So this time we had some left over seikh kabab (4 kababs). Since we are a family of 4, it was not going to be enough for us. I decided to create “kabab masala” out of it.
Kababs were frozen and I broke each kabab in 3 pieces
In a Karhiee, fry finely chopped onion in little 2tbs of oil and 2tbs of butter (important to get that aroma)
when onion are light golden, add 1tsp of ginger and 1tsp of garlic paste, 2-3 cloves and 1 bari ilaichie and bhono for couple of min
add 2 thinly sliced 2 tomatoes. Cover and cook on high heat for 5 min till tomatoes get soft
add 1 tbs of tomato paste and following spices
salt
turmeric
chili powder
cumin powder (1 tsp)
cilantro powder (1 tsp)
garam masala powder (1/2 tsp)
Bhono for 5 min (while adding little water)
add 1/4 cup whipped yogurt, 1/2 tsp of lemon juice and kababs
cover and cook for 15 min to bring masala to desired consistency
turn off the heat and sprinkle with Julian cut ginger and chopped fresh cilantro
^ Khatti, I would have used 1 tbs of cream instead of yogurt but we did not have cream available so I used yogurt. My guess is it will taste even better with cream
I make this regularly but my is very simple just fry someonions add in frozen seehk kebabs then add tomatoes crushed red chilli salt and little turmeric powder, cover n cook on low flame n then remove cover n dry excess water if any. my mum used to make it a lot wth small size of seehk kebab, in our family this dish is called “muthiyan”.
this is how it looks
PS: pic is not justifying the taste its way back in 2010 when I started cooking
Yar tum kabhi taaza khaana bhi khaatay ho yaa zindagi baasi khaa ke guzaar rahe ho? Bhabhi rozaana fresh cook karti hain aur tum oos ko dou din ruk ke khaatay ho, lugta hai.
Whenever my Ammi would have leftover plain white rice, she’d make this South Indian/Hyderabadi fried rice…
Bhoon some sookhi lal mirch, garlic cloves and grated coconut in a karhai…when it cools down grind it to a powder. Add your leftover rice to the same karhai and add the grinded mixture, toss well to coat. Give a light baghaar of rai, zeera & curry patta and toss well. Adjust your salt if needed.
Voila! Spicy Hydro fried rice is ready!!!
We’d often have this, just the two of us, as light dinner…sometimes she’d throw in some cashews as well.
I’ve had kebab salan loads of times, sorry Decent 6chora! I’ve just never added the yoghurt, but done everything else. I like the onions to be long and thin so it’s a dry, karra masala. Yum
Khatti: you had essentially rice for dinner? Like no curry or raita? Didn’t you mouth get dry…?
No. It’s just like eating Chinese fried rice or any other rice dish. The masala is bhooned is a tiny bit of oil and the bhagaar adds moistness too. Salan is not always needed to make a meal.