South Africa vs. Pakistan - 2nd Test - 19-23 Jan at Port Elizabeth

Dates: January Fri 19 - Tue 23 2007

Timings
GMT - 8:30 am
EST - 3:30 am
PST - 1:30 pm
IST - 2:00 pm

Weather: Light Rain is expected on Saturday. Mainly sunny throughout the test match.

Pakistan Test Squad

1. Inzamam-ul-Haq (captain)
  2. Younis Khan (vice-captain)
  3. Asim Kamal
  4. Danish Kaneria
  5. Faisal Iqbal
  6. Imran Farhat
  7. Kamran Akmal (wicketkeeper)
  8. Mohammad Asif
  9. Mohammad Hafeez
  10. Mohammad Sami
  11. Mohammad Yousuf
  12. Naved-ul-Hasan
  13. Shahid Nazir
  14. Shoaib Akhtar
  15. Umar Gul
  16. Yasir Hameed
  17. Zulqarnain Haider (wicketkeeper)

South Africa Test Squad

1. GC Smith (captain)
  2. JH Kallis (vice-captain)
  3. PR Adams
  4. HM Amla
  5. MV Boucher (wicketkeeper)
  6. AB de Villiers
  7. HH Gibbs
  8. AJ Hall
  9. PL Harris
  10. M Morkel
  11. A Nel
  12. M Ntini
  13. SM Pollock
  14. AG Prince
  15. JA Rudolph
  16. DW Steyn

Re: South Africa vs. Pakistan - 2nd Test - 19-23 Jan at Port Elizabeth

ya Allah please jitta dein humein yeah series:insha:

Wah jee SG kiya team announce kee heay...yanee kiya baat heay...
sarey hee khilaree maujood heain....

Pakistan should go in with 4 speacialist Bowlers and 1 leg spinner.
Also perhaps now is the rite time to 'cap' wk Zulqernain Hairder.
I don't know, may be I just see it appropriate to use our wild card now than never.
Ps; Faisal and Asim are no way going to become match winners for Pakistan neither they have what it takes,,,,, what a waste of time,,,!!!

champoo, its test squad, not final XI selected=playing team. :stuck_out_tongue:

itnay saaf suthray aur informative opening post ki tareef tou ki nahi, keeray nikal liye foren. :snooty:

Team should be:

1. Farhat
  2. Hafeez
  3. Yasir
  4. Younis
  5. Yousaf
  6. Inzi
  7. Akmal
  8. Shoaib
  9. Sami/Gul (if Gul is playing then Yasir may get axe, and Asim could come in at number 6 with YK, MY and Inzi moving up in the order to 3, 4 and 5)
  10. Kaneria
  11. Asif

But Gul and Yasir inclusion could make it possible to level the series.

:mad: Cheetay kay pinjray mein phir sey talaa laga diya kumbukhton?! :mad:

I would love to see this team

Hafeez
Farhat
Yasir
Younis
Yousuf
Inzi
Akmal
Akhtar
Gul
Kaneria
Asif

But the only problem I see with this team is sending Inzi at #6 would be a waste. You could take out Yasir Hameed and put in Asim Kamal who is a middle/lower order bastmen. But I think that would be a big blunder as he hasnt played any test matches recently, and especially in South African conditions it will take him some time to adjust, but if he fails, he will likely get dropped for the next match. On the other hand, Yasir has been in good form recently, and dropping him would be unfair to him. Its a tough situation.

Hafeez hasnt scored runs but has looked solid defensively in this series than ever before. You can tell he has worked on his technique to play the extra bounce and leave balls outside off stump. Farhat also looked determined in his 2nd innings score of 68 from 168 balls. So its hard to drop one of openers and make Yasir open as he has been doing well at the #3 position.

^^ I would agree with the above team and its likely the above mentioned team will play.

Oh haan Cheetay bhai nay thread nahi khola:shoaby::chupki:

Saw a photo in my newspaper this morning of Shoaib bowling and his shirt lifted away from his middle. Was amazed at the spread about his middle. Maybe he IS unfit and it might be a blunder to select him....

Team look good, but to get more out of Younis, Yousaf and Inzi, it will be better to start with Farhat and Yasir, then Younis, Yousaf and Inzi and send Hafeez at Number 6. where he could do hard hitting if first five did a good job or otherwise he could consolidate if first 5 unfortunately departed sooner than expected.

Kiya baat heay chimpanzee…
Chalo theeek heay..
mubarak ho thread kohl dala…
wah jee wah…

what…
:what:

I would move yasir up to Open and move out hafeez and bring in Asim Kamal.
Also, I agree it does not hurt to try Zulqarnain for WK…at the worst he won’t get many runs…and with Akmal’s batting form it won’t matter that much.
It would be nice to see how Zulqy keeps wickets…is he good enough to take to the WC…
so my recommended 11 would be (No Sami and should keep Kaneria - even though he did not get wickets - he bowled reasonably well - if they would have brought AbdurRehman then I would suggest him instead but that is not the case :

1. Yasir
  2. Farhat
  3. Younis
  4. Yousuf
  5. Inzi
  6. Asim
  7. Zulqarnain
  8. Gul
  9. Akhtar
  10. Kaneria
  11. Asif

IMHO…
:jhanda:

^ i dont think zulqarnain is ever gonna play a test for pakistan....

sounds like a good team^^ but I think the philosophy of think tank when touring abroad is: whatever is working, let it work.

I dont think so Zulqi will play unless akmal is injured or steal away Inzi’s biryani :smiley:
I like the opening pair so lets wait and see :jhanda:

^ he might get a game in ODI though wether we win or loose.

couple of games would be nice.

Here is my lineup

Hafeez
Yasir
Younus
Yousuf
Inzi
Asim (or if you like, Faisal)
Akmal
Nazir
Akhter
Gul
Asif

Go pacers, get them :)

Is it a co-incidence that Pak women team is in SA as well at the same time and they will be playing an ODI against the SA women team while the 2nd test is being played.