some advice please-feeling lost :(

I totally understand what has happned here. But i just felt like addressing the scene from an alternative but also sensible view.

Didnt Alvena say she was letting her parents look for Ristas and that she was willing to reject her bf for them?
I think it is rather inconsiderate knowing somebody may have feelings for you, letting those feelings thrive, but planning to tell them suddenly one day oh because my parents have found someone better I dont need you anymore.

Otherwise if that is a right approach, then is not unright for the boy to have the same approach -

Well, no offences intended, but i just dont like it the way guys are always made the culprits of failed relations.

And Although Alvena i do also feel and understand what you are going through, I do hope your parents find the better guy that can heal the past.
I think the Guy still has feelings for you, but as you yourself emphazized the status differance, maybe he felt unsecure about that, and maybe he withdrew to save himself from your inevitable and hurtful rejection.

As Chanda ji said, atleasts he has not broken the friendship, and is being straightforward.

Re: some advice please-feeling lost :(

Hi guys

thankyou all for your supportive posts.

Amir its a complicated situation he wasnt my bf we didnt want to be an official couple before marriage, to protect ourselves.

I said if my parents found someone amazing and said no to him my parents happiness comes before anything else, i cannot be happy if they are not happy.

Having thought about it all, im hurt because yes i was rejected but also because he said he doesnt see me in the same way anymore when i havnt done anything wrong! there was no defining moment which makes it alot harder. Im going to miss him, our friendship will be there but not the same, and i feel alone.

I spent the last 3 hours crying locked in my room, but my friend came to see me and told me that if he can carry on why cant i? i said because i still have more feelings than he does, and she just made me understand that i should learn to be stable on my own two feet on live for me as im still young.

The reason i started crying is because i saw him in the library, and it just came over me that i have get to things being different now, thats the hard part, being in the same class at uni and not being the same as before overnight.

h,,....this post sounds suspiciously like my earlier post, but infact is radically different. anyway.....gosh that sounds pretty bad. its hard to know another persons mind and/or heart. Ahhh.... it must be hard, and its not going to be easy. it migt help to talk it out, cry a lot. it will be really hard, but you can find someone else to distract you to help you get over this person. god close friends that can take you out entertain you. the guy doesn't sound too special, if he is looking elsewhere, its best to let him go now and then endure worst pain later.

at the moment, give yourself a routine or find friends to distract yourself. keep yourself busy and this too shall pass. and trust me looking back there is no way you will regret this.

you will be okay

good luck

:(

Growing pains. :(

Alvena, there's really no defining moment in a relationship when you would know that you've grown apart. Happens with time. If he's embraced this before you did and he told you about it, all the better. Maybe it got too monotonous for him. You're angry and sad b/c obviously that's like having the ground snatched off your feet when you know you're kinda lonely now. You can't call him/ text him/ write to him, just share with him any little issue that was bugging you like you did before, esp the prime satisfaction of knowing thatyou have someone there foryou.. And please, don't revert back to him even in your weakest moment.

You can't obv pretend like all's hunkydory. Guys prolly don't show it as much as girls do but he's goin thru the same situation as you too. It's not like he's suddenly another person and he doesn't remember anything to do with you. But he knows enough that he wants to look around. He doesn't want to settle down with you. Life doesn't always work like the movies. It's no use listening to sad songs, or vengeful songs wishing that he cherished you, or that he will never find someonline like you and blah...

Crying and dwelling over the past helps pass time, but nothing more. You can't bring him back, and think it over. WHY do you want him back? He wont be able to give his all to you for sure and he's already told you that. If you were painting a happy picture of your future with you sharing and laughing together, think it this way: it was all YOUR imagination! In reality, it didn't exist, rather wont exist.

Give it some time, you will eventually feel better. If you keep on crying or thinking it over, you will get deeper into the blues which again is your loss. This world is full of guys.. what tells you that you missed???? Maybe (insha'Allah) your future beholds every happiness that's far beyond your comprehension. Why don't you wait for that instead???

Hi Alvena,

I've quoted your original post above and I've highlighted some of your thoughts that I feel are important and deserve attention.

You said that you and him had discussed telling parents about your interest in one another. I'm assuming he hasn't done this. And you mentioned that you haven't told him about the rishtas that you're getting. Is it possible that perhaps he got the vibe that you weren't interested in anything more than a friendship.....and therefore he backed off? Sometimes we assume things about others that are not correct. One thing you can try is to casually....VERY CASUALLY........mention that your parents are searching for you. If a guy is romantically interested in you and wants you to be his........NOTHING will stop him from making a move.

You said that you both come from different backgrounds and speak different languages.........but is he at least a Muslim? There are desi families that have come around to the idea of their children marrying out of culture......BUT according to Islam, the guy should be Muslim.

You said that on Friday he told you that he doesn't have feelings for you anymore. Can you tell me what prompted him to say this to you? Did he just say it all of a sudden and out of the blue? Or did you both get into an argument that caused him to say that? Or did you discuss your feelings for him and that led him to give such a response?

You also said that you have been very stressed and "withdrawn" which is why you couldn't spend much time with him. It is possible that he assumed you were avoiding him and were not interested in him. As I said earlier, people can make incorrect assumptions. Is is possible that this assumption of his is what led him to tell you he doesn't have feelings for you anymore? I do feel that he could have.......at least as a FRIEND........checked up on you when you were stressed out. That is just common courtesy.

Alvena, I think that direct communication is very important between two people. It can clarify many misunderstandings so that you don't waste your time trying to "guess" what the other person is thinking. And there is no shame in discussing things with him. So here are some suggestions:

1) Tell him that you've been stressed for quite some time and that you're sorry you've been distant and that it had nothing to do with him. This will clear any misunderstandings that he might have of you deliberately avoiding him.

2) Tell him that "You recently said that you no longer have romantic feelings for me. You're not obligated to have feelings for me. I just wanted to know why and what changed......because it's not healthy to leave things hanging without clarification. And I wanted clarification so that I could move on without expectations because my parents are searching rishtas for me" (If you think you'll feel better by talking things out with him....then ask him this question).

3) Just listen to what he has to say. If he gives you a lame response.....then you're better off without him. If he tells you that he has found some other girl.....then as much as it hurts.......it's better for you to know this know than to be misled by him. If he tells you that he just lost romantic feelings over time.......then as much as it hurts.........realize that the right guy for you will always be in love with you no matter how many challenges are faced in life.

****You're mostly likely feeling hurt because you've been stressed for a long period and stress can take a toll on you. Plus, his confession of not having feelings for you came at a difficult time. And you're hurt because you're trying to process everything. Perhaps talking things out can provide some relief because you'll be able to get some concerns/questions out of your system......and you won't have to wonder "what if?" or "why?". And a discussion might give you an indication as to what kind of guy he is. It's bad enough that he didn't offer you support or check up on you when you were stressed. If he tells you that he isnt' interested.........move on, hon. It's easier said than done, but there is someone better out there waiting for you.

You said you both have to work together for a project. If this is making you uneasy, is there a way that you can get out of this and perhaps work with someone else? Or maybe you can split up the assignment duties in such a specific fashion that each of you can work on your part individually without working together. Know what I mean? For example, divide up the roles of the assignment. So you both know what you're doing. And you can do your parts of the project by yourself at home or in the library. And then the only other time you both will have to collaborate is when you're putting everything together. See, if you can work around the assignment.
Should you talk to him about it?** Yes, if you feel that you have questions you want answered and if you feel that it might help bring a bit of closure for you. ** Should you cry about it?** Crying can provide relief and it's natural to be hurt in this situation, so don't hold your tears back. Although if you don't feel like crying......then could it be because you don't like him as much as you thought you did? That's something to think about. Should you accept it? If he's not interested.....accept it.......and ALSO **accept that you deserve to be with someone who loves you and respects you. **Should you move on? Yes.......you deserve to be with someone who wants to be with you........and you should **NEVER **settle for anything less than that!

"Crying and dwelling over the past helps pass time, but nothing more. You can't bring him back, and think it over. exist, rather wont exist.!"

That is so true Bhenjee.. You hit the nail on the head..

as someone already said, he really loved you, he would have gone all the way. from your side, it was half assurance may have put him off, but thats a second thought. If you both were in kind of arrangement where anyone can walk out cause of parents or anyother reason.

Logic love is always a fallacy!

both of you werent committed to this "love" at all. half commitments doesnt count always.

If a person love someone, he/she expects other half to be fully committed to him/her! but if one has always plan B route, then i guess thats normal.

I dont know the guy, so cant really know what are his reasons. it can be anything, from commitment issues, lost interest in dead end relationship, or he might have found someone else. so its fair to tell he walking out of this, instead of deceiving you till the end you found out yourself.

Hi everyone. Thanks for the support :)

RV: he knew we were more than friends, we discussed this very openly, we shared our feelings feelings for eachother we knew that one day we would try and tell our parents when the need be, both of us are only 21/22. So i dont think he thought we were just friends, yes i was withdrawn and he didnt like my change in personality which has been going on for 2-3 months, im a very social person and i just cut everyone off, not him though, he would go out without me and maybe he enjoyed this freedom, after a while he stopped trying to make me go out.

He knows my parents are looking but i didnt telll him about specific details of sepcific people to protect us from arguments i would have only told him if its very serious and the time has come to maybe tell our parents.

He is a muslim yes, but we come from opposite ends of the country in england ( which doesnt make a difference) and pakistan, we are opposite ends of social status and education and general views.

On wednesday i had to go back to my parents house for something from univeristy, he said he was sad i was going and that he would miss me and good luck. For those two days there was no contact between us, our contact over phone/msn has died down over the years when we apart, when together in person we talk alot. before in the beginning we would text/msn/phone alllllll the time. Anyway i came back on friday he was weird, off in mood and looking depressed, i kept asking him whats wrong and he wouldnt tell me, then he told me he doesnt have feelings for me anymore, im better without him and dont deserve him,i deserve better and he has started noticing other women and feels its unfair on me so we should cut our relationship to just friends if we can. The whole converstation just confused me, it was very one sided, i didnt get a say in anything it was all his decision.

Right now although im not crying im very very sad, i miss him alot. I will have to see him in class and library and control my emotions.

He looked sad yesterday and as bad as it sounds, i was kind of relieved that its not only me.

Im not sure if he has found someone else im too scared to ask.

Everyone has said i should give him space and he will talk to me when hes ready.

I think i should also mention somthing similar has happened before, not exactly the same but we decided to distance for a while, provoked by him about 18 months ago, then he came running back.

If he comes running back ( im not expecting it) what should i do?

i wish i never got into this stupid situation, i see simple pakistani girls who dont make friends with boys and i wish i could be like them. :(

im so so desperate to pick up the phone and call him! i dont know what i would say but i want to ahhh!

i keep seeing things that remind me of him and things we would usually be doing together like going for lunch.

To be perfectly honest right now im missing my best friend.

Alvena,

I've highlighted in your quote above.....the part where you said that THIS has happened BEFORE. Alvena, that is like a red flag, hon. Marriage requires the ability to communicate maturely. Not only marriage.........but any and every relationship in life. It's difficult to have a relationship with someone who has a habit of suddenly ending the relationship without explanation and then disappears. This is not mature behavior and it's very painful for one partner to be in a mental state of uncertainty about the other partner's feelings and decisions. This is the SECOND time that this guy has done this.....and frankly speaking, it's inconsiderate. I urge you to put away the feelings of "love" for a while.........and reflect over this habit of his because if it's affecting your current relationship.....it can have a worse impact on a potential marriage.

Here is my suggestion:

I think you need to talk to him ONE MORE TIME........and then give him a break and occupy yourself with positive activities. Your biggest concern is that what if he decides to "come back" when you and your family have agreed to a rishta? This is a valid concern and you need to make him aware of this. So, I would basically tell him:

"You're already aware that my parents are searching rishtas for me. You've told me that you don't have feelings for me........so based on that.......I can only assume that our relationship will not be heading in the direction we once hoped it would. I just want you to know that in the event you change your mind, it would make things difficult especially if a rishta is seriously in the works. I know you're not obligated to have romantic feelings for me and I'm not forcing you. But I think it's unhealthy to leave relationships.....even friendships hanging without at least an explanation. So, I'm going to give us a break........and I hope that you'll be able to talk to me about this soon.....because I need to decide what I need to do with my life as this affects me and my family. Please give me a time frame of when you'll be able to discuss this situation."

By telling him this, you're letting him know that you ARE giving him a break..........but you're also requesting a time frame ( a couple of weeks, for example)......when he'll be ready to talk about this situation. You're also letting him know that he needs to decide soon what he wants to do because you can't keep going back and forth for him........especially if tomorrow a good rishta comes along. It would make it hard for you. So, by telling him this, you're urging him to reflect over what direction he wants in life. After telling him this..........TAKE A BREAK. Don't call him him, text him, or email him. Give him space. Hang out with family and friends. This break will also help YOU sort out your feelings for him. You might even realize that he's better of as a friend and not a life partner.

Frankly speaking, Alvena.............be careful. This is the SECOND time this guy has done this. Think about this.

I didnt read RV long advice Alvena but i then didnt need too.

Just follow wut she said.
But I can personally relate to ur feelings. You know what you could do is check the situation through an intermidiery. Get a common friend to speak to him and extract things. u knw wut i mean.

Power to RV.

RV

i took your advice, we had to meet up to do a presentation together, so we ended talking for about 2 hours.

He basically said alot of things why the relationship is not going to work:

He said he still has feelings for me but said he didnt so i would go away angry and not be hurt but hate him.

He said we dont have a future because we have so many differences, it would just end up in heart break down the line for either us or our families.

He said he is immature has alot of his own worries and issues and finds it difficult to sort out mine maintain a good relationship with burden and sort out his own issues, he needs to work on him and i need to work on me and we need to grow as people at this young age before we have committment.

He said im amazing and deserve better, whether he meant this or not i dont know.

In the end we have decided to try and be friends, we will maintain a professional study relationship until summer break, take summer to recover and then try and build a friendship.

I was ready to go running back, but im glad i didnt, i knoiw this is a blessing in disguise and its hard and horrible and it hurts like hell but i feel satisfied that he told me his true valid reasons.

I feel happy we can be friends, that i havnt lost one of my closest friends.

I need to work on me, i need to think of my future, my studies, my health, my future.

Im going to think from my head not my heart.

Oh man Alvena. When a guy talks like that, it basically means he's wanting OUT. You have to understand that. He's only 21/22.... not exactly the age when guys want to commit. I am telling you from personal experience. I knew someone like that who dragged his gf like that for 5-6 years.. It was hell for her to move on. Oh and not to forget the on again/ off again painful part of the relationship. LIke you said, that's exactly what they would do...
not talk for some time (I would be the mediator since I'm very close friends with them both ) and they would be curious abt each other all the time. And then this one weak moment and they would be together again, but tell you what, my friend was the one who suffered. The guy was doing pretty good

And that's just what he would say to her all the time. I don't like you anymore, and later he would confess I said that b/c I didn't want to hurt you. That's all BS sweetie!! You need to use your noggin. This is no longer a matter of the heart. And when we thought he couldn't get any more mean, in one of thos "off again" phases, he got engaged to this other girl who was his classs mate in uni ... My friend was devastated. This was the time when we'd sent a rishta for her from one of my cousins and she refused that and so many others. Until one fine day,. like 2-3 years down the road he was totally out of her life. Like I'm sure she still remembers him and all but she was still totally baggage free when her husband-to-be came along in her life. She's Insha'Allah gettin hooked up end of this year and she couldn't be happier. She obv never even mentions her past.. doesn't even care for it. Oh and her ex who had gotten engaged to that girl .. wel he's still hangin on there. He's still not married.. Ive a feeling taht it's just karma. He will possibly drag the other girl thru just like that... don't see him getting committed anytime soon!

Learn from our experiences... don't hurt yourself. There's always a better day tomorrow :)

Re: some advice please-feeling lost :frowning:

Alvena

Sometimes we have to have to do things which may not necessarily want to do but feel obligated to do or it may be easier to let things go. It may not necessarily be the right thing but it is an alternative.

I am sure you will miss his friendship:hugz: but hopefully things will fall into perspective soon for you.

You have identified yourself you need to focus on you. You are young. Enjoy it whilst it lasts.

Implementation is the hardest part.

i know this is the way things have to be, its happened i cant change it, He wants out as bhenjee said and in the long run in my heart i know its best for me.

now that we have decided to be just friends it does give me some relief but also a bit confused because i dont know what just friends is.

Obviously our feelings wont die overnight, and so wont it be just like before....i have to make sure i keep my distance just to make things easier.

Another huge mistake i made was distance my girl friends and other friends because i spent so so so much time with him. I cant easily turn to anyone near me, i have friends in different cities who i have called, but no one in my class. I will be embarassed to contact them and talk to them because they warned me about all this a long long time ago, said i could do better and i should spend more time with them.

My best friend is in her own relationship now and her guy takes pirority over me, now i know how it feels and i wish it wasnt like that.

i know i keep going on about it, but here is the only place i can really express myself.

Today i had to attend a seminar, he also is part of the group, for some stupid reason i decided not to go to avoid him, i just couldnt face him especially as i had felt depressed allllll morning.

I was looking out the window and saw the group walking to the seminar he was laughing and joking and it made me feel so so angry with myself for feeling upset.

I also texted him in the morning asking if he managed to get up on time for morning classes, i got no reply, i worried about him missing class and so i rung him- no reply. This made me feel rubbish and angry too. It makes me think he is ignoring me.

Listen, it's no longer any of your concern or business if he's late for class because he slept in. The fact that you're going out of your way for him - will go unnoticed in his eyes and looked upon as a bothersome intrusion - stay away from him, delete his number, whatever. Do your own thing from now on.

Re: some advice please-feeling lost :frowning:

I think it would be best for you to NOT remain friends with him, because its clearly not helping you get over him. Why are you texting/ringing him? Isn’t it hard enough already, that your making it even more harder by trying to hear from him and know what he’s upto etc? Seriously, keep a distance. Make new friends, find activities to keep you busy.. focus on yourself only. Also, build on your self-respect.. being clingy by texting him and whatnot isn’t showing any respect to yourself & your feelings.

Hope things get better :hugz: