was affected by this, and used to lock himself in his room at nights and wear Sarhi's :P
God Know whether its true or not, but Allah save us from this disorder..!!
anyone seen Cybil?
Cybil the actress ![]()
It is a disorder. It's better known as multiple personality disorder, or dissociative identity disorder. It's when there are 2 distinct personalities that take control of the body, and each one of the personalities isn't aware of the other one. It can be very debilitating, as you the main person has no idea what has happened, why it has happened, while the others around you claim that you have done something, and it can be horrible, or good or whatever. Almost like having momentarily amnesia again and again.
While some people think it's fake, there are some real genuine cases. I read about 1 very interesting case with at least 12 personalities and none of them knew about each other. It can be controlled, maybe not treated, with lots and lots of psychotherapy.
I have a split personality but that is because of me being over weight. Yo dont even want to know where it splits at ![]()
then u go and read Tell Me your dreams by Sidney Sheldon ! it got one of the best split personality fiction story ! The book was very suspenseful… My problem is a chemical balance in the brain… in simple words chemical locha !
so you guys are trying to say that Jackyl and Hyde "that guy" actually existed??????????????
who knows, its very possible. he just may not have needed a potion.
but even with dissociative disorder, it doesn't have to get that black and white. for example one personality can be a Salma from androon shehar lahore, while another can be natalia from russia. another can be maryam who is very baybaak, and another can be mehreen, a little 5 year old girl.
Symptoms of dissociative personality disorder
Dissociative identity disorder is characterized by the presence of two or more distinct or split identities or personality states that continually have power over the person's behavior. With dissociative identity disorder, there's also an inability to recall key personal information that is too far-reaching to be explained as mere forgetfulness. With dissociative identity disorder, there are also highly distinct memory variations, which fluctuate with the person's split personality. A person may be able to switch from one state to the other within a matter of few seconds to a few days.
Along with the dissociation and multiple or split personalities, people with dissociative disorders may experience depression, mood swings, suicidal tendencies, sleep disorders, nightmares, panic attacks, sleep walking, deep seated fears, alcohol or drug addiction, auditory or visual hallucinations and even eating disorders. Other symptoms may include headache, amnesia, time loss, trances, and OBE (out-of-body-experiences). Some people with dissociative disorders have a tendency toward self-persecution, self-sabotage, and even violence (both self-inflicted and outwardly directed). As an example, someone with dissociative identity disorder may find themselves doing things they wouldn't normally do such as speeding, reckless driving, or stealing money from their employer or friend, yet they feel they are being compelled to do it. Some describe this feeling as being a passenger in their body rather than the driver. In other words, they truly believe they have no choice. (Information picked up from an article on www.webmd.com)
What causes dissociative identity disorder?
Researchers have established that as many as 98% to 99% of individuals who develop dissociative disorders have recognized personal histories of recurring, overpowering, and often life-threatening disturbances at a sensitive developmental stage of childhood. Dissociation may also happen when there has been insistent neglect or emotional abuse, even when there has been no overt physical or sexual abuse. Findings show that in families where parents are frightening and unpredictable, the children may become dissociative.
Diagnosis
Diagnosing identity disorder is not as easy as it sounds. Sometimes it might take years to surface. Psychiatrists, most of the times, find it difficult to diagnose as it’s symptoms are more or less similar to other mental-health related problems like depression, anxiety, panic disorders etc. The patterns which are commonly found in such people are as follows:
· A person exhibits two distinct personalities at different times, each with a distinct enduring pattern of perception relating to his environment or his own self.
· At least one of these (in case it’s only two personalities) identities persistently takes charge over the person’s behavior.
· A person slips in to a state of unexplained forgetfulness and finds it almost impossible to remember certain important details about his life.
· In extreme cases, a person might even suffer from temporary blackouts, chaotic behavior or seizures.
There have been some Hollywood actors who have been reported to have suffered from identity disorders at some point in their lives which might as well explain how beautifully they portray such roles on the screen. Famous people with dissociative identity disorder include retired NFL star Herschel Walker, who struggled with dissociative identity disorder for years but has only been treated for the past eight years.
Walker even published a book about his struggles with dissociative identity disorder, along with his suicide attempts. In his book, he speaks about a feeling of disconnect from childhood to the professional leagues. To cope, he developed a tough personality that didn't feel loneliness, one that was fearless and wanted to act out the anger which he always suppressed. These "alters" could withstand the abuse he felt; other alters came to help him rise to national fame. Today, Walker realizes that these alternate personalities are part of dissociative identity disorder, which he was diagnosed with in his adulthood.
Statistics show the rate of dissociative identity disorder is .01% to 1% of the general population. Still, more than 1/3 of people say they feel as if they're watching themselves in a movie at times, and 7% percent of the population may have undiagnosed dissociative disorder.
Treatment recommended
Effective treatment includes talk therapy or psychotherapy, medications, hypnotherapy, and adjunctive therapies such as art or movement therapy. Often times the symptoms of dissociative disorders occur with other disorders, such as anxiety and depression, dissociative disorder and as such may be treated using the same drugs prescribed for those disorders. A person in treatment for a dissociative disorder might benefit from anti-depressants.
BM tumhaen lagta hai tumhaen waqai aur koi kaam nahi hai… ![]()
ya rite what else i can do !! nowdays i am banned frm cafe so killing time here and their is their any problem regarding this?
nai janaab
koi problem nahi
welcome g welcome :D
Lolz !! welcome me in your home or heart :)
and never reply it all happened coz of split personality
how can one know if one is in the mode of split personality? if you meet that person 1st time?
kick their butt then see the reaction !