sons 'n daughters

i am the youngest of three daughters, followed by one son. Over my lifetime, many individuals (relatives and non-relatives, including strangers) have commented that we ‘should’ have had the son first, then the daughters because from a ‘pragmatic’ point of view, the son theoretically would have been in a position to help out the parents while the daughters - well, we know what daughters do. They marry and leave their homes. Khair. The son, theoretically, would at least by this age have been able to start earning financially if not get married, and hence take care of our parents. Daughters, on the other hand, as my eldest Baji did, get married aur apna ghaR kahin aur basaatay hain.

Khair. i have to say - this is extremely unique thinking, and possesses more complexities than anyone perhaps acknowledges publically. My Abbu doesn’t live in Canada, he lives abroad; there are so many things that i do here that has become second nature for me. Even Abbu was surprised at how many ‘guy’ activities i do. If the car needs to be taken to the mechanic’s, i go with my Ammi to do it (or she goes with me). . If the car needs to be washed or shampooed, it’s usually me who arranges that. If the oil needs to be changed, it’s me who does it. We had to have the locks on our doors oiled; apparently the weather here makes them susceptible to rust. So i did it. i am more comfortable with a can of WD40 in my hands, than a bottle of perfume. Whenever it was -30 outside, we (as in my bajis and i) automatically tell Ammi she’s not going to go outside in the cold; jo bhi ghar ka kaam hota hai, we do it. We force her to stay inside so she doesn’t have to deal with the weather conditions. Driveway needs to be salted - guess who does it. Just because the son hasn’t been born first in line, doesn’t mean that the daughters are any less capable, or willing, to handle the chores that have traditionally been the guy’s domain.

i just wanted to make this point. Maybe it is a stupid one. i have a bit of free time, and probably will not be logging in again for a couple days, so just wanted to make this point and get it off my mind somewhere. Girls are no less capable than guys. Infact, we are generally speaking more willing to do these things and we expect nothing in return. Just the acknowledgement that we are not inferior to guys. The order in which children are born vis-a-vis their genders, is rather superficial from ONE point of view…in the sense that, there is no guarantee that having a son first would have made my parents’ lives any easier. i mean, he could have been an arrogant spoiled brat and perhaps refuse to do those chores (God Forbid). i do what i always am able to for my parents… my gender has nothing to do with it. It is my duty, nothing less.

Just cuz we are three daughters first, doesn’t mean that makes my parents’ lives any more difficult. i’m not the perfect child, but neither does my gender play a massive factor in whether or not i take care of my parents.

IF i ever got married, i would want my parents to live with me (and yes, hubby’s parents as well). Just cuz i am a female, doesn’t mean there are things i can’t do… having three daughters first, in my opinion, was probably a blessing for my parents in ways that only Allah can understand.

very true.. i feel the same!

in my house im the eldest daughter, then theres a bro whose only a year younger and then a sis

im like the boy of the house, even though im treated younge than my bro. Its kinda wierd, cus there some silent agreement that hes the older bro and i dont really care

but when it comes to doing things, i do EVERYTHING (besides the car stuff)

Nadia, I completely agree with you :hug:

And unless there is a practical reason to it, like girls cant carry very heavy suitcases [though I have sometimes, I’ve been living alone for college and doing all sorts of ‘guy’s tasks’ I guess] and how in Pakistan girls can’t go to “certain” places alone (like very crowded bazaars where there won’t be a female far and wide in sight) I don’t believe in dividing tasks into the categories of “girl’s” and “guy’s” tasks. Islam doesn’t. Our Prophet (SAW) did so many things like milking goats, mending his own shoes…So whatever one can physically do, one should do.

As for having parents with me in old age, although my dad I have a feeling would never live with me because he has got a very traditional mindset, even though my mom might agree to it, it is a really deep wish of mine that they do. You know I heard in Arab culture the parents live with their daughters, and honestly speaking that makes so much more sense.

Nadia.... i dont kno if its good for my parents or not.. m the eldest and the only daughter of my parents... sum how .. i was always the laadli one... u kno being the eldest and the only one does hav its perks... but no matter wut i do.. how much i acheived.. they never shared my earnings... even though i tried.. i never understood the reasons.. but if thats wut they wanted... i didnt want to hurt them ever! ... luckily i never came across the feelings that i should be younger then my bros... but then... my situation n urs r quite different... there was a time when i could give anything to hav a sister.. now i think... m enjoying all the attention m getting... from my parents n bros ... :-)

nadia beta kis ne daant diya aap ko????

Nadia,

You're point is not a stupid one. It's very valid. And though it has been addressed hundreds of times before, it's not been dealt with enough.

I whole-heartedly agree with everything that you have said and wanna add one thing that you touched upon very lightly... that is, in our community it seems that more women are willing to cross those gender barriers than men. Why do you think that is?

Have we been mind-washed into being too accommodating?

Nadia, an excellent thread. :k:

Gender roles are perverse in my opinion when it comes to desis. I can remember my mom, who is just as educated and capable as my father when it comes to career, always made the food, did the house work above and beyond her daily work related routine in India.

When we came to the states, my dad got the shock of his life. He had to learn to cook, do laundry, get us kid dressed for school and other household things while my mother left earlier than him for work. Over a period of time, oneof my most vivid memories of my father was, him going downstairs to clean the snow off the car, then come upstairs and make her a cup of tea. He used to jest..“dekho..kaisi zindagi ban gayi hai humari kay mem saab koh subhay subhay unkey pati parmeshwar haathon sey chai banakey deytay hain” :hehe:

I think the chances of changing the desi mindset in this regard is greater in educated families than not.

I see the parents of the kids at my NGO and they are still stuck in the 10th century. Two Pakistani families refused to send their girls to the SAT prep classes, even though their sons had gone through the same program. After much pleading by the counselors and the visit from a few board members did they change their mind. Both girls are at Queens college now.
Slowly but surely, we wil change the paradigm. You are already doing your part. :k:

P.S.: I am still voting for Bush :stuck_out_tongue:

I completely agree Nadia. Infact if you look at the majority its daughters who are always there for their parents...sons are the ones who don;t stick around. Daughters are there whether they are married or single, to the best of their ability and I repeat may be not in all but MOST cases. I have brothers too who are younger and honestly speaking they are so busy with their own studies, friends, games and activities that it is next to impossible to make them do anything. We girls take care of practially everything from house chores to outside stuff. And I believe my brothers are getting so used to it that even if they are asked to do something or given a responsiblity they most usually get out of it. Before parents would pray for sons as a 'burhaapay ka sahara' I don't see sons serving any purpose now :p I think parents just want sons as trophies or something! :p

Sometimes a son can’t be ‘bhurapay ka sahara’ because someone else’s daughter sets other preferences for him.
Sometimes guys choose to live their own lives rather than being ‘bhurapay ka sahara’
I don’t think we can generalize.

As for daughters being capable of doing everything that a son can do is commendable however is not a prerequisite for them to attain the respect they desire.

Hey, Hey ,Hey.. :hoonh:

Hum abhi bhi unkey aankhon kay taaray hain. :snooty: My sister gets soooo jealous. :stuck_out_tongue:

I agree 100%, girls can be anything they want to be. Only thing holding them back in some cases is their own lack of confidence and self-belief. Our typical desi society doesn't exactly help either. If more women start to think like you, I am sure everyone stands to benefit.

My kinda thread. I totally agree with u Nadia.

Wow Nadia, that was nicely written. My dad has often said that to him, his daughters * are * his sons (mostly cuz my brothers are a total waste of space).

When I was younger, I always wanted a son before I had a daughter as the son would help protect and look after his little sister (in my defence, I was only 15ish at the time!). I guess the reason I thought like this was because I had older brothers who had always stuck up for us girls at school and made sure we never got ourselves into any trouble.

the fact that my parents call me “beta” instead of “beti” does it for me :blush:

girls who do these so called “male” jobs arent trying to achieve any rank in society. They’re simply doing jobs/tasks that come easy to them and are comfortable with

they aint trying to say “hey i can do what a guy can”, they r saying “i can do it cus i want to do it”

Sadzzz, Irem, Aleezay, Muzna Baji, Matty, Femme Fatale, Fayz, SKhan, Chandbeti, Sadi Sobi,

Thank you.

Sadzzz, Absolutely. i am in complete agreement with your last sentences in this thread.

Sadi Sobi, i know. i have heard that comment from some of my relatives after they came over to our home and saw how much we daughters do for our parents. They say stuff along the lines of, ‘Aap [to my mother] ko beTa aur beTi donon ka maza mil gia.’ In the sense that, not only do they get the benefits of having daughters, but on top of that, the daughters are doing the work traditionally relegated to the sons…so they’ve got the best of both worlds.

Muzna Baji, Excellent question.
Regarding your point about accomodating - i think i am doing what my situation requires me to. We have no older male figures in this household once my Abbu leaves; one has to adjust in the situation you find yourself in. Maybe, generally speaking, females are taught to be more ‘open’ towards the idea of fulfilling multiple roles in a household and to put others’ needs first? There is nothing wrong in that as long as one does not lose sense of one’s own identity. But then i guess i should add, that goes without saying.

Matty, We seem to be agreeing more than disagreeing these days. i think i am beginning to like you - seriously. Sometimes your points are extremely valid. Your father did a really wonderful thing, it was nice to read that.

You’re voting for four more years of lies ? :stuck_out_tongue: Okay :stuck_out_tongue:

Irem, As i read in some book somewhere, Hazrat Muhammad (may Allah’s peace and blessings be upon him) was (to quote the book written by some Muslim author) in the service of his own household.

Femme, i understand exactly what you mean.

Chandbeti, Thanks :flower1:

Aleezay, hehe. Enjoy that attention while you have it:~) Masha’Allah, good for you.

Armughal, No one. :~)

Nadia, agreeing on a few things are ok. I just want to remind you that, I prefer to shop at Begdorf, have a penchant for John Varvatos sweaters and will vote for bush, not because Kerry is going to change anything ont he war on terror. But because froma tax perspective, I will be giving away less to the gov’t. Ihave been eyeing these David Yurman cufflinks, I think I will hav e my wife pick them up. :k: