Some People...

Some people cant use search engines! go into the TECH thread, and ull find a whole list of people asking dumb questions that can be fixed by searching the web.

Please post a sticky in the TECH and BAZAR forum on how to effectively search using search engines. I feel the majority of guppies dont know how.

A good reference : http://www.media-awareness.ca/eng/webaware/tipsheets/search.htm

"dumb questions" tsk tsk kitni buri baat hai. Hamare teachers kehte the koi question dumb nahiN hota

I guess majority of times when you are looking for some information you either don't know the exact phrase or the right term, as a result you end up asking people.

Same thing happens here at GS, when people ask you for help. Common courtesy demands that we should help them with best possible answer if not then at least guide them in right direction.

yaar…agur aap thodi help kardogay to aap ka kya chala jayega. :).

i admit some of the questions may be dumb to techies like you. but there are others who are still new in this “field”. so just help 'em out. i’m sure it doesn’t take much of your time yaar :).

who—me: :hoonh:. that’s not nice :(.

Humm bhee moonh main zubaan rakhtay hain:snooty:
kaash poocho kay zaaiqa kiaa hay:yummy:?

ok…lets make F = Fine

STFW = Search the Fine Web

Anyway, on the topic:

I still think there should be guidelines for asking questione in the tech forum. For example look at (http://www.gupistan.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=89853)…with all due respect the first thing that comes to mind after reading “i need help…!” is “Yes you do!” :-P. Although the poster is not a computer person, but the question should be laid out a bit more legibly. The title is important because not everyone knows (interested in) everything about everything, an I personally like to skip posts. Secondly, everyone should atleast “try” to search the web first. Its for your own good. If you are a student and know how to search the fine web, I bet you can find solutions to most of your assignments/case studies :). How good is that.

People may not be as genious as you are Khan sahab, and thats why some people asking questions (which may be rediculous, in your opinion), but tell me what is the harm in just (simply) replying them as a courtesy - or perhaps you can just ignore their questions. For sure some one else (as genious as you are - or even more) may reply.

Look at one of my silliest questions above (in which I asked about the pixels of pictures) and the simple courtiest answer given by WHO—ME, and that explained to me a lot and from his answer I learnd more than what I asked him!!!

Ah never mind… btw, can I ask you a question, if you dont mind? Are you a “Bara Sahab” too on GS ?

:wave:

Good point & we can have a good debate upon it as well. We can open a new thread on this issue in Technology forum but I dont agree that we should put it on the top of Tech Talk forum.

I think in this growing world of internet people should be educated more regarding use of Internet. Internet is now the biggest Encyclopedia, Directory or Library providing the users tips for each & every possible thing.

In my opinion, the best wat to tackle with the problem is to mention this issue to the ISPs running Search Engines to put the a help or Search help tips there on the Search Engine so the users can read the tips & know how to search exactly what they are looking for.

But the best way is to educate the Internet-Users.

I personally wish you best of luck :k:, first you have to tell them the mouse is not the real mouse and secondly there is no such key like ANY KEY. One yeah one from the personal experience you have to tell them to pulg it in before they turn it ON.

No need to be so polite I am not blaming people for posting questions. Some are great questions. But a few are stupid! People head into the thread without doing things themself. I try answering all the threads I am capable of answering.

If people figure out how to use search engines, it will benefit them. BTW, better drop your ambitions of being a comedian. :stuck_out_tongue:

I have never been to this country of GS world and since i am not this is alos the good country of this world like other countries GS cafe, poetry and so on....

Good information available, good warning are also available...