Speciaist Keepers / Specialist batsmen

I am proud to announce the latest entry in this category i.e. Kamran Akmal. Before akmal i can remember the following in my limited cricket history..

Adam Gilchrist
Kumar Sangakkara
Kaluwitharna

These are just off the back of my head. Please also add others that you feel have made the cut.

Im not sure if either Moin Khan or Rashid Latif can be included in this category because i feel their batting doesnt come close to Akmal’s. Please correct me if im wrong.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Re: Speciaist Keepers / Specialist batsmen

You missed Boucher.. Instead of Kalu it should be boucher.... Kalu was not in same league as batsman except of 2 yrs of fame that he enjoyed with bat

Hmm maybe but Kalu and Jayasuria together did start off a new era for pinch hitter openers that has taken ODI's into a totally different zone and has invariably caused test cricket to become more aggressive and hence produce more results.

Yes i forgot Boucher sorry. He's a mean batsman!

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Karam aur rehmat hai Allah ki , :jazak: :jhanda:

Tasleem Arif.

------------cvabn------------
I think the writer meant the “current” positions :cb:

Actually Raindance bhai i did mean any and all in history. If i did mean current history i might not have included Kaluwitharna.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

I don't know about Sangakkara, he is a good batsman but I have been noting that his keeping of late has been pretty pathetic.

How can u not remember Moin Khan, class act batsman particularly for the one day format.

Rodney Marsh
Alan Knott
Ian Healy

Please keep one thing in mind, players like Alan Knott and Rodney Marsh never got to play cricket as it is played today. In those days it was mostly test cricket and that too relatively speaking very little. Alan Knott and Rodney Marsh were far better wicket keepers than the current lot, batting wise they cud have taken on any bowling line up. Back in the 70's there were no helmets, arm pads, rib pads, thigh pads and yet they had genuine fast bowlers who cud bowl bouncers w/o being called for no-balls.

batsmen of today have much better protection, physically speaking and by ammended cricketing laws.

i have never heard of a good indian wicket keeper and a fast indian bowler and when i say fast i dont mean mediem fast. if afridi was in the indian team he would be one of the seamers

^ yar, we are all high on our victory, but bashing Indians at every moment is getting rather hmmmmmm boring :)

marsh...and healy?? and knot??? waaattt??? they were not batsmen!!!

keeper bats wud be:

gilly
sangakarra
flower
akmal

thats it...taslim arif started playin as a specilaist bat after that...similar to the protea AB de Villiers