Spending $200,000 on a MBA?

Re: Spending $200,000 on a MBA?

b*****ng sey ik joke yaad aa gaya.. :D

Nieslen has an extremely thorough background check, ask them for a copy of the report, you will be surprised at what all they pull.

yeh i know.

PM me what group you are in, assuming nielsen interactive or media since that is the big presence on east coast.

Nielson Business Media

nielsen yaaar nielsen....naam toh theek likh lay bhai :)

Naqli nielsen mai tou nahi hain firenze?:hehe:

thora tung karne mien mazah aa raha hai .. ab :smiley:
why do you feel like around me somewhere :chai: .. pir sahab are you also in the same pot?

I didn’t do my MBA from a top 10 but ever since I starting working, I’ve been wanting to do the Executive MBA program at HBS (Partly because my biggest mistake was to do my MBA right out of college at 21 without any real time working exp). I would eventually get to it when I have had enough exp.

All of the above posters have already said everything and all I can say is if I were you, I would go for it. Like X2 said, it’s a dividend paying investment. Apart from the exposure and the incredible faculty, the networking you develop while in college is unbeatable. As far as your H1B n all are concerned and what I have heard, you would have enough time within your OPT to get a job and sponsorship comes subsequently.

I know of a very few friends who graduated from MIT, Kellogs..etc that are currently un-employed but it has nothing to do with the degrees and more with their personalities. Majority are well paid hovering easily over $150000+ range starting. I can’t vouch for Banking, but anything in Insurance and Healthcare will have enough opening in the future (And there are some amazing start-up’s by Alumni that are always great to work for after graduation too)

PS: If you’re hard working/motivated and ambitious enough you will eventually make it to where you want to go up the ladder but having a good foundation (Education from Top 10/Good score), pushes you a notch or two up and makes the climb a much more smoother process.

Thank you guys. I have a major concern with respect to H1. Does this visa gives reasonable time for job search or are we supposed to go back the moment we are done with our studies?

@X2

Sent you a PM

LOL! I really, really shouldn't be commenting here since like I said I didn't go business school. But, having studied in the US on a student visa and having studied for a professional degree - my experience was that the companies/firms recruit WELL IN ADVANCE of your graduation. The interview process and final job offers come early.

For my discipline of study, people were recruited out of their first and second year at the best firms for summer positions. And while the job offers weren't permanent full-time until you graduated, most people unless they flunked out or did really badly during the summer jobs, were given permanent job offers.

The point of the above is that you should have secured a job offer well in advance of graduating, so expiration of your H1 shouldn't be an issue in my estimation. But again, I'll defer to the experts :)

^In addition, atm I have a 5 year multiple visa for the US. If I apply and a get a student visa, can it be converted into visit visa after my MBA ends (so that I can continue my search for a job) or would I have to go back to Pakistan and the apply via embassy in Islamabad?

Yeah that is usually the case, but I just dont want to take any risks. What if I don't get recruited before graduation? That would be mean all the money spent gone down the drain.

lol. you may apply OPT/CPT to extend your F1 visa. that is what majority do to stay legally in US, while in the mean time you may search H1 sponsored job.

Agreed. You should have a job offer well in advance of your graduation. But just as a buffer, your OPT should cover any exceptions.