Momentum is powerful but funny thing. The funny thing about it is that it is perishable and must be used in a timely manner.
With their solid world cup performance and the emergence of a captain that most Pakistanis seem to finally respect, I wonder if this isn’t the right time for ICC and PCB to push for resumption of games inside Pakistan.
Pakistan is a pillar for world cricket and it is a shame we have let terrorism get the better of cricket which is one of the top three forces that can unite people of Asia.
Re: something important! Let us resume cricket in Pakistan!
I have been saying this for ages.I want to see matches back in Pakistan. Also there is a selfish side to it.I can secure a Visa and join my people in Karachi once again. :)
it would be great, but the security of the teams, spectators and facilities has to be top notch.
because, if some team is there and some damn terrorist attack happens again, then the whole issue of having any matches will be just finished.
that is a good thought guys..the mohali drama overall wasn't as bitter as i thought (except the negativity of some of the indian media)...people to people interaction was once again warm and positive....plus the players were friendly to each other and the whole match was played in a friendly spirit... so who knows!
arlie, you can get the pak visa without a cricket match too.....no?
security ofcourse is absolutely the only challenge and yes, it is easy for us emotional fans to say 'go play ion Pakistan for the bigger cause'....I recognize that.
I am just saying here is an opportunity where if the right organizations and certain institutions in Pakistan collaborate they can catch the public's support
that is a good thought guys..the mohali drama overall wasn't as bitter as i thought (except the negativity of some of the indian media)...people to people interaction was once again warm and positive....plus the players were friendly to each other and the whole match was played in a friendly spirit... so who knows!
arlie, you can get the pak visa without a cricket match too.....no?
Yes but it will have two advantages.Meet relatives and watch the game.Moreover they will make relaxations in destination access. If you are travelling to meet your relatives alone ,they will limit your places of visit mostly to the place where your people live.(This is same with both countries).
While it is a good idea I personally don't think the security situation in Pakistan is conducive enough for foreign teams to come. We don't want a repeat of Sri Lanka episode, otherwise Pakistan cricket will go into wilderness for a long time. If everyone remembers the champion trophy was to be held in Pakistan in 2008 and was postponed due to security reason. How correct that decision was can be gauged form the fact that the day Marriott hotel was blown up by terrorists in Islamabad was the day England would have been playing in Rawalpindi and would probably been staying in that hotel. So much as I would like cricket to resume in Pakistan, not for the moment please.
Time to Build 5 star hotels in the Stadium Premises. PCB can earn money while no matches occurring. During the tours however, this can be demilitarized zone with the highest possible (the one our chamchay provides to US presidents).
The Sri Lankans have expressed openness to coming to Pakistan again, but like Ehsan bhai, Im a bit hesitant to say that foreign teams should tour Pakistan. Especially not the Sri Lankans, they’ve already taken bullets for us.
Well if SL the no. 2 team can visit pakistan, the no 3 team, then that would be a great gesture. And Same goes for India. But Pakistan govt has to arrange Presidential security for both. And the re-opening should start with small tours, like 3 ODIs, or 1 test and 2 ODIs....to test how things work out.....keep the matches in 1 city - don't move the teams around that much....just give them 1 or 2 official dinners by CM or something....keep it limited. It can work, but it would require a lot of sacrifice from the touring side.
Mushkil hai boss. You had a CM and a Cabinet Minister killed in the recent past, both had more than adequate security so not sure if it's feasible.
While it is a good idea I personally don't think the security situation in Pakistan is conducive enough for foreign teams to come. We don't want a repeat of Sri Lanka episode, otherwise Pakistan cricket will go into wilderness for a long time. If everyone remembers the champion trophy was to be held in Pakistan in 2008 and was postponed due to security reason. How correct that decision was can be gauged form the fact that the day Marriott hotel was blown up by terrorists in Islamabad was the day England would have been playing in Rawalpindi and would probably been staying in that hotel. So much as I would like cricket to resume in Pakistan, not for the moment please.
Exactly my thoughts ..... i guess for the next 1-2 Years i see no change in Pakistan playing its "home matches"on foreign soil (UAE, England etc.) and this also prerequisites that the general security Situation in Pakistan gets better which is obviously not the case watching what happend in DG Khan yesterday :(
I can't help myself but just mention what a good friend of mine said to me about this:
"People of this country have robbed us of what so dear to us, Pakistan it is, ..... so they've been robbed of what so dear to them, Cricket it is ..... we can't live safely in Pakistan so too can't Cricket"
I'm surely not the one for political point scoring but this has given me food for thought
Time to Build 5 star hotels in the Stadium Premises. PCB can earn money while no matches occurring. During the tours however, this can be demilitarized zone with the highest possible (the one our chamchay provides to US presidents).
Yaar it's not only for visiting cricketers to come, enter the stadia, play and then leave ..... it's also to mingle with PPL on the street and see what a certain culture/country has to offer ..... i remeber Fanie (RSA Player) use to take a bicycle and roam around Lahore streets ..... i think there is also Pic of him on cricinfo ..... bumble playing with boys outside Ghaddafi Stadium tape ball cricket or tendulkar shopping "Peshawari chappal" in a bazar in Peshawar ...... there r many other such examples ..... can u imagine that today or in a year ??
Until zardari Govt is in power I do not see any cricket played in pak, please all vote for Imran khan in next election and maybe we see pakistan back on the world map.