No me being a soon to-be-daughter-in-law find it very cute that the guy gets his ass kicked!
I finally asked my mom why my fiance is so special to them and this is what she said "Woh bohat acha hai, he is not like son-in-laws from pakistan who think their in-laws are their ghulams"
i dont understand... if ure parents are giving ure husband respect.. which just shows that they have respect for you.. how is it wrong or bad? ... given that they arent thankin him for taken u of their hands.. or any other form of negetivity ...
Oh by the way, before people start assuming things I am not saying that my in-laws treat me bad infact I am one of the lucky few I am just talking generally…
shweet pretty much nailed it. Be good to your SIL or he will talaq talaq talaq your daughter in one breath, pack his balls and leave. And thats not healthy for your izzat.
My husband LOVES mashed potatoes and there is always a hot batch of them ready as we walk through my parents' door. He is always the first asked to the table and offered sweets.
But his parents are always very considerate of me, and treat me as their own. When I was sick they made me tea and bought me juices and medicine and stuff.
Sahar02 Baaji,
Like you correctly mentioned about the 2 way traffic in relationships, and also like Fraudz Bhai Mentioned his MIL Standing up for him, That is the exact scenario in my house too.
My only bone of contention is that my Mother stays with me so my wife has free 24/7 access to a helpline, whereas my MIL lives in India, so she can only reprimind my better half when we talk on the phone.
My mum told me not long ago that, u give ur damad (son-in-law) more respect than u do ur daughter. I don't believe this is bcos of fear. Pakistanis r very welcoming and caring ppl, and as parents they really try hard to make their new son-in-law part of the family. Plus, the better they treat him, more likely the better he will treat their daughter (and we all know how protective Pakistanis r of their girls)...therefore leading to stronger ties/bonds overall.
But i've seen it go both ways. Daughter-in-laws r given a lot of respect too, esp. if she is their first/eldest *bahu. *In the end, i think it just comes down to welcoming the new son or daughter into their family...and if u give love and show affection, most of the times u'll get it in return also. And i think it's really sweet...esp. when a guy gets jealous that his parents love their new daughter-in-law more than him, or vice-versa :) it's all in good fun, i don't see anything wrong with giving in-laws a lot of respect.