Songs by ur fav.lyricist/writter!

i think i have a consensus with umar on this one…gulzar sahab all the way :slight_smile:

anyways we all know songs r made hit by those who sing it and those who compose it …but eh!!the writer has as vital a role as anyone else in drawin the line between a song and a classic :slight_smile:

hers my pick from maya maim sahab…and of course this ones from gulzar himself

ik haseen nigah ka
dil pay saaya hai
jadoo hai
janoon hai
wo kaisee maya hai
wo maya hai

…wo roothee(not rotee HAIN?)
roothee ..rehtee hai
buhat ..buhat manaya hai

wo roothee roothee rehtee hai
buhat buha manaya hai…ik…

MR

Changes
2Pac
Greatest Hits
-1-
Come on come on I see no changes wake up in the morning and I ask myself is life worth living should I blast myself? I'm tired of bein' poor & even worse I'm black my stomach hurts so I'm lookin' for a purse to snatch Cops give a damn about a negro pull the trigger kill a nigga he's a hero Give the crack to the kids who the hell cares one less ugly mouth on the welfare First ship 'em dope & let 'em deal the brothers give 'em guns step back watch 'em kill each other It's time to fight back that's what Huey said 2 shots in the dark now Huey's dead I got love for my brother but we can never go nowhere unless we share with each other We gotta start makin' changes learn to see me as a brother instead of 2 distant strangers and that's how it's supposed to be How can the Devil take a brother if he's close to me? I'd love to go back to when we played as kids but things changed, and that's the way it is Bridge w/ changing ad libs Come on come on That's just the way it is Things'll never be the same That's just the way it is aww yeah Repeat

-2-
I see no changes all I see is racist faces misplaced hate makes disgrace to races We under I wonder what it takes to make this one better place, let's erase the wasted Take the evil out the people they'll be acting right 'cause both black and white is smokin' crack tonight and only time we chill is when we kill each other it takes skill to be real, time to heal each other And although it seems heaven sent We ain't ready, to see a black President, uhh It ain't a secret don't conceal the fact the penitentiary's packed, and it's filled with blacks But some things will never change try to show another way but you stayin' in the dope game Now tell me what's a mother to do bein' real don't appeal to the brother in you You gotta operate the easy way "I made a G today" But you made it in a sleazy way sellin' crack to the kid. " I gotta get paid," Well hey, well that's the way it is Bridge

Talking:
We gotta make a change... It's time for us as a people to start makin' some changes. Let's change the way we eat, let's change the way we live and let's change the way we treat each other. You see the old way wasn't working so it's on us to do what we gotta do, to survive.

-3-
And still I see no changes can't a brother get a little peace It's war on the streets & the war in the Middle East Instead of war on poverty they got a war on drugs so the police can bother me And I ain't never did a crime I ain't have to do But now I'm back with the blacks givin' it back to you Don't let 'em jack you up, back you up, crack you up and pimp slap you up You gotta learn to hold ya own they get jealous when they see ya with ya mobile phone But tell the cops they can't touch this I don't trust this when they try to rush I bust this That's the sound of my tool you say it ain't cool my mama didn't raise no fool And as long as I stay black I gotta stay strapped & I never get to lay back 'Cause I always got to worry 'bout the pay backs some buck that I roughed up way back comin' back after all these years rat-a-tat-tat-tat-tat that's the way it is uhh Bridge 'til fade

Gulzar is one of my favorites... great poet. All the great songs in movie Ijazit. But what really impressed me the way he uses metaphors in a dialog in the movie Musafar with Nassser-uldin-Shah and Rekha. It goes something like:

"Jab tum hunsty ho to tumari ankhon (eyes) se mogray ke phoolon (flower) ki khushboo aati hai". Great metaphor.

The first Gulzar movie I watched was "Lekin"
but it was after I saw Ijazat that I knew who Gulzar is. It will remain my favourite movie...alwayz!
I then moved on to see others like
Aandhi
Gharr
and what was the movie with Sanjeev Kumar :
"Dil dhoondtaa hai phir wohi...
fursatt key raat din...".

MahaRaja, here's one of my fav. ghazals from Gulzar. His words are so simple...yet so full of meaning.

SaaNs lenaa bhi kaisi aadatt hai
jiye jaanaa bhi kyaa ravaayat hai
koi aahatt nahiN badan meyN kahiN
koi saayaa nahiN hai aaNkhoN meyN
paaoN behiss heyN, chalte jaate heyN
ik safar hai jo bahtaa rehtaa hai
kitne barsoN se, kitni sadiyoN se
jiye jaate haiN, jiye jaate haiN

aadateyN bhi ajeeb hoti haiN

Sounds of Silence By Simon and Garfunkel

Hello darkness, my old friend, I've come to talk with you again,
Because a vision softly creeping, Left its seeds while I was sleeping,
And the vision that was planted in my brain Still remains
Within the sound of silence.
In restless dreams I walked alone Narrow streets of cobblestone,
'Neath the halo of a street lamp, I turned my collar to the cold and damp
When my eyes were stabbed by the flash of a neon light That split the night
And touched the sound of silence.
And in the naked light I saw ten thousand people, maybe more.
People talking without speaking, People hearing without listening,
People writing songs that voices never share And no one dare
Disturb the sound of silence.
"Fools" said I, "You do not know Silence like a cancer grows.
Hear my words that I might teach you,Take my arms that I might reach you.
"But my words like silent raindrops fell, And echoed In the wells of silence
And the people bowed and prayed To the neon god they made.
And the sign flashed out its warning, In the words that it was forming.
And the sign said,
"The words of the prophets are written on the subway walls And tenement halls."
And whisper'd in the sounds of silence.

hi all,
sorry but nothin much i can say about ur songs salman .....2pac ....just like another spanish singer for moi :)

mr fraudia .....yeah those old timers are nice .... i think i have heard this one, but very rarely do they show them on tv now

anyhow.......umar good one again ....the one that is comin to my mind right now is ..and hope we can share some feelings related to the song as well......its from maachis....

Chor ayey hum
wo guliaN
wo guliaNNNN

Chor ayey hum
wo guliaN

i think im forgetting the song so dont wanna ruin the lyrics myself...hehehe

ciao

MR

2pac's black not spanish.

Yep they dunn show em ol time classics much, This song was before my time but I stumbled upon it and discovered classic simon and garfunkel, same deal with led zep, rolling stones, beatles etc.

Tons of new and newer artists are great and have good songs and lyrics, but some old ones just strike the right chord.

Assalam o alaikum wa rahmatullah!
salman, and mr. fraudia good pick guys, i love simon and garfunkel! They are truly good at what they do :)I don't listen to 2pac but those lyrics were really interesting, at least much more intelligent than other black rap artists. don't get me wrong, rap WAS good, but now its just vulgar, and the lyrics are DUMB. 80's rap however will rule forever. :)ok here's a song for yall.This is what delores o' riordan (lead singer of the cranberries) wrote in response to the media publicizing a farse about her commiting suicide...
sorry if its long...

Its not worth anything more than this at all
i live as i choose, or i will not live at all, so return to where you've come from return to where you dwell because harrassment's not my forte but you do it very well.
i'm free to decide, i'm free to decide, that i'm not so suicidal after all
you must have nothing more with your time to do
theres a war in russia and sarajevo too'
so to hell with your thinking, and to hell with your narrow mind, You're so distracted from the real thing, you should leave your life behind
cause i'm free to decide, i'm free to decide, that i'm not so suicidal after all
i'm free to decide ... repeat
i'm free to decide, i'm free to decide, that i'm not so suicidal after allll
at all at all at all

ok that's ALL ;)
there's one more song i'd like to share, but maybe next time...
wassalam

ok ok so i couldn't wait any longer... hahhaha ok here's the song...

who will save the war child baby
who controls the key?
the web we weave is thick and sworded, fine by me.
at time's of war, we're all the losers, there's no victory.
we'll shoot to kill and kill your lover, fine by me.
war child, victim of political pride.
plant the seed.
territorial greed.
mind the war child, we should mind the war child.
i spent last winter in new york, and came upon a man, he was sleeping on the streets and homeless.
he said, "i fought, in vietnam,"
beneath his shirt he wore the mark,
he bore the mark with pride.
a two inch deep incision carved into his side.
war child, victim of political pride. plant the seed, territorial greed.
mind the war child, we should mind the war child.
who's the loser now?
hey, who's the loser now?
we're all the losers now, we're all the losers now.
war child, war child.

nice hunh? alright i'm out

roohh.....nice :)

yeah i had a big crush on cranberries' lead singer.....hehe...particularly when i first listened to "ode" and man it rocked in those days.
Their numbers mostly have good lyrics and that often makes me wonder ... who the hell gave them the idea to make "salvation".....they could have been just fine without it :)
just kidding...it was not that bad afterall!

anyway ..... i'm a big sting fan as well so if anyone wants to share some of his work here ...i would be more than happy:)

fraudia .... apparently u like oldie goldies .... hmmmm.....perhaps we can hear some Abba /fleetwood mac /tracy chapman etc from ya.

ciao
MR.

Please refrain from using objectionable language

[This message has been edited by DeSiMuNdA (edited April 02, 1999).]

Maha Raja

hahaha my interests are rather broad when it comes to music, with the exception of hillbilly music and all I am into pretty much everything. Actually I am mostly in Electronica and industrial. Used to DJ that stuff in Philly clubs in college days.

next set of lyrics will be from Prodigy

I'm the trouble starter, punkin' instigator.
I'm the fear addicted, danger illustrated.
I'm a firestarter, twisted firestarter.
You're the firestarter, twisted firestarter.
I'm the bitch you hated, filth infatuated.
Yeah. I'm the pain you tasted, fell intoxicated.
I'm the self inflicted, mind detonator.
Yeah. I'm the one infected, twisted animator.
I'm a firestarter, twisted firestarter...

[This message has been edited by Fraudz (edited March 30, 1999).]

ok here's another one... btw what a good thing you've started maharaja! :)this next song 's by sinead o' connor, yeah remember her??? :)well she's still around, and man, I recomend you listen to her stuff. I'll give you another hint of her music next time but here's this one.
"Scorn Not His Simplicity"

See the child
with the golden hair
yet eyes that show the emptiness inside
do you know
can we understand just how he feels or have we really tried
see him now
as he stands alone, and watches children play a childrens game
simple child, he looks almost like the others yet they know he's not the same
scorn not his simplicity,
but rather try to love him all the more
scorn not his simplicity, oh no oh no
See him stare not recognizing the kind face that only yesterday he loved
the loving face of a mother who can't understand what she's been guilty of
how she cried tears of happiness when the doctor told her "its a boy."
now she cries tears of helplessness and thinks of all the things he can't enjoy
scorn not his simplicity but rather try to love him all the more scorn not his simplicity oh no, oh no
Only he knows how to face the future hopefully
surrounded by despair
he won't ask for your pity or your sympathy but surely you should care
scorn not his simplicity but rather try to love him all the more
scorn not his simpliciity oh no, oh no
Oh no

Sorry guys, I won't have any more time this week so i decided to give you that taste of sinead's varied music right now. ;) It's called "Empire"
I am looking at your soul
I'm looking at your future
As i look into your eye
blah blah i don't know what she says here...
Vampire
you feed on the life of the pure heart
Vampire
you suck the life of goodness
Vampire
you feed on the life on the pure heart
Vampire
you suck the life of goodness
Turn the light on... let the light shine bright
You got to feel yourself and let go, you got to know you reap what you sow
you got to feel something at sometime
check the writings on the wall and look into the sign
you're spending all your money
on gifts that never work
you're wasting all your energy and everywhere it hurts god it really hurts yes it really hurts
you got to know yourself
vampire you feed on the life of the pure heart
vampire you suck the life of goodness
yes
vampire you feed on the life of the pure heart
from now on i'll call you england
see if you spit in the sky it will fall in your eye, cause what goes up must come down
you will die looking up if you're not looking in
you got to know yourself
I'm looking at your partners and anyone ever green
im looking for your justice and it cannot be seen
i'm checking where you're coming from and where you're going to
i'm checking off what you have done to see what you can do
i'm looking at your novels and they were never read
i'm looking at your lost wives and they cannot be dread
i'm looking at your empire, slipping so
you got to know yourself
vampire you feed on the life of a pure heart
yes
vampire you feed on the life of a pure heart
from now I'll call you england
empires come and empires go
there's a lesson to be learned while that you must know
and every tree is known by the fruit that it bares
and i see no love anywhere you are feared
you got to know yourself

wassalam, rooh is out

hillbilly music.....i got it mr fraudia:)
nice .... u been a DJ.....and by the way i really like prodigy a lot .... u need to get kinda used to them to actually appreciate them!

roohh......wish u could to stay .... or else i'd be dead(my own roohh ofcourse) :)
anyways ...never really liked o'connnor....but these lyrics suggest a great deal about her music!..comin from the heart is all i can say!

my pick for now is by U2:
Is it getting better
or do u feel the same
will it make easier on u
now u got someone to blame

u say
one love
one life
when its one need
in the night
its one love
we get to share it
it leaves u baby
if u dont care for it

Did i disappoint u ?
or leave a bad taste in ur mouth
u act like u never had love
and u want me to go without

well its too late
tonight
to drag the past out
into the light
we're one
but we're not the same
we getta carry each other
carry each other
One.

MR

Prince is an amazing writer, this is one of so many I could list:

'I wish U Heaven'

Doubts of our conviction
Follow where we go
And when the world's compassion
Ceases still I know
4 your every touch I
Thank U so much
4 your every kiss I...

I wish U love
I wish U heaven

If I see 11
U can say it's 7
Still I wish U heaven

I wish U love
I wish U heaven

Superthug - Noreaga

I’m, I’m actually waitin on the bus now
He said we have some kind of special assignment or something
He’s supposed to be callin’ me, like any minute now, any minute
Hold on, hold on, lemme get the phone
Hello? Jackson here
Ya, what? you found Manuel Noreaga?
In the Phillipines?
He has a mansion?
Ok, we on it, on it, right now... right

(Noreaga and Neptunes)
What, what, what, what, what, what, what,(what, what, what)
What, what, what, what, what, what, what,(what, what, what)(superstar)

(Noreaga)
Verse 1
Aiyyo, we light a candle
Run laps around the english channel
Neptunes, I got a cockerspaniel
We on the run now, yo, it ain’t no fun now
And where I go, you niggas can’t even come now
You ain’t the lord, nigga, break it, I don’t care
And when ya get caught, remember that I don’t care
N.O.R.E., nuthin but the atmosphere
Yo for now we on the run, yo if that ain’t clear
Weak niggas wanna stick, you but that ain’t fair
You we down in vegas, money, skies too courageous
And yo, I’m on the run, but still rip stages
And call me animal thug, when I’m in cages
I used to proof phrases, rolled dice with no aces
Now I’m just included in the oasis
Gotta take faces, no time for car races
Check my sky, tell I got five pages

CHORUS

Verse 2:
Yo hit Lousiana, then Atlanta, Indiana
Forget a city slicker got country grammar
Aiyyo we goin places, where my sound scan ain’t tough
So when I say I ain’t Nore, yo it ain’t that rough
I leave the jake in my fake, askin all this stuff
I gotta keep my mouth shut and don’t say what, what
But yo its hard to, Netherlands got the heart to
Yo from New Orleans, L.A., V.A. to Queens
The I-95, now we hit the Phillipines
But now its different, we gotta stay sober
Yo, communicate, startech, motorola
Keep it on the hush hush, don’t talk to much
Thugged out entertainment, you know we touch
All our whips got navigation
While you whips is just garbation
Is you knowin what you facin?

salam yall...
hmm... hinna i'm still trying to fully understand those lyrics. ;)
anyhow... i have no lyrics to share today, my minds a blank... maharaja U2!!! I Love that song btw... it's definitely a nice one to relax to. I'll try to find a good song to share with yall sometime soon but right now, to do so would hurt the right side of my brain.
I'm listening to 'parda hai parda' right now, and although its a corny remix with lil 'un hunhs' and 'JUMP' s in it, the overall song is nicccccee. tera da mann, tera da mann..na choroon ga me har kil mann
parda hai parda (unhun), parda hai parda (alright)
hahahhaha

hey people!! where r the lyrics ya 'all!!
rooh i hope the right hemisphere is okay now...shoot man !!

camille i have to agree that prince is a good writer .... but neh.... i dunn like to qoute his "that" numbers ...if u know what i mean,,hehe:)

alright heres mine for now....by micheal bolton

sometimes in our lives
we all have pain
we all have sorrow
but if we r wise
we know that thers always tomorrow

lean on me when u r not strong
and ill be ur friend
ill help u carry on
for it wont be long
till im gonna need somebody to lean on
we all need somebody to lean on!!