Okay people I am seriously considering it.
Can I get some feedback from people who have tried it?
Did it work? How long lasting were the results?
How hard was it to stick to?
Appreciate it mcuh!
Re: South Beach Diet
three words: GYM GYM GYM!!!
Just stop eating fat food baji :p thats all!
Exercise 2/3 times a week and a romatic walk with hubby 1 hour after dinner every evening!
nobody HAS time you know :)
Time has to be made :D
I have tried three times…but failed each time
Can’t stick to Phase II ![]()
Phase I…you can lose up to 7-10 lbs in two weeks…guaranteed
But if you dont feel like going to the gym you should consider eating less. Eat three times a day with fruit snacks.
A little example:
Morning time:
2 slices of bread.
NO BUTTER
low fat cheese/jams
tea without sugar
Or just some cereals.
1100 hour break
2 slices of bread and a pack of crackers
2 glasses of water/milk
lunch break
2 slices of bread or 1 roti
WITHOUT butter and low fat jam/cheese etc.
1 apple and 1 orange/banana
water
1600 hours
A simple salade (without any dressing or chicken/fish etc.)
water
dinner
1 roti (depends on size)
try to cook food with olive oil
Dont use alot of salt and desi masala's
A cup of tea without sugar or sugar substitute
After this a 15-20 minute walk before going to bed would be very healthy :D
P.S. I lost 20 pounds by just eating healthy stuff :D
So no fries or burgers and that kinda stuff :D
And after I joined the gym :)
thats allot of carbs buddy.
Men's bodies work differently from women - I would blow up even more.
/edit/
Go with the diet :k:
I am seriously thinking about south beach diet too... feedbacks are highly appreciated
on confused s request, edited
dutchy, allah jab tofeeq day yaar, dil bura na kareen inka..
muniya, control WHAT u eat, WHEN u eat and HOW u eat. and dutchy is right.. gym's time is MADE ..
just TELL ur self.. falaan falaan time gym ka hay..and follow it as if its required to live..
/\ theek hai yar, :D
samjo edit kardiya :D
Muniya go for the diet, it helps your body's insulin levels and how the body reacts to insulin, there is science behind cutting carbs, almost all carbs initially and then reintroducing complex carbs, the concept behind that, ornish, atkins, glycemic index and all is the same.
I did start up my work outs again.
And I am taking walks during lunch too.
Frauds: I am not to fond of the Atkins diet at all.
Inshahallah will start kaal sey and let you people know how it goes.
Muniya, the point was that at the heart of all these diff diets its the same principle, control your body's insulin production and levels.
if you look at it there are minimal differences between south beach diet and atkins diet.
I am not saying go for the atkins diet, but that the reaosn these diets work is how they help you control your insulin.
Muniya, just eat balance diet, go for gym, jogging, running, etc. Make a schedule for it and follow it religiously.
I will come up with more tips later… but don’t go for these diet programs, they are good for nothing.
check out this site, it has some good information http://www.mypyramid.gov/
I did south beach twice and lost weight both times. However i dont think its sustainable so in the end i did healthy eating combined with a lot of training.
How does working out with weights effect the metabolism...I mean is it better then the aerobic exercises only.I mm not overweight but I need to just firm up...Weights is wat I ave heard , the best way to go...I finally have to use my gym membership...which I have in the past used, only to take the kids to the swimming pool....:)
generally, aerobics are (by default) associated with women, and weights for men..
in my experience, (since every body is different from each other) i find it MORE challenging to do weights.. i dont worry about metabolism..
BUT! since u asked, what both do is take the muscle sets from inactive/low-level-movement to very active/high-level movements.. if u continue that for half hour, body receives communication from those muscle sets that we’re spending energy, so keep sending it..
so body will start generating energy.. based on what u ate, when u ate it, it attacks storage: fat. in IDEAL CONDITIONS, it should attack the STORED/already-digested fat first..
since half hour is REALLY extensive, ur metabolism shoots up, tries to produce energy to keep up..now after u finish ur half hour session, it doesnt slow down right away.. (cuz muscle sets that were being used are now worn/torn) so its still generating energy..
a half hour EXTENSIVE workout causes metabolism to shoot up for like 6 hrs.. between this time, whatever healthy stuff u eat, is going STRAIGHT to maintenance, not storage..
thats basically what aerobics/weights do to metabolism..
SIMPLE tips to keep ur metabolism elevated:
-
instead of 3 meals a day (yeah yeah, english people were smoking rope), switch to 6 meals a day .. KEY idea is to eat EQUAL amount in total.. so u’re eating HALF as much, with half time in middle as compared to before..
-
thats just meals.. while u’re reading this, start tapping/dancing/shaking ur feet .. u will be surprized HOW MUCH stored energy (fat) is burnt during this simple exercise.. our ancestors used to tell us that this is a sign of nervousness to continously moving ur legs or hands or tapping tables is bad manners, SO BEWARE OF YOUR SURROUNDINGS.
-
every motion counts, if u’re sitting on table, dont ask to “pass spoon”, get up, walk towards it.. DONT plan ahead what u need to sit down, again: our ancestors butted in this one: ek baar sab kuch lay kar baith jaya karo.
-
stairs- they are ur best friends.. i live in a 4level house.. i ABSOLUTELY, love running up/down stairs.. pretty much a set of 4-5 stairs is giving u a NICE burn.. and its at a good spot too.. lower ankles and upper thighs :k:
-
regardless ur working schedules, DONT EAT anything less than 2hrs before sleeping .. or napping .. idea is to STAY AWAKE and burn it