[QUOTE] njga ur right, its the 10 minutes of quality time that means more than the quanity.. even 10 minutes of chores together is good quality time.. I think..
I think so. when I am cooking I have them help me out even though they are making more of a mess that I have to clean later. I ask them specific questions like "who did you play with today" or "who sat on the bus with you today". I get an insight into their day.
awwwwwwwwww gs mommies got it all figured out... all this planning, strategies and ideas on "spending **quality **time with kids" why is that even under discussion?
i want to see your replies in 10-20 years, lets see whose theory/method/ideas come on top?
Jaan leva ke pind mein ek baap hotha hai, ek maa...aur do bachay.
Daddy earns lots of money ...mommy doesnt have to wirk and can spend all her time on e kids.they dont have a tv, pc, or any such device that may hinder in the bonding between other and child.
No other scenerio exists such as single parent, both parents having to work just so they can put bread on the table (no not even a laptop ...both åarents working doesnt mean they must be making lots)...etc etc
i think he does specific searches on raising kids, being good mothers and what not. He thrives on such discussions.
I do wonder, has he ever been in a relationship?
Well, if you think that then you can tell kids are an important subject (to me) and deserve more than just "quality" time and discussion on it.
One doesn't need to be in a relationship to know what is good for the kids and if "quality" time is being spent with them. When you add "quality" to time, you mean 10, 20, 30 minutes of FOCUSED attention, kids don't need that. I think that is unfair.
I leave you with an English proverb:
"The soul is healed by being with children."
Stop quantifying the time you spend with your kids.
I want to clarify that helping kids with their Homework is not quality time, at least not from their perspective :D
Sadzz, be selfish when it comes to spending time with your kids. I do that. I dont pickup phones and dont book anything on certain days that I have booked for my kids.
^ When put into practice, it doesnt quite work that way, apologies, doesnt work for everyone the same way.
Mashallah, most of us (responding to this thread), have bright kids who need constant activities to stimulate their minds and challenge their thinking and ideas. As Sahar pointed out, not all of us are qualified to teach our kids in a way a teacher or carer has the ability to.
As parents, we can teach them a lot at home.. about culture, about manners, discipline... but none of this makes sense in a box... these things only make sense when a kid is out and about and is interacting where they can put such things into practise.. and also learn from others.
I dont know anyone else's kids here... so I cant speak for them. But I know my child gets exceptionally bored at home after two days because there is not enough for her to learn with at home... khair, its stressful explaining this stuff to you. Not even sure why I even bother proving myself.