Sorry, I am born to a Pakistani but cannot read Urdu

Re: Sorry, I am born to a Pakistani but cannot read Urdu

An article in the Economist…i know its a bit long…but still much better than walls of texts including emotional rants…

Multilingualism: Johnson: Bringing up baby bilingual | The Economist

Actually, that is exactly what he implied. If you don’t speak Urdu, you don’t have the right to comment on anything that’s happening in Pakistan. Read below:

[quote="“ajazali, post:367, topic:298799"”]

those who dont even wish to learn urdu should think twice before claiming the right of commenting on everything happens in Pakistan.

I’d also like to add that his comment is rather presumptuous. Speaking Urdu does not mean that you understand what an average Pakistani feels any more than a person who doesn’t. Do you suppose that a wealthy politician, living in Pakistan and who speaks Urdu, understands what the “average” Pakistani feels and thinks?

Uhohhh. Better stick to your roots. English doesnt seem to be your forte.

This is what I was referring to.

There really is no need to be rude and dictate to others what they should do or should not do.

Fyi parents:

I know talking to your children in urdu can be hard, but thats LITERALLY all you need to do for them to learn to speak it. Amazing isnt it?

Edit: also, celebrating thanksgiving is a must but preserving your mother tongue in your offspring is more effort than some are willing to exert?

Mezghan, ajazali is right. And if after this many pages you cant see it, you never will. But ya know what they say, ignorance bliss hoti hai.

I don’t understand it…why would you deliberately decide not to make an effort? Why would you deliberately decide to let that connection to culture diminish at an even faster rate?

It’s like you’re saying, “My grandkids and great-grandkids won’t have that same level of connection, but lemme help the “disconnection” along the way but not trying my best either. Lemme try my darndest to make sure my own children have even “less” knowledge than I had of my roots/culture to pass down to their own kids.” You can call it priority…fine; I won’t argue with you there as every decision reflects a priority. But there’s another word that applies as well and it ain’t fear…it’s apathy.

It can be argued that even fear is healthy to an extent because it motivates one to make an effort. But apathy…and you can choose to shroud apathy in words that sound more pleasing your ears …like priority, or prerogative, or open-mindedness, individual right, or you can use a more assertive and blunt phrase such as “Mind your own damn business!”…but it’s still apathy.

It is a given that everyone has a “right” to their beliefs during a debate.

Yes, you have a right to raise your kids the way you want. When did we ever say that we’re gonna knock your door down, barge into your homes and raise your kids for for you? Nobody is taking that right away from you. And to harp on this point is indicative of defensiveness because in EVERY debate on ANY issue…whether it’s on language, or abortion, or homosexuality, or religion, or whatever…you will ALWAYS have the “right” to your opinion and to your lifestyle. That should not stop or prevent both opposing teams from having an a strong opinion about the topic.

There are several people on here who believe teaching Urdu (spoken or written or both) is not important, however I have not interpreted their posts to be a “dictation” of how I should raise my kids, nor have I felt pressured and thus I haven’t felt the need to say, “It’s my right.” I will always have the right to my beliefs and my lifestyle regardless of the topic. That said, put forth more substantial arguments than mere “givens” that hold true for every debate.

I don’t understand it either. The fear of losing a culture…a culture someone doesn’t live in. The fear of this weakness being in our kids as if it will make them lesser human beings. That is what I want to see banished in my kids. Not knowing Urdu is a weakness (if it can be called one) I will happily deal with and help them strengthen themselves in other ways I deem more useful.

People have flaws…learning Urdu will not make someone’s kids perfect…at least not to me.

You can call it anything you want…but at the end of the day…there is no right or wrong answer to this. There just isn’t and I haven’t found a single post in this entire thread so far that has compelled me to re-think my position. Not one post gives me a solid and valid reason why I should make monumental efforts to teach my kids Urdu. I have come across other peoples’ priorities, their connection with their culture and all that. But that’s it. I don’t have that same connection and it hasn’t caused problems for me - ever. In fact, my distance at times has made me happier. Less gossip.

Its really nice to have a connection with your culture. Sure. I can see why people like it and if I wanted to be more connected to culture, there’s no end of options.

But the way I live my life and how I see myself living it…I just don’t see myself giving Urdu priority. I don’t see myself as that type of mom. I guess I have a different vision.

But why do people need to have substantial arguments? That is what is confusing me. I am not asking anyone to prove WHY its important.

It does seem as if my choice is offensive to some posters and that is baffling to me. Lots of Pakistanis born and raised outside of Pakistan do not know Urdu. This isn’t a brand new concept I am introducing here. And I don’t find it offensive at all. We have a Palestinian BIL in our family - he doesn’t speak an ounce of Urdu obviously. We seem to be communicating and getting along fine…he’s not expected to know Urdu.

Ok if not substantial arguments, then stick to weaker ones…you’ve the right to that as well; nobody’s stopping you.

You’re not the only one..

But why the dire need to substantiate a choice? Even when I was bothering to defend myself…just for fun…I presented arguments and they were fired down as if someone else can actually refute them. I cannot agree with people who believe anyone’s choices can be challenged.

It was strange…diwana and his ominous posts thundering through this thread as if the National Society of People Who Choose to Pass on Urdu were turning in their graves.

you are the one to answer that… why?

I am not questioning anyone’s beliefs here…I have been answering for my own.

So its not me that has to answer that.

the bold part equates to =*the dire need to substantiate a choice

so…again… why?*

Points made by others and I who represent the opposing team were also refuted by your side. Tum wahid to nahi ho. Why are you viewing this as a debate against us and “Reha”???

"Why do we substantiate choices? " Yaar aik debate main aur kya karte hain? That is the purpose of a debate…to defend/substantiate your choices. Outside of the debate in this virtual world, don’t you “substantiate” your choices/decisions to others or even just to yourself in real life? It could be the choice to work in one place and not the other, the choice to live here or there, the choice to pick one insurance over another, the choice to pick one product over another, the choice to reject or accept something.

“If someone can “actually refute” them.” Points can actually be refuted. Whether or not you accept the refutation or consider it to have merit is upto you. But in a debate opposing sides attempt to prove merit in their arguments and if it seems to be lacking, it’s refuted. You and others brought up points such as disconnection…and the opposing team tried to refute this point. You brought up the point of bring “global”…I didn’t see merit in that, so I refuted it. You guys don’t see merit in us believing that it doesn’t require laborious effort to teach Urdu, so you tried to refute it. The point of religion was brought up and those that didn’t agree, argued/negated it. When you brought up learning Arabic and Spanish a few threads back, the first thing I did was say how I can understand why you’ve said that…to show that I concur with you to a degree. “Fired down?” My arguments were fired down too…heck even with the use of articles by the opposing team. So? Debate entails firing down, no? It’s not an us against Reha thread.

I don’t think you understood my post or what I said.

One more time, shall we?

There is no reason to question a choice people make. But I was and that is WHY I answered.

Why was a choice questioned? Why the dire need to substantiate someone else’s choice? As if once you hear something you like you can nod your head and say “okay, that makes sense…carry on”.

Why the dire need to substantiate your own choice? and answer those who questioned it??

isn’t responding to such a question as absurd as questioning a choice?

And with that - I am out.

RV - I wish I agreed with you but I have yet to see someone come in here and give me some solid reasoning telling me I’d be causing harm by not passing on Urdu.

interestingly nobody even trried to reason that it causes ‘harm’… so you couldn’t possibly find that a solid reasoning for that…

Look Reha, you weren’t the only one who was “questioned.” People who gave “likes” to your post and thus showed concurrence with your views were also “questioned” at the same time by the opposing team. They may not have posted…or they might have posted less frequently than you…but it wasn’t only your views that were challenged. Similarly if I post and others agree with me, and you challenge my views…it’s not just my views that are being questioned or challenged.

You said, “There is no need to question a choice people make. but I was and that is WHY I answered.” Let’s say this was a debate on abortion and you are against it. Will your stance be questioned? Yes. Will you have to back it up with reasons? Yes. That’s what you do in a debate. You question and answer and it goes back n forth. Have you not asked questions of your own in this thread? Yes, you have. Kya hum ne ya kisi ne tumhe poochne se roka hai? Nope. Tum wahid nahi ho is thread main jis k views ko question kia gaya hai, nor are you the only one to answer; everyone has been doing that.