Speak Now, or Forever hold your peace

On my last visit home, which was a month ago, I introduced two old friends of mine to each other at a party.

The guy has a 3 year daughter, he lost his wife in tragic car accident and my girlfriend who was recently divorced.

I guess they hit it off and have been in constant communication and have been moving really fast. I heard that they might be considering getting married.

The guy is pretty conservative. He is looking for a homemaker and someone to settle down with. He wants a simple life. She is religious herself but has a rebellious side to her which caused her first marriage to crumble. She is the first one to admit that was the case.

I fear a train wreck but I don’t want to the one that is not supportive of 2nd chances. Should I say something? I worry that it would be considered as a betrayal from a friend.

Re: Speak Now, or Forever hold your peace

Since you know them both, talk to them both, separately. Get into a conversation with her and ask her how things are going, and during your talk, tell her that she needs to be careful this time. Then talk to the guy and ask him to be sure of himself before getting into a relationship given that he has a child. It will not be a betrayal because you aren't telling one friend something against the other...just helping them to come to terms with reality.

If you already knew their nature Why did you introduce them then ? :konfused:

wrong thread. ooops

maybe they are already well into the process of getting to know each other. Since they both are maturer with experience of married life already so there are chances they would have learned well. I dont think you need to worry. Anyway as Niks said, talk to them individually and if they mention, just beware them by way of talk. samajhdar ko ishara kafi and they both are sufficiently samajhdar to take another chance.

I agree with Niks

I introduced them as friends. I didn’t know they would hit it off. I was actually very surprised to hear that they like/love each other because they have very different personalities.

I also know that they are both lonely and sometimes it’s helps to have anyone rather someone that is best suited for you.

you don't think both of them are going to hate me or tell me to mind my own business.

You know desi people don't take criticism or interference very well. I feel like a "kudh to khush hai, doosroun ko kush nahin dekh saakti" comment coming.

U knew all this and still introduced them to each other and now you are all worried and posting for solution on GS :rolleyes:

^ as friends. :smack:

From now on I stick to what I do best - eating at the desi parties.

u shud know ek larrke aur larrki mein dosti kabhi nahin ho sakti...yeh pyaar beech mein aa hi jaata hai especially for two ppl of the opposite gender who have pain or loneliness that needs to be nursed :p

but anyway i cant think of what u cud do apart from what Niks bhabhz already suggested