Re: South Asian Muslims’ Self-Hatred
nope
it has been proven by me living with Arabs for most of my life
anyone who has lived with arabs agrees with this comment including many arabs
Re: South Asian Muslims' Self-Hatred
nope
Make your mind up, you seem to have such a love-hate relationship with Arabs.
Either you are going on about how different we are from Indians and how similar we are to Arabs or you're bashing Arabs like they're a disease, lol.
Why must we Pakis always hate on someone?
I personally think Arabs are ace, the ones I know personally anyway, the ones I've spoke to on the net have been dicks... Arabs might not get on with some Pakis but that's because some Pakis are just scum.
Either you are going on about how different we are from Indians and how similar we are to Arabs or you're bashing Arabs like they're a disease, lol.
merc is the zionist rep to GS. he wants pakistan to fight india and wants pakistan to fight arabs. a set of events he believes makes his beloved country more secure.
infact, its only pro israellis who ever notice arabs.
I personally think Arabs are ace, the ones I know personally anyway, the ones I've spoke to on the net have been dicks... Arabs might not get on with some Pakis but that's because some Pakis are just scum.
i agree
we cant hate arabs about anything, we always outscore them in any negative way
Cultures are always in flux. For Pakistanis to adopt a different culture will lead them to look like fools.
To clarify, I don't mean that wearing a shirt and pants to work means that you have adopted the culture, instead I am referring to adopting to social norms such as going to the pub after work to grab a pint. Therefore I believe that the article has oversimplified the adaption of culture by talking about thobes and keffiyehs.
Many Pakistanis do try to adopt/link with another culture and it starts with my family came from (Arabia/Iran/Afghanistan/Turkey).
My 'culture' spans two countries (Pak. & Afghan) and predates Islam. I like my culture and the linkages it provides me to my kins, but I also follow Islam and I am a very nationalistic Pakistani. I don't think that there is anything wrong with that. Any culture- including Arabian- has traditions predating the rise of Islam, to argue otherwise, is a statement of ignorance.
nope
I have lived there too and faced the racism, but still don't want to generalize, perhaps you are fan of generalization. There are very good arabs too.
Arabs are the most racist, extremist and hot blooded people on the planet
I agree with you that Arabs are racist and that's why Saudi govt have discriminatory eastern contract and western contract while employing people from overseas. And that's why I left my saudi job despite handsome pay because I cannot breath even for a moment in a racist society even if given a million dollar pay.
But I am amazed that you always tried to identify Pakistanis as descended from Arabs or other similar groups and now you have taken a 180 degree opposite view.
I agree with you that Arabs are racist and that's why Saudi govt have discriminatory eastern contract and western contract while employing people from overseas. And that's why I left my saudi job despite handsome pay because I cannot breath even for a moment in a racist society even if given a million dollar pay.
But I am amazed that you always tried to identify Pakistanis as descended from Arabs or other similar groups and now you have taken a 180 degree opposite view.
Well not just Arabs, but persians, turks and afghans, etc...
merc is the zionist rep to GS. he wants pakistan to fight india and wants pakistan to fight arabs. a set of events he believes makes his beloved country more secure.
Really?
When did I say Pakistan should fight India?
I just don't like the Arabs of today.
Back a 1,000 years ago, the Arabs were tolerant, peaceful, treated minorities with respect and it was those Arabs who came and settled in Pakistan.
Not the Arabs of today, who are xenophobic, racist, extremist
Maybe so. But anyone who has lived in the middle east agrees that Arabs are very racist
I have lived there too and faced the racism, but still don't want to generalize, perhaps you are fan of generalization. There are very good arabs too.
The only good Arabs are Shi'a Arabs and Greek Orthodox Arabs.
ek aur aye Mr Generalizer
Either this is a jocular statement or if you meant this in seriousness, then I believe you really need to broaden your mind and expose yourself to other cultures and civilizations...
You need to be more tolerant of other people's views...Such hatred against a race of people in this day and age is not really acceptable...Open your heart and your mind will follow...
What an interesting thread................
The article made a few good points, about the erosion of our culture. The Salafi brothers I have met instantly dismiss a lot of our (Pakistani) traditions and I have noticed they are very quick at calling other sects innovators or kaafir.
We should all be united, in the ideal world, and treat other non Muslims as we would wish to be treated by them.
All I can go on is what I have observed living in England. There are the ignorant Pakistanis, whom sweet_taboo seems to despise but when he goes on to state that if Arabs hate Pakistanis it's because most Pakistanis are scum, that is a textbook definition of self hatred.
There are all kinds of Pakistanis, here in England or wherever, it is wrong to dismiss and negatively label so many people. The older I got the more I realised how a large number of Arabs look down on us and that hurt, to be honest. However I don't hate them back, there's no point. I'm sure there are many decent Arab people in the world today but the bad ones have cast a shadow on their people. Just like some Pakistanis have given the rest of us a bad name.
Here in England I see the Salafi kind of brothers who want to be Arabs, I respect them for following what they consider to be The Prophet's way of life but I find their attitudes to be unsettling at times. They have been taught to despise their own parent's culture, that is very sad. Pakistanis have traditionally been good Muslims so I don't like some of these brainwashed self righteous brothers looking at us like we are deviants.
I know some of these people have a very noble cause but they are stubborn. A righteous path is to be respected but many of them come across as being arrogant and snobbish, which surely runs counter to the ideals of a true man of any faith.
The other extreme are the Pakistanis who want to be white at all costs.
At times all I see are the extremes, I just want to live my life, follow my religion as well as I can and yet retain my Pakistani heritage.
Oh yeah, sweet_taboo, you can get some really nice shalwar kameez I'm surprised at you saying they all look shabby. I wear western clothes most of the time but at home I like wearing shalwar kameez it's the most comfortable clothing in the world for men.
I would despise anything in my culture that goes against the beliefs of my faith like dowry, celebrating Milad, peer faqir stuff e.t.c....
There are many reasons why Pakistanis like Arabs- 1) first and foremost, we(us and Arabs) share essentially the same genetic structure 2) We should look upto a community as successful as the Arabs instead of the Indians- if at all we want a community to emulate/copy. Indians are a failed community overall- Arabs are way ahead in Science and Technology than the Indians. I am saying Indians because there’s a tendency to celebrate Basant and sing bollywood mujras even in my own community- the punjabis. 3) Arabs have a lot to give to us in terms of money and education but all Indians have to give to us is hatred and bollywood movies
I am okay even if some arabs slap some Pakistani, I’d say they have haq to do so being the elder brother- Inshallah one day eik din Pakistan banega Arab ![]()
are a failed community overall- Arabs are way ahead in Science and Technology than the Indians.
So why is it that the Arab world continues to regress economically and politically? The whole Arab world produces less books than Spain!
If it weren't for oil, they would be exporting camel milk and you know it.
I'd rather compete against the Indians to further better ourselves, instead of bending over for a bunch of backward (and useless) people like the Khaleeji Arabs.
Now if you said the Levantine Arabs, I'd agree with you. Look at Lebanese and the Syrians, at least they know how to prosper without the use of oil. Lebanese have higher literacy rates than the Khaleeji Arabs and at least let women do whatever they want.
ek aur aye Mr Generalizer
Sorry but that's how I feel.
Both of those groups are less racist and less arrogant than Sunni Arabs are.
Maybe…But they sure are a lot more murderous…
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2006/05/26/AR2006052601578_pf.html
Can I also generalize?
COming back to the interesting topic. Its quite true that Pakistanis and south asians have this identity crisis. I have also noticed that we somehow feel underconfident in front of arabs when it comes to religion. ANybody who speaks arabic is automatically thought of as knowledgeable in Islam.
Anyway,
I guess problem lies deep within us also. You commonly see Arabs wearing their dress openly in the international media....their ghtra eegall and thoub.
Sadly, many Pakistanis would be shy in openly doing so + we are even within our country doing away with an important pillar of culture - Urdu.... We don't even want our kids to learn it...W ejust give a smile when kids say painsath (65) kia hota hai...Sixty five.,..?
So its all related. A general feeling that our culture language and ways of doing things are inferior.
However, i also feel that tehre is nothing wrong in learning a foreign language - Arabic. It can only be beneficial.
For every action, there is a reaction.
The Sunnis in Iraq instigated it by engaging in wanton slaughter against the Shi’a, what do you expect?