Something truly SAD

This is probably for the first time in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan that this has happenned and it is really sad.

I only know about karachi, dont know the situation in other cities. Most main mosques of Karachi in many of the safer residential areas used to be open for taravyaan for ladies.

This year because of “security reasons” most of the main mosques have been closed for ladies. You’ll find police posted on duty for security outside the mosques, and in some mosques police will be doing checking/body search of men before they enter.

In our masjid mashallah the taravi attendance is good but my friend’s dad who goes to Sultan Masjid in Defence (which is a very big mosque) told her that Taravi attendance for men has decreased almost to half.

A sad day it is that people are scared to go to mosques and that masjid, the place that is for aman aur panah (safety/peace and security) is being guarded by policemen and people are being body searched before they can enter…

may Allah swt improve this state of affairs aameen

Re: Something truly SAD

*Originally posted by irem: *
This is probably for the first time in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan that this has happenned and it is really sad.

I only know about karachi, dont know the situation in other cities. Most main mosques of Karachi in many of the safer residential areas used to be open for taravyaan for ladies.

This year because of "security reasons" most of the main mosques have been closed for ladies. You'll find police posted on duty for security outside the mosques, and in some mosques police will be doing checking/body search of men before they enter.

In our masjid mashallah the taravi attendance is good but my friend's dad who goes to Sultan Masjid in Defence (which is a very big mosque) told her that Taravi attendance for men has decreased almost to half.

A sad day it is that people are scared to go to mosques and that masjid, the place that is for aman aur panah (safety/peace and security) is being guarded by policemen and people are being body searched before they can enter...

may Allah swt improve this state of affairs aameen

Assalam Aleekum
I don't agree. I have seen more people attending Taraveehs.
And I have also witnessed that ladies attendance in taraveehs have
also increased. And yes I am talking about Karachi.
Take Care

rehman1

walekumsalam

hmmm

:S

Clifton aur Defence kee aksar main masjidon mein aurton kee taravyaan band haen...like Sultan masjid is an example

in our masjid (which is a small masjid) taravyaan khuli hui haen and yes there's a lot of attendance of ladies and men both

but abt half attendance, thats what my friend's dad said abt Sultan masjid for Defence...

as for the checking, i believe its there for all the masjids?

Hahah :)
In Peshawar it happens every day, The guards are also pointing guns at you till the time you are cleared from the security guard. Not to mention a sniper on the roof waiting for a sign from the security guard.
If this sounds too much!!! Listen to this :- every day we have to go out either with our ID card or a Cantt residential area pass, All roads that lead to our house have barricades with army posts.(it might be because of our proximity to the US consulate or the corp. commanders house.)
Iftari kay liyay pakoray lana bhi mushkil hai ..

that sucks :/

Amreeka kee waja se ab PakistanYon ko apnay mulk Pakistan mein bhee azadi nai hae

Very sad. In Islamic republic of Pakistan, you cannot pray because of security reasons.
Irem How is it Amreeka ki wajah sey?
I believe we are all to be blamed for all this.

How is muslims attacking mosques of muslims who'se religious beliefs they don't agree with Amreeka's fault?

It was going on long before Amreeka ever existed. In the wars between the Ottomans and Persia in the 1600s and 1700s, Sunnis and Shias were destroying each other in the name of Islam quite cheerfully.

In more recent history on the subcontinent, the Sunni mughal emperor Aurangzeb continued this tradition; He invaded the Shia kingdoms of Golconda and Bijapur on the basis that they were Shia and thus kaffirs.
Following the Mughal conquest of Hyderabad, for instance, he ordered Shia mosques to be desecrated by using them as stables for horses. And this was the man who at the time was the most powerful Muslim leader in the world, probably more powerful than even the Khalif!

This hatred has been simmering in our society for centuries; it's always been there and, quite frankly, probably always will be there. Even when prominent ulema speak against it, there are always those so consumed with hatred that they ignore it and search out ulema who agreee with the hatred.

Aurengzeb's own appointed sunni Chief Qazi issued a fatwa before the invasion of the Shia Kingdoms stating that Shias are Muslims and thus could not be lawfully attacked, but Aurengzeb ignored him and sought scholars who states that shias are kaffirs to issue fatwas supporting him, his hatred of shias was that strong!!!

The history of the Sunni and the Shia is, sadly, full of each massacring the other from time to time in the name of Allah.

Oh bhai :smack2:

She was referring to Pakora’s comment that they have to face hardship cuz of close proximity of US consolate waghera…

to which the response..

Re: Something truly SAD

*Originally posted by irem: *
This year because of "security reasons" most of the main mosques have been closed for ladies. You'll find police posted on duty for security outside the mosques, and in some mosques police will be doing checking/body search of men before they enter.

...my friend's dad who goes to Sultan Masjid in Defence (which is a very big mosque) told her that Taravi attendance for men has decreased almost to half.

The security situation is bad all over the country, but I dont think that has affected peoples mosque going habit in a major way.

As far as ladies are concerned, I happen to believe that its actually good that ladies have been barred from most mosques. Not only do ladies add to the liability, they also bring along children, who, regardless of how cute they may be, can be a nuisance inside a mosque, specially during long taraveehs. Besides, according to a hadees, its better for ladies to pray at home, rather than at the mosque.

Regarding the overall attendance, Im not sure it has gone down. I pray jummas at Sultan masjid, and its filled to the brim. This friday, both floors were full.
The reason why taraveeh attendance is 'low' in sultan masjid is because of a large portion of the public going to AKDs house next door for taraveehs, like myself. The traffic gets split up, hence, there are lesser people to be found in Masjid Sultan. Yes, AKDs taraveehs were there in the previous years too, but this year, a lot of other places have organized taraveehs, and people go there not necessarily because of more security, but because of additional taraveeh benefits, such as translation and tafseer of the Quran.

One more point that I may mention is that Masjid Sultan this year has switched to 10 day taraveehs from its usual 27 day taraveehs. That has resulted in longer sessions, because of which some people may have gone to other masjids.

10 day taraveeh? so they wont have taraveehs for the rest of ramadhan? i m confused

thanks for the replies everyone

ThandyMazaq i guess they will do khatam-ul-Quraan [finish reading the entire Quran-e-Paak = 30 siparay] in 10 days only...some masjids even do 5 day taraveehs...which means they read 6 siparay in every taraveeh...
then in the remaining days they do pray taraveeh but only read the small Surahs like the last ten surahs of the last siparah so the taraveeh is much shorter..

Akif bhai oh okay i see...thanks for the detailed explanation...i did not know about that...that's actually good to know...
as for ladies taraveehs being held in masjids vs praying at home...believe me its so much nicer to go and pray taraveeh bajamaat in the masjid...my friends also feel that way...one of my friends entire family (sisters and mom) used to go to Sultan masjid each yr and this yr they r praying at home by themselves and they really miss it...u r right that islamically it is better for ladies to pray namaz at home..but is that just for normal everyday prayers or is that true for namazes like eid namaz and taraveeh as well?

Code Red u r right thanks for the clarification :D

mad scientist, proudpakistani as Code Red also pointed out i was replying to Pakora's comment...in fact i've experienced the same thing in karachi...sometimes the road where we have the american consulate is blocked and so we have to take alternate routes and sometimes the cars have to undergo thorough checking

as for these sad incidents that have been happenning in masajid..at the end of the day i believe that we do have our own weaknesses to blame as well but foreign powers also play a role in this whole situation...anyways, thats a separate debate, one that has been addressed endlessly on GS..