Has anyone tried it and what were the results ?
What kind of meals did you make or have ?
Has anyone tried it and what were the results ?
What kind of meals did you make or have ?
Re: South Beach Diet
what is the south beach diet?!
This diet works in phases, the first two for a specific timeframe and the third phase for life.
There are basically three phases in SB Diet. You eat normal portion sizes In Phase 1, but all carbohydrate are restricted. This is the strictest phase in the diet and will last for two weeks. It emphasizes lean meats, such as chicken, turkey, fish, and shellfish. Low-Glycemic-index vegetables are allowed as well as low-fat cheese, nuts, eggs.
In Phase 2, some of the banned food are slowly introduced while weight loss continue to around 1-2 pounds per week. You should remain on it until you lost your desired amount of weight. Phase 3 is for maintenance and should be followed for life. It is all about maintaining your desired weight with a healthy balanced diet.
Never tried it but am interested in finding out if someone else has...:)
where is njgal??? she can answer it properly.
sound just like the atkins diet
yea it does the atkins diet is awsome i lost like 2 and a half stone in about 8ish weeks...and i kept it all off mashAllah...but thats not to say u dnt have to watch what u eat..
What were your meals like on the Atkins Diet fairywings ?
i tried it for a week and it really does work - cudnt continue due to some circumstances but insha’Allah am planning to start again after this weekend.
Basically my day started eating an egg and cheese omelette, had almonds for snack, bought a packet of sugar free hard candy for those sweet cravings for lunch i had salads with chicken breast, and for dinner i usually made daal or broiled fish with steamed veggies - worked out well - the first 2 weeks are really hard.. trust me but it does get easier - after this i didnt have any chocolate or sweet cravings and even now i buy the sugarfree candy ![]()
this is the list i followed!! goodluck!!
http://www.southbeach-diet-plan.com/shoppinglist_p1.htm
Hte key to SBD is to eat enough veggies from what i have read on other forums. And its different from Atkins. Basically for the first phase, you stay clear of some veggies and all fruits. Then you start introducing some things in your diet slowly. I tried it for a week but couldnt continue because i am feeding my daughter and she started getting gas. InshaAllah am planning to start it again on sunday/monday. If someone wants to join in, maybe we can open a thread specifically for that.
What were some of the meals you had on the SBD , Ira ?
For breakfast, i was eating cheese and/or veggie omelettes (sauteed zucchini tastes pretty good in eggs!).
lunch and dinner were a side of veggies and/or beans with fish, chicken etc. I need to get morecreative though. Keema is ok too so i kababs were also good.
I am thinking of venturing into chilis, soups etc. There is a blog that has a lot of good recipes.
What were your meals like on the Atkins Diet fairywings ?
uhm...awful lol..the key is to not stay hungry..and roti and naan are a big NO NO!! so i used to just eat like salan and salad..or like chicken salad tc..it was hard..
Oh wow ira.. that website is AMAZING!! too bad i didnt knw about it earlier - it makes me wana start back on the diet again ![]()
Im thinking of starting this diet as of monday... gna go shopping tmw and get stocked up lol anyhows im confused about phase 2 when re-introducing carbs, coming from desi households how do we re-introduce pulao's and roti's? like what wud be an ideal limit?