Re: change the route of the Pakistan-China Economic Corridor.
hypocrisies are…
When pmln do something wrong its punjab
If establishment does something wrong its punjab.
If mqm do something wrong its mqm not karachi
If ppp do something wrong its ppp not sindh.
You are right that an average Punjabi living in Punjab probably has very little idea about the venom which is so casually spewed against him in other parts of Pakistan. You wouldn’t be too surprised to know for what exact reason people from Karachi and Sindh actually ‘hate’ Pakistani Army, if you which particular group gives the majority of its sons to the institution. But Punjab is an extremely diverse province which has literally absorbed ethnicities from all over Pakistan and even outside! You find Balochis, Pashtuns, Saraikies, Kashmiris, Sindhis, Muhajirs, Mirpuris, Afghans living there in peace and harmony for centuries to generations to recent migrants. It is impossible to create ethnic/lingual divides in Punjab, hence religious differences are exploited more often. Punjab is too great of a province, the people there are too big hearted to fall for this pathetic xenophobic mentality you see in other provinces and major cosmopolitan cities.
Once again, Punjab is too great to fall for this racist xenophobic BS and you should be proud of that. The province is too magnificent in its own eyes to develop any victim complex. Weak and coward people develop victim complexes. Brave people learn to take their fate in their own hands and rise!
^ Come on don’t deny that there is no such thing as looking down on Punjabis as a group or seeing them as troublesome in Karachi/Sindi. It’s maybe not as widepread as we may think, but it exists.
I have seen Karachi aunties in Life and Relationship forum so casually saying how they would not consider Punjabi families for stupid this and that stereotypical perceptions whereas Punjabi posters always tend to refrain from expressing all the extremely derogatory stereotypes and perceptions that exist for Urdu speaking/Karachi folks. Punjab would not been this remarkably diverse and harmonious province if it wasn’t for Pubjabis’ infinite capability for ethnic and lingual tolerance and self imposed political correctness which clearly lacks in other groups, from what I’ve seen. Having said that, Punjabis are definitely an intimidating bunch for various other reasons.
I think it wont ever happen, but there are some Balochi people who want balochistan, some pashtun who want pasthunistan, some sindhi who want a separate nation, but i’ve never heard about punjabis, expect for the sikh ones who want Khalistan, but never pakistan punjabis
Punjabi identity in Pakistan is informed by the fact that they are an overwhelming majority. They have nothing to be defensive about.
Minorities on the other hand are insecure, simply by virtue of the fact that they are a minority. Hence, insecurity breeds this defensiveness, which can translate into hostility. As the majority, Punjabi’s (and indeed any majority group) should learn to tread lightly.
Punjabi’s in Pakistan may or may not be the pillars of virtue, but as a comparison, consider the the Punjabi’s’ of India, who are a minority. Unlike their Punjabi kin on the Pakistan side, the Punjabis of India are extremely cognizant of their “Punjabi” identity. So much so that they have made Punjabi the state language and have even gone so far as to try and cede from the Indian union.
Bottom line, i think the accepting and tolerant nature of Punjabi’s in Pakistan owes more to the fact that they are the majority then to something inherent in their DNA.
Dear Ajaz. I agree with u abt most ethnic groups hating punjabis in general. If u study Un bias u may find the reason. Though I am sure that a common Punjabi is not getting lions share of the game of divide n rule by the punjabi establishment. Still since it is long long time when people of other ethnic groups see the hold over major resources under Punjabi establishment they r bent to hate them. I have been to many remote parts of sindh . Baluchistan . Kpk n gil git bultis tan. Believe the hatred there is far more then in karachi. They must be having reasons which may or may not be legit. I give an example of a small fish shop at gwadar port. A poor Punjabi is selling fish while baloch r bringing it from sea. I m sure that poor Punjabi man is getting his halal ki kamai. But I see blood in the eyes of other baloch seller next to him.
Same goes to ppl of gil git when they see most of the police from Punjabi back ground.
BTW Wat will be ur feeling when u go to a police station in jehlum n found all the police men speaking pushto. If u can feel it u will feel Wat common bengali wud have been feeling.
That’s why I feel that this pmln govt even they out perform ppp or pti is not healthy for pakistan as they have zero existence out side punjab.
BTW for ur info. My best est friend is a Punjabi n I tell to all my family n friend that I have never seen such great family as them.
We will see how the pandra bees bachay per family punjab already bursting at its seam would survive without the rest of Pakistan. Be my guest and secede!
You have diagnosed most correctly , Appreciate it .
Mazay ki bat , Karachi plolice kay sindhi Urdu speaking bhi sari galian Punjabi main hi detay hain .
It is almost so. Punjab has been the most invaded part of the subcontinent which experienced invasions from all major powers of the time. Due to tolerant nature of the natives, invaders became settlers and managed to co-exist peacefully despite the ethno-lingual differences. This tradition is still alive and visibly felt considering the the number of major ethnic groups that live in Punjab and the rate of integration. No political party till date had ever attempted to divide Punjab on ethnic lines as there are no ethnic fault lines to take advantage of. Even PPP’s attempt at promoting Southern Saraiki vs Northern Punjabis doesn’t go too far.
Just look at the race for leadership of Punjab - Imran vs Nawaz. Neither is a native Punjabi. Yet the way Punjabis stood up and led a historical cause based protest against a home grown ‘Punjabi’ party aka PMLN during dharna days, it would be nothing less than a miracle to see Sindhis doing the same for PPP or Urdu speakers for MQM, and Balochis against their Sardars. Punjabis had a long and passionate romance with Sindhi feudal father daughter duo in the face of Bhuttos, and this is the same Punjab that took on the streets to dance when an Urdu speaking dictator took over. The mere fact that Punjabis divided their province to create Pakistan speaks volume about their inherent tolerance, political adaptability and foresightedness.
Since the eighties, PPP has been slowly wiped out of punjab at least from the north and central areas. It has been strong in southern regions but then the seraiki belt with its feudals is the swing vote. PML-n has gotten votes from karachi if not sindh. Heck, my family once voted for PML-n and we aren’t maliks or butts.
Btw, it was nehru that asked and mountbatten who delivered as even Jinnah wasn’t keen on diving punjab and bengal. Even the article that someone posted here from an indian (how india is responsible for pakistan’s failures) mentions that in hindsight, jinnah would have been right to avoid the partition massacres.
PS The only reason that southern punjab or seraiki region hasn’t had a new province is because punjabis have migrated there and do control the business interests. It is like asking when Xinjiang would be separating from China with its majority han population. It is a tragedy that it isn’t a province like it was before One Unit as it has been the neglected part of punjab ruled from Lahore.