Many moods of
***“SPEEDY GONZALES” ***
by Pat Boone (1963)
www.youtube.com/watch?v=JIFgouHdlro
Re: Some are OLD and some are NEW by Arjay
No more updates uncle?
Hello Aisha.....
Yes you are right...I have been literally away from GS since 16 Dec having spent two nights in Dubai...I have been on wonderful tour full of snow and -7 on weather at Germany, Austria, Holland, France and currently in the UK.
I am back home on 11th Jan..after ..again two nights in Dubai and then we'll revive all my threads.
Its for the first time that I am on GS after 16 Dec....from Glasgow, Scotland.
Khush Rahein ....
Raju Uncle
BEAUTIFUL RENDERATION OF
IBNE INSHA’s
WONDERFUL GEET
“JALAY TOU JALAO GORI…”
by
NAYYARA NOOR
(Audio Only)
recorded for PTV-Lahore in 1982
YouShare - Free File Hosting V1.5 - Jalay Tou Jalao Gori
This song from the movie “MR & MRS. 55” hails from late 50’s and that movie was a hit. Here we see Jhonny Walker (real name Badruddin..the famous comediene of Indian film industry then) with his heroine in a Bank Branch or office scene..expressing love anecdotes for each other!
THAT was perhaps—in 1959-60..per memory!
I reckon things have not changed much on anecdotes–except that in those days—it was in situations as such that the two who liked each other—expressed their feelings so openly and now we are all
grateful to MR. BILL GATES–for the great and worldly “MSN CHAT” !! Ole’
Enjoy the (today’s) MSN CHAT SONG !
“AAG”
was the first venture of
ALIZEB PRODUCTIONS
right after the marraige of Mohammad Ali & Zeba (1972-73)
The movie was a hit and ran packed houses for several weeks.
This interesting song which show Ali, Lehri, Zeba, M.Ismail,
and others…had a powerful impact;
SO powerful that it got the remake after decades…
JAISE JAANTE NAHIN;
***ONE OF THE MOST INFECTIOUS SONG OF PAKISTANI MOVIE “AAS” (WISH). THIS MOVIE RAN PACKED HOUSES FOR WEEKS/MONTHS..DESPITE ITS EXTREMELY SAD ENDING. I SAW IT AT NOOR JEHAN’S “SANGEET” CINEMA NEAR THE RAWALPINDI CITY RAILWAY STATION BRIDGE IN 1976. STARRING; SHABNAM, MOUHD.ALI, NANNA, TAMMANA, AQIL BUTT (Noor Jehan’s son-in-law) AND SANTOSH RUSSELL, THE MUSIC WAS SO BEAUTIFULLY COMPOSED BY NISAR BAZMI WITH SUPERB DIRECTION BY MY RELATIVE----ALI SUFYAN AFAQI. SHABNAM RECEIVED NIGAR AWARD FOR BEST ACTRESS…HER 5th ONE AND INDEED MAGNIFICENT PERFORMANCE THAT SHE IS STILL MISSED BY PAKISTANIS.
***Enjoy the song…
*** TELLY SAVALAS who portrayed KOJAK the Police Detective for many years on a TV series, was a great singer. German by birth, he hailed from Hamburg and his parents had migrated to USA years back–but his fame in USA never kept him away from Germany and like JFK…he too many times said on TV while in Germany…" ISH BEIN HAMBURGer" (I am still a German from Hamburg). Telly was a night club singer too. Meanwhile this song has been on top of the charts from the original by Don Williams (1977) for many months.***
Meanwhile…the real popularity for the song is definitely attributed to TELELLY SAVALAS and Bellamy Brothers (1998)
Some broken hearts 1998
Coffee black, cigarettes,
start this day, like all the rest,
First thing in the morning that I do,
start missing you
Some broken hearts never mend,
some memories never end,
some tears will never dry,
my love for you will never die
(Instrumental)
Rendezvous in the night,
A willing woman to hold me tight,
And in the middle of love’s embrace,
I see you’re face
some memories never end,
**Some broken hearts never mend,
some memories never end
some tears will never dry **
SHAKIN STEVENS
I MIGHT;
(SHOULD HAVE BEEN A BIGGER HIT)
I might, I might just fall in love with you tonight
If your kiss linger still, and my lips sing it well
Then I just might
I could, I could surrender in your arms tonight
Just hold me close once more, and kiss me like before
Then I just might
Lately I found, my resistance is down
Everytime when I look in your eyes
My head starts to spin, I try not to give in
But if you catch my heart by surprise
I might, I might give up my heart without a fight
I never thought I would, but now I think I could
And I just might
What can I do, when a girl sweet as you
Can kiss all my defences away
Tonight you may find, that you made up my mind
Was it’s getting much harder to say
And I just might
I might, I might just fall in love with you tonight
If your kiss linger still, and my lips sing it well
Then I just might
I could, I could surrender in your arms tonight
Just hold me tight once more, and kiss me like before
Then I just might
And I just might
**“BOMBAY TALKIES” **
produced and directed by Ivory Merchant was released in 1976. It had Shashi Kapoor his wife Jennifer Kendal, Aparna Sen, Pinchoo Kapoor and Zia Moheyuddin in main roles. Set in Mumbai…it is a story of a bollywood actor HARI (Shashi) who falls in love with a visiting British journalist (Jennifer) and his wife Aparna..is disturbed. Zia Moheyuddin plays the film writer..a poor man living in suburbs.
Good movie. Javed Jabbar wrote about it in his book also. In fact I saw the movie in 1976 at the private screening at Nishtar Road at an auditorium where Jayjay was there too.
This is a fabulous song and scene. TYPEWRITER–tip tip tip tip!
This movie DVD is available in Karachi at Rainbow Centre…
Good movie–worth every minute of it..!
Majorly–the location is the famous TAJ Hotel!
Enjoy,
**GULFAM (1961) **
was directed by S. Suleman (who also directed Humayun Saeed’s HUM SE JUDA NA HONA and ANAA in 2003 & 2004) which had his brother DARPAN as hero and pakistan ever young & robust lady MUSARRAT NAZIR..who decades back…came back to pakistan having lived a wonderful migrated life with her husband in Canada and instantly became popular with her super-hit song “LAUNG GAWACHA” she sang and videod for PTV. Then she suddenly disappeared but presumbly–she may have shifted back to her home away from home.
***GULFAM was a costume movie–based on the influences ROMAN movies like the “Sign of a Galdiator” or “MESSILINA” ***
had on pak cinema then ( in 60’s)…
as we did see moovies like BAGHI SARDAR also coming up of the like.
DARPAN & MUSARRAT NAZIR paired wonderfully in the movie GULFAM which..uss waqt ke lehaz se…was a success!
This song is sung by Salim Raza..and has remained as infectious as ever-Enjoy,
Awaara 1951
Cast:Nargis (MUNNA BHAI’s mom) and Raj Kapoor [Kareena kapoor’s grand-dad(a)]
Songs by Lata and Mukesh
Music: Shanker & Jai Keshan…
***I saw this movie–at Regal Cinema, Karachi in 1960 (1965 war with neighbors saw the ban on Indy movies to Pakistan). The house was jam packed—and everybody was mesmerized with the song which had already become popular through Radio Ceylon. ***
“AWARA” also had Raj Kapoor’s Dad Prithiv Raj as a Judge (later turning out to be the father of this hobo–played y Raj Kapoor who falls in love with a rich girl–the adopted daughter of the judge himself. Nargis was stunning in the movie…and it was then that she almost married Raj Kapoor–that someone strongly advised her to remain away from marrying Raj Kapoor as she is a Muslim–which eventually did not matter–as Nargis did get married to a Hindu; Mr. Dutt…who had incidently played her son in the grand master movie “MOTHER INDIA”. It was great of Duttjee that when Nargis lost her battle with cancer in New York—he brought her body to Mumbai and managed full muslim rituals for her muslim burial.
AWARA —was the most awara film of India that cast a long spell on all and sundry…who has the flair to understand good acting and direction not forgetting the story!
Raj Kapoor’s younger brother Shashi Kapoor played the child role of Raj Kapoor in Awara!
The Song;
dham bher jo udher munh phere,o,chanda mein unse pyaar ker loungi,
baatein hazaar ker loungi.
dil ker ta hae pyaar se sajde, aur mein bhi unke saat,
chaand ko chanda roz hi dehke, meri pehli raat,ho meri pehli raat.
badal mein ab chup jaa re, o chanda,
mein unse pyar ker loongi,
batein hazaar ker loongi.
dham bher jo edher munh phere o, chanda,
mein unse pyaar kar loonga,
nazrein tu chaar kar loonga.
mein chore hun kaam hai choori,
dunya mein hun badnaam,
dil ko churata aaya hun mein,yahi mera kaam
ho yehi mera kaam.
aana tu gawahi deine o chanda,
mein unse pyaar kar loonga, nazrein tu chaar kar loonga ..
dil ko churake kho mat jaana,raah na jaana bhool,
en kadmon se kuchal na dena mere dil ka phool,
ho mere dil ka phool.
yeh baat unhein samjha de,o chanda,
mein unse pyaar kar loongi,
baatein hazaar kar loongi…
dham bher jo edher munh phere, o,chanda,
mein unse pyaar kar loonga,
nazrein tu chaar kar loonga.
dham bher jo udher munh phere.
Re: Some are OLD and some are NEW by Arjay
nice songs Arjay Unkil…:k:
PAK MOVIE TRIVIA FOR YOU THIS TIME..
***THIS IS A 1967 movie ***
***“KANEEZ” ***
***starring; Waheed Murad, Mohammad Ali, Zeba and ***
Sabiha Khanum (as Kaneez).
This song became a hit then…! sung by Ahmed Rushdi.
AN OSCAR for anyone–who can figure out the location (in Lahore..a famous place now even) and the make of the two cars you see–being driven by M. Ali (viewer’s left) and Zeba (viewer’s right).Both the cars were quite popular. Hint: One is made in Japan and the other in Germany!
**“BEHAN BHAI” **
was made in Karachi sometime in 1969-70 with a huge star; Kamal, Husna, Ejaz, Nadeem, Deeba, Aslam Pervez and others. The movie was a hit…and ran packed houses. This song was wholly picturised in Karachi at following locations;
1. The Beach in front of Seaview…when there was no Seaview apartments etc.
2. The Jheel Park at PECHS Block-VI which became a swamp filled with snakes etc..but now a beautiful park.
***3. Jehangir Kothari Temple (Canopy covered) in front of Park Towers. Jehangir Kothari Parade was actually the gift of a Parsi gentlemen by the name. This spot which comes nearly at the end of this song where Husna is dancing and singing…has been one of the location for every third movie made in Karachi during 60’s through mid-80’s. This spot has been used umteenth times! and biggies like Waheed Murad, Shabnam, Nadeem, Zeba, Muhammad Ali, Kamal, Rozina, Deeba…have done some scene (primarily a song) at this spot. ***
***Enjoy the song! ***
Thank you..I am glad you liked them.
My gratitude also for letting me use your font colors..every now and then!
Its nice to be in conversation with articulated people like you.
Khush Rahein..and keep enjoying the songs.
Raju Uncle
They say FAIZ AHMED FAIZ wrote this song for an Indian movie?
I checked with his daughter Mizu (Manizah Hashmi) at HUM TV Lahore
she say’s she hasn’t the foggiest idea…!!!
I asked my Dad (been a close friend to Faiz Saheb)
he says he doesnt remember—now I’ve sent an email
to Dev Saheb himself in Mumbai…
Let’s see what reply comes (if it does at all!!)
Till then lets enjoy this beautiful song;
**HUM HEIN RAHEE PYAR KE;
On March 25, 1961, Bobby recorded “Come September,” the theme from the film he starred. COME SEPTEMBER became the National Movie
of the then teenagers of Pakistan…
Bobby Darin also sang this superhit number in the movie which made us teenagers go wild foot thumping
and chanting the words during the show (at RIO Cinema-karachi, 1962)
(his girl friend then–later wife, the beautiful SANDRA DEE is also seen
in the song and dancing with Bobby)
***BOBBY DARIN died young!
Whenever you are in one of those moods–play this song and DANCE.
I do…and whatever Sanjay & Govinda are doing are my favorite steps
on FOXTROT and SAMBA…OR ROCK n ROLL!!
SEE THE KARACHI OF 1970
Nadeem roaming in karachi singing in the then superhit movie
“BEHAN BHAI”
The opening scene shows DAWOOD CENTRE at the back on
Intelligence School-Queens Road bridge.
The 2nd scene shows HOTEL KARACHI INTERCONTINENTAL
now known as PEARL CONTINENTAL…!
Right next to is THE PALACE HOTEL with a dome where now
stands SHERATON Hotel…
Good old days they were;