Song Recommendations Needed

Hi,

I would like to explore more of Pakistani music and hence I need recommendations from the junta here. From what I have heard so far, I have come to the conclusion that Pakistani pop/rock music has an edge over it’s indian counterpart when it comes to my kind of music.

I’ll just list a few of the albums and songs I like, so that the members can sample my music taste and make recommendations for other songs.

Atif Aslam
kuch is tarah, bikhra hoon mai, aadat, wo lamhe and a few other fast aadat album songs

Strings
Not a huge fav, liked a few songs though.

Fuzon
Neend na aaye, more saiyaan mohse bolein na (the name of the song is different, but this is my fav song of all the songs listed here). I googled it and found that the song is khamaj.

Ali Haider
Loved Chahat and Sandesa albums.

Rahat Fateh Ali Khan
Liked the one or two songs he sung in bollywood movies.

Oh and how can I forget this one…
Distant Voices/ Shasma Begum or Shamsa Kanwal
Chaandni Raatein, an absolute gem, well this takes precedence over the more saiyaan mohse bolein na song.

I’ll be really thankful if I can find even 4-5 more songs to listen to.

I’ll also like to know the names of a few hardcore pakistani classic rock bands if there are any.

thanks,

infiniti

Re: Song Recommendations Needed

:bobo:

rofl this is just to say that finally i’ve come across a my-kinda-post :smiley:
Ok hmmm well you’re confused between songs by Jal and Atif Aslam, for starters. But they’re both whoaa nevertheless.
I’ll upload a couple of songs, so brb. :sheen:

jaldi jaldi…cant want..:yummy:

Haha i'm working on it. =P Oh btw, where are you from?

Ok i’m not good with music genres and all, so i’ll just share what i think is the best (a few of them, so to say.) Pakistani Music Scene has to offer. =P
So yea here goes…

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c106/2x2/TheRising.jpg

Band: The Rising.
Songs: Main Aaj Urdoon.
http://www.4shared.com/file/9766678/4c498277/The_Rising-MainAajUroon_pakmediarevolutioncom_.html

Jhoot.
http://www.4shared.com/file/9766150/75eb7e42/44_The_Rising_-_Jhoot.html

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c106/2x2/KhawarFaiza.jpg

Artists: Khawar and Faiza.
Song: Bandeya.
http://www.4shared.com/file/9764891/b81f2dc/20_Bandeya_-_KhawarFaiza.html

Band: Akash.
Song: Jee Liya.
http://www.4shared.com/file/9765505/6d4a79ba/41_Akash_-_Ji_Liya.html

Band: Visaal.
Song: Mahiwaal.
http://www.4shared.com/file/9767150/cd571927/Mahiwaal.html

Band: RoXen.
Song: Tau Phir Aao.
http://www.4shared.com/file/9767680/7db671ef/Tau_Phir_Aao_-_Roxen.html

Ok i think i’ve sent the sad bunch altogether. Apologies. =$
Well here’s some fasht shtuff. =P

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c106/2x2/AliZafar.jpg

Artist: Ali Zafar.
Song: Aja Sajna. (Hunterz, Ali Zafar and Hadiqa Kiyani.)
http://www.4shared.com/file/9770593/5f55be44/Hunterz_Hadiqa_Kiani__Ali_Zafar_-_Aaja_Sajna__DesiFlamesCom_.html

Sajania.
http://www.4shared.com/file/9769958/2d40b79e/03_Track_3.html

Khereyan De Naal. (i lalalalalalouveeee this track. Ali’s done the guitars hhimself too. <3)
http://www.4shared.com/file/9771283/fbbdfee5/07_Track_7.html

Mere Haathon Mei. ( ^ ditto … guitars bit excluded. =P)
http://www.4shared.com/file/9770856/8b529694/09_Track_9.html

Band: Rhythm X. (feat. Annie.)
Song: Musst Mazron. (originally done by Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan.)
http://www.4shared.com/file/9769238/774ffff9/Musst_Nazron_-_Rhythm_X__Annie.html

Haha yea i had loads of time on hand. =P Even put up pitchas to add colour rofl Well i’ll let the links be for another month, so that gives you the whole of Feb. =P
Enjoay. :music:

no E.P.? :khujli:

I am an Indian living in LA. What about you mam?

:shoaby::shoaby::shoaby::shoaby:
Thanks a lot for putting so much efforts in compiling this list. Have not download any of these yet but will do it tonight. For the time being I do not want to stop playing kuch is tarah. Thanks a lot again.
:shoaby::shoaby::shoaby::shoaby:

As for Pakistani Rock bands, well i think two of the ones i posted above are Rock, though i’m not sure, like i said i’m not quite familiar with genres (well sort of.)
But these five are def. rock. :dhimpak: (main-stream rock. =P)

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c106/2x2/AliAzmat.jpg

Artist: Ali Azmat.
Song: Deewana:
http://www.4shared.com/file/9777011/e29eaf32/Deewana__2_.html

Na Re Na:
http://www.4shared.com/file/9774031/c21d625e/AliAzmat-NaReNa.html

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c106/2x2/eP.jpg

Band: [e.P]
Songs: Hamesha:
http://www.4shared.com/file/9774297/d215fb8f/Entity_Paradigm_-_Hamesha.html

Kahan Hoon Main:
http://www.4shared.com/file/9774378/ddeba1a7/Entity_Paradigm_-_Tuhay_kah.html

Waqt:
http://www.4shared.com/file/9774515/f18d062e/EP-05-Waqt.html

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c106/2x2/Noori.jpg

Band: Noori.
Songs: Nishan:
http://www.4shared.com/file/9775025/64d7f063/noori-nishaan.html

Neend Aye Na:
http://www.4shared.com/file/9777592/b585b66b/03_-_Neend_Ayay_Na.html

Kuttay Te Tu Uthay:
http://www.4shared.com/file/9775092/1947bc0b/noori-kuttaytetho.html

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c106/2x2/CALL.jpg

Band: Call.
Songs: Sab Bhula Ke:
http://www.4shared.com/file/9774137/2abcad5c/Call-SabBhulaKai.html

Shayad:
http://www.4shared.com/file/9774227/31e12244/Call-Shayad.html

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c106/2x2/SomairTahir.jpg

Artists: Somair & Tahir.
Songs: OST Kaanch:
http://www.4shared.com/file/9773250/7d131999/kaanch_1_.html

Haha yes so i’ve uploaded a selected few.
Let me know if you wana know more of a band/artist.
:jhanda:

Haha yea i put up [e.P] a little later. =P
Just three of their songs, for now.

Ah nice. Well i'm a Pakistani living in Pakistan (thank God for that. =P)
Nah! My pleasure. :)

Hello ji,

I am stuck on Tau phir aao song at the moment. It's beautiful, i'll say better than kuch is tarah (though I hate comparing songs, especially beautiful songs). I have just sampled other songs so it will take me some time to develop a liking/disliking for them.

Haha lol well thats makes sense. =P
For me, listening to “Tau Phir Aao” is pure torture, the desperation in the dude’s voice and the simplicity of the lyrics, is beyond “beautiful”.
So yea. :jano:

Wrong song, here’s the right “Kahan Hai Tu”:
http://www.4shared.com/file/9863767/2a78677/Kahan_Hai_Tu.html

:hoonh: how can you not like that song, expecially when the singer goes “aa bhi jao, aa bhi jao, aa bhai jao” and then the guitar picks on. Ek baar shaanti se us song ko sunna aankhein band karke, you’ll love it.

Anyways I am listening to Bandeya now and have to say it’s a very very catchy number, was foot (not feet) tapping to the tune all the time while driving today. I have downloaded all the songs that you have listed here, so if you want to remove them please go ahead and do that. And once again thanks for giving me these songs. These songs are either rock based or they have a very sweet melody inherent in them. And even the rock singers have a classical touch in their voice.

Nahin thats what i meant. Torture/agony in a good way. =P
All the songs i’ve posted are my favourites. And i lalalalouve “Tau Phir Aao” and like i said, i dont listen to it anymore cuz its pureee… :frowning:

Haha so yeah. =P

Bandeya is the original soundtrack of this upcoming Pakistani Film, which is hopefully gona bring back the standard to Paki Film Industry, yet again.
Fit gana hai. :smiley: