Sleep time was never so sweet. That’s my bed over on the left side… . I laid there with my feet sticking up but never woke up till the morning. We were all so dead!!!
[thumb=C]P1010147-1.JPG[/thumb]
All of a sudden, this guy comes up asking me to take his pics. I looked down and saw him in my sandals. Well… o.k. stand still now!
[thumb=C]P1010150.JPG[/thumb]
More later… I am going to bed. Hope I am not boring you. I am a road buff so I have many pictures that look similar but I see different things in them since I look tend to study the views a bit to try to see the details. None of my relatives liked seeing so many pics of the same type.
*Originally posted by jannu: *
I am uploading these slowly… there’s some “domestic” pressure against my sitting and uploading these pics to share with you, right now…
After driving all night from Dallas to St. Louis. Some really good scenes after sun came up. (more later)
Jism say zakhmi ho ya dimaagh say? I am in everyone of the pictures… just a bit on “this” side, actually. See, you are seeing all the pics from “my” eyes. Otherwise, you’d be seeing them from somebody else’s eyes and that’s wouldn’t be good.
Jao, ab dawa karo aur Allah miaN say dua karo keh jaldi Theek ho jaao. Ameen, summa ameen.
hanie, I am having the same problem uploading. The options don’t open up. I’ll email you the pics and you can upload for me. I’ll add the text later on. I’ll email you the pics and stuff.
This is where we were leaving St. Louis. One of the attractions is the arch that is visible in the background.
[thumb=C]jannu1.JPG[/thumb]
2 or 3 hours of leaving St. Louis, we were caught in a very fierce thunderstorm. We passed below this system for about 4 hours. You can see the ferocity of the storm. If you look close, you can see the speed at which the wind is blowing (I remember it being reported at around 70 miles mph). The clouds, as you can see, were really scary. Many a times we thought a tornado would develop out of these. Later, Mom called and said that a tornado had touched down near an area we had passed.
We came to a locale that's named after my son. We had taken many pictures and finally stopped infront of a sign to take a good enough picture. I just couldn't let this one go by.
[thumb=C]jannu4.JPG[/thumb]
In New Jersey... train passing the station at full speed. First time, we were all taken aback. Hadn't seen trains in over 7 years (that was in London) where we live so we were fascinated at first. A desi helped us understand the ticket machine and how to buy the tickets from it.
*Originally posted by jannu: *
here they are. :-)
Thanks, hanie.
This is where we were leaving St. Louis. One of the attractions is the arch that is visible in the background.
[thumb=C]jannu1.JPG[/thumb]
2 or 3 hours of leaving St. Louis, we were caught in a very fierce thunderstorm. We passed below this system for about 4 hours. You can see the ferocity of the storm. If you look close, you can see the speed at which the wind is blowing (I remember it being reported at around 70 miles mph). The clouds, as you can see, were really scary. Many a times we thought a tornado would develop out of these. Later, Mom called and said that a tornado had touched down near an area we had passed.
[thumb=C]jannu2.JPG[/thumb]
Bibi jee koi apni pic bhi post karo roads dekh dekh kar tang aa giya hoo.n :( Roads tu Lahore mien bhi buhat hien )
ZU - I guess you and I have a fundamental difference in how we enjoy the trip itself. To me, the trip brings to mind the many different views, the how stretches of roads looked when they were going uphill, down hill, as they banked, when the sun was are the right angle and how the light played with the scenery.
Anyways… meN apni tasveer nahiN lagaauN gi… kahiN agar daman pakaR lia to …
Laa jawab - My bro will be moving out of St. Louis to Oklahoma. He just completed his 3 yr. residency at a hospital there.
Driving from Dallas to anywhere in North or East or some south is Very good… but please never drive to West from Dallas (especially Amariallo way) boring to death :yukh:
Well, just done reloading my PC and figuring out that my firewall was preventing from upload the pics. So, let’s begin…
Looks like we weren’t the only one there…
[thumb=C]P1010254.JPG[/thumb]
We were hungry so we stopped in a hole in a wall pizza parlor. N.Y. pizzas are a treat. Chicago guppies… don’t bother trying to prove your point… Lekin pizza ho to aisa!!! :k: Mood nahiN tha warna shaayed… kuch hojaata.
So, after paiT ki pooja key baad we started to go towards THE place: World Trade Center. On the way we passed a street, now closed to public like many around after 9/11, that gave me a sight I just had to stop and look. This was my first time seeing a cafe setting up place outside A N D on the street. I’ve seen sights like these on TV and movies but never personally.
[thumb=C]P1010265.JPG[/thumb]
As we walk, I begin to see some very intresting sights through the streets and the alleys.
[thumb=C]P1010266.JPG[/thumb]
We crossed a street at the end of which I recognized the building to be a famous church. Later, I found out it is the St. Patricks church.
[thumb=C]P1010267.JPG[/thumb]
This guy was happy enough to be climbing the walls… He was in the view on my left and then I lost him all of a sudden. You can’t see it but there is a newspaper stand right besides my left behind which he had disappeared. I saw him like this as I had begun to look around in near panic and passed the newspaper khokha. Sigh…
[thumb=C]P1010269.JPG[/thumb]
New York Stock Exchange
[thumb=C]P1010271.JPG[/thumb]
Street infront of the Stock Exchage is still barricaded. It’s still a wierd sight. Area around looks like one shouldn’t be there… specially if you’ve some from the outside where such sights have never been seen.
jannu, two weeks ago, i drove to from NY to PA. and yes, i came across Lebanon too, i was like and after a while, i actually came to a place called “Jutland”, i’m not kidding!!! i think it was in New Jersey.. not sure
on my way back, i saw hot air balloons in the sky, not far from the ground… there were about 25 of them, they looked so beautiful, colourful in the sunset. :k:
nice pics, by the way, those scenic, winding roads and fields reminded me of my own trip.. sigh.. i’m driving to connecticut this weekend, have never been there, hear it’s scenic too..
Somebody really wanted to have a picture taken by the N.Y.'s finest. I don’t what was said but I didn’t get in the middle of it.
[thumb=C]P10102741.JPG[/thumb]
On the side of the Stock Exchange. People are ID’d twice. Once they enter form the left and then again at the end of the 20 ft. or so walk ending on the right.
[thumb=C]P1010275.JPG[/thumb]
Here’s another view of St. Patrick’s church that I came across.
[thumb=C]P1010276.JPG[/thumb]
An amaziing sight I saw through the side alley on my left as I was crossing the street. I had to double back and take this picture. I remember this building from when I used to live in N.Y. I think this is the Chrysler building.
No… it’s exactly westward towards California on I-20 which hooks up with I-10 coming up Northwest from Houston. My brother-n-law was in El Paso (611 miles from Dallas) for a year about 6-7 years ago. We went there every two weeks. We’d leave Wednesday morning and be back Friday night. Thrusday when my brother-in-law would come home, we’d make a quick trip into Juarez, Mexican town over the border. There we’d buy mangos and amrood. Both of these were not to be found in the local grocery stores. The grocery store, I swear, smelt like… I immediately felt I was in a parchoon ki dukan in Pakistan. You could “smell” the spices in the air just like in Pakistan. I even saw daaleN and chaawal in bories with the top rolled down. What a sight!
RT: I am north in Dallas by the Telecom ghostcorridor… 4 miles east of Cisco’s buildings nowadays occupied with bhoot pareet.